We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food Service and Inadequate Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Littleton, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Food Service and Inadequate Parking”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The lack of parking made us feel like we were trapped at the hotel. When we asked the waitress about the garage parking she told us it was for special events only. We went to the brewery while we waited for our room and ordered nachos and there was a hair in our food. The lack of parking made us fell trapped and we decided to try dinner. We waited 2 1/2 hours for hamburgers that were raw and had hair in them. No towels at the pool,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    140
    139
    67
    60
See reviews for
161
191
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 weeks here 11th jan to 25th jan 2014. This is our 3rd visit and we are very happy with this lodge. Yeah some places are in need of a refurb and the new management are in the process of doing this. New carpets have already been fitted, new bedding and towels and cladding put on walls. I would say my main gripe was the hot tub area which is in desperate need of a face lift and im sure this will be on their list "to do". All in all we love the place, the staff are friendly and warm, always happy to help, the food is great and the portions massive :) One thing i would like management to consider is maybe allocating a floor for families only like they do for customers with pets as nothing worse than hearing other peoples children using the landing as a running track at night and actually hearing the parents telling their children to go play in the landing and corridor............ not good and no consideration for other residents, mind you this was only a problem during the weekend when locals came to stay. All in all though i would recommend this lodge to everyone, clean and comfortable what more do you want. Looking forward to staying again next year for 18 nights :) Zak, stock up on root beer shots for us ;)

Room Tip: Been in mountain facing and car park at the back. it doesnt really matter as after a day skiing its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebnGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I booked a 2 Queen , forest facing room for a 2 night weekend stay. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Check in and check out was fast and easy. The rooms were dated and needed some freshening (nicks on the porcelain tub, stains on the sink counter), but overall the rooms were very clean and spacious. The beds were soft and didn't have much support but sufficed for the weekend. The walls have no soundproofing. We could hear the kids next door running around, jumping on the beds while our walls vibrated. On the other side of our room we could hear bags rustling and whole conversations through the adjoining door. Luckily neither neighbor stayed up late or got up super early but I might bring ear plugs if I stayed again. The pool and hot tub is indoors but not very well ventilated so the whole hot tub area filled with chlorine steam....felt like we were breathing chlorine...yuk. Moffat Station Brewery on the hotel premises was not a working brewery. Long story short, food was average, service was very poor and slow. We were told new owners took over the brewery a year ago and are planning to make changes. They need to make changes SOON!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights at Winter Park Mountain Lodge. For the price and the location right near the slopes, I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. Here are my thoughts on the various amenities:
Overall Impression - While some of the aesthetic features could use a little updating, in general the hotel is in nice condition. It is very conveniently located across the highway from Winter Park Ski Area. You can take their free shuttle to the slopes or just walk across the highway! Indoor pool and jacuzzi, free parking, and free wi-fi are all big plusses. This isn't a five star hotel so don't expect that kind of luxury, but for this price range it is a great place to stay.
Rooms: We had a king bed mountain view room. The room was a good size for two people and the bed was comfy. We had a great view of the mountain but we could hear some highway traffic. If that is bothersome to you I would recommend booking a forest view room.
Restaurant - We ate at the bar/restaurant one night. The bar was cozy and the staff was very friendly. I wasn't expecting much from the food but it was actually quiet good. After a long day of snowboarding it was great to be able to have a drink and meal without having to drive anywhere. We were there mid week so it was not crowded at all but I imagine it gets quite busy on the weekends.
Pool - There is an indoor heated pool and two jacuzzis. They are nothing special but more than adequate. The jacuzzis are a decent size.
Rental Store - We rented are gear from the ski shop in the hotel. It was fast and easy. The gear was the typical rental quality.
Staff - The service we received from the staff was excellent. I was really impressed. Everyone I interacted with was extremely friendly, professional, and helpful.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for anyone who wants lodging near the slopes!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JenMarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We travelled from the UK to this hotel in March 2013 for a 10 day ski holiday and had a brilliant time. The package holiday cost from the UK was very cheap, and included bed, breakfast, 3 free drinks per day and a 3 course evening meal at the hotel. The trip was for my husbands 40th birthday, and I requested a larger room overlooking the slopes if possible - this was granted at no extra cost and the room was huge. There was a nice jacuzzi bath in the bathroom, and we had a lovely bay window overlooking the slopes and mountains. Breakfast and evening meal were great, with plenty of choice, and you could have your meal in the pub on the evening if you did not wish to sit in the neigbouring restaurant. I was a little worried about the location of the hotel to the slopes - but didn't need to be, it was only a 5-10 min walk although this was difficult as it was hilly and you had to cross the highway, but there was no need to walk anyway, as the free shuttle buses ran very frequently all day and evening from the hotel to the slopes, winter park ski village and the town. The village had a few places to eat and quiet a lot of ski shops but not much else. The town was a nice place to walk up and down, but did consist mainly of ski shops, there were a number of different restuarants, and a couple of small shopping malls but overall not that big. We had a private ski lesson day was good, and booked the snow mobile trip through the hotel - this was amazing, we got some really good speeds up, and climbed the mountain behind the hotel with amazing views from the top - well worth it. This hotel has everything you could need for a great ski holiday and is good value for money - there is a ski rental shop in the basement, and a pool, jacuzzi and steam room - although the pool was cold, and there were not always towels availabe so take your room towel just in case ! The bar staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend a stay here

Room Tip: a room overlooking the slopes is much nicer view. Be cheecky and ask for a larger room updgrade - w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubicon, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The mountain lodge was exactly what we were looking for. It is inexpensive and has beds, a shower and a fridge in our room. We came to ski and sleep so this fit our bill exactly.

The shuttle buses work extremely well as we took the train so had no car.

The staff was always friendly and have me as many Seattle's Best coffee packs as I wanted.


Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RubiconKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel is poorly maintained, but the front desk staff are nice. Room was dirty with dead dry flies on the window seal… Hot water was slow to get warm for a shower. The carpet was ripped in places. The secure lock for the door was missing. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayRou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winter Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
0.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#8 of 15 in Winter Park
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Winter Park
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winter Park
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
2.5 mi away
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
#4 of 25 in Winter Park
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Park Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Park Mountain Lodge

Property: Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Address: 81699 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Winter Park Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across the street from Winter Park Ski Resort, with free access to the Resort & Town Shuttle! Full service restaurant & microbrewery on site. Largest Banquet & Meeting space options in Winter Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Winter Park Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Park Mountain Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing