We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Rap” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Bad Rap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here because it had non-smoking rooms and a good price.

The Bad - When the people in the room next to mine showered, the air in the pipes created a rapping noise. . . the entire time they were in the shower. Sounded like someone was knocking on the wall. This happened when two of them showered at 11 pm. It happened again when one of them showered at 6:30 am. Made me wonder how they got so dirty between 11 pm and 6:30 am that they needed another shower. Anyway, this rapping was loud enough to wake me up both times - and I'm a sound sleeper. The mini-fridge also makes a moderately loud noise when the compressor turns off every 30 minutes or so - this didn't keep me awake, but it was noticeable.

The room was clean. The bed was reasonably comfortable. The bed reading lamps were right over the bed - nice touch, as with the dim bulbs most places use, you could actually read with these!

The bathroom seemed to have new fixtures. Notably, the shower head actually switched easily from stream to massage! So many motels have old non-functional showerheads. The shower is pretty narrow, though, so next time they refurbish they should but in one of those curved shower curtain bars that keeps the shower curtain away from the user.

The Disappointing - I had been looking forward to a dip in the pool and using the hot tub. The motel has two buildings, though, and we were in the building without the pool/hot tub. So to get there requires crossing the parking lot in whatever you may have brought to wear in addition to your swim suit. Not terribly convenient.

Since you stay at a motel in order to sleep (not watch the circa 1985 Sanyo TV bolted to the wall), though, I have to rate this motel as Poor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank LostInColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
32
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I and 3 kids stayed here in August of 2011. We requested a room big enough for 5 (including a rollaway) and were treated to a two room suite with a total of 3 beds. This motel appears to have been built in the 50s or 60s, so we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was the cleanest hotel/motel we had stayed in on our entire 10 day trip across Colorado. The rooms were not just clean, but were clearly remodeled enough to make you forget the place has been around awhile. The owners take great pride in their business. While our room was right next to the highway that goes through town, the noise level was not excessive at all. The pool looks like it has been enclosed (to protect from the weather) almost as an afterthought, but nicely done. There is a laundry included (I think a couple of bucks a load). Free breakfast snacks in the lobby (coffee and pastries). A bargain!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Friendly service, room very clean. kids loved it and they would like to come back next year. Excellent location in the center of town, next to visitor center and restaurants.
Wojtek

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojtek655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Best service and cleanliness that I have ever experienced! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Msuchmiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great place to stay! It's very clean, friendly, with an amazing view! I completely recommend this place for everyone!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vballvike921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Sundowner has great spacious rooms, clean. Excellent location. Great value. Friendly stuff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamil_ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

My husband and I just got home and we LOVED our stay at the motel during our annual 4th of July trip to CO. We have stayed here each time we went and we will continue to stay here every time we go int he future. The motel was very nice, clean, homey, and inviting. It was the 2 of us so we didn't need much room but the room we got was very spacious and homey! It is a family owned business and it is very apparent in the way the staff operates and treats its guests. The owners are always around when you need them, always happy, and always very pleasant. If you do not know the area, the owners help you find attractions and give you clear directions to make your trip even better and easier. The motel is centrally located so close to everything you want and need (restaurants, shops, parks, etc). The value is amazing for what you get - cleanliness, pleasant staff, location, coziness like home, spacious, quiet, and easy to find. Since it's family owned they know the importance of family and family vacations, therefore, the know how to treat everyone who passes through like one of their own family members and make sure they feel at home and comfortable with no stress! We loved it this time and all the times we stayed there before! This is our go-to motel when we visit Winter Park!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piekarzowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.6 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
2.6 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#4 of 25 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel

Property: Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Address: 78869 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Sundowner Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing