We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so accessible in the "off" season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not so accessible in the "off" season”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Lodge was more of a hotel than a lodge, although the main office did boast some decor. The person at the front desk remained at the back on a computer until they would hear someone approach, and if inattentive, it could take some effort to be noticed. Most of the individuals behind the desk during our stay were younger, and one seemed positively bored with his position. He recommended a place to eat that was no longer in service, and only shared minimal insight/information when asked. The cleaning service was great and the hotel was very well maintained. Unfortunately, the brewery it boasts as part of the attraction is only open on Fridays and Saturdays, as well as the continental breakfast that could be available on those days. These limited times weren't part of our schedule and we were disappointed to miss that experience. Food options were available in town, and some great hiking was found nearby, otherwise it was pretty quiet both in the hotel and the surrounding areas with it being the summer season.

Room Tip: Staying at the end of the hall from the elevator/ice machine was helpful in desiring quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kcroswaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    134
    134
    67
    60
See reviews for
153
186
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We purchased the two night living social deal to use as part of our honeymoon exploring the state of Colorado. Upon our check-in we were told that the chef would make a special dinner for just the two of us, as the restaurant/brewery was closed. The food was delicious, he made sure that my food allergy was well noted and even had some music to set the tone of a small private table dressed for just us in the middle of an empty and closed restaurant.

The customer service was nice. As many others had apparently been using their living social deal as well, they had run out of the champagne that was supposed to come with the room, but by the second night, the front desk had made a special trip to town to get champagne.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend or a reviewer. They are very accommodating. We had a room on the 5th floor corner which was very nice with a fireplace and ceiling to floor windows overlooking the ski slopes across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

After purchasing a two-night deal on Living Social, I made the mistake of reading the reviews the day of my trip. Dismayed by what I read, I met my boyfriend at the hotel for our 'weekend getaway' with a bottle of scotch, just in case it turned out to be as bad as people wrote. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel.

We had to switch rooms immediately due to a broken window, but our new room was larger with a beautiful view. The restaurant was definitely the highlight of the trip as they served delicious bar food. The shortribs were so fantastic that we had to thank the chef personally and the cheese steak sandwich was such a delight that my boyfriend had two!

It turned out to be a wonderful weekend of offseason fun, fishing and an enjoyable two-night stay at Winter Park Mountain Lodge.

Room Tip: Fifth floor, mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Colorado staying at the Winter Park Mt. Lodge. The staff were so helpful, especially Kathy Brauer, front desk manager.
Also housekeeping were excellent.
I would return there for another trip to Winter Park.
Also great views of the mountains & ski slopes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a family vacation with Virgin Holidays and frankly I expected better...

The hotel is dated and as a previous reviewer commented, the hotel is in need of a much needed refurbishment. It is basic at best but the threadbare carpets, dated decor and poor showers and bathrooms are desperate for some tender loving care.

My main gripe was that this hotel is used by large groups of school children and this was never pointed out in any literature or by my travel agent. Most of the children were very good but on three different nights, we had to either contact reception or knock on the offending rooms in order to get some sleep. This was often in the early hours of the night.

The staff in the restaurant were very friendly but reception staff barely exchanged a word with us for the entire stay. When staff from the airline taking us back to Boston tried to contact us at the hotel, they were told that the hotel did not have any residents staying by our name. Needless to say we were not told about an issue with our booking and nearly missed our comnection as a result. God help us if there had been a fire!

A mixture of a poor hotel, noisy kids running along the halls and a lack of good snow made us cut short our stay at Winter Park Mountain Lodge two days early and frankly we were glad to be leaving.

Overall, I would say that WPML needs to 'up the game' considerably. A shame.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karlirwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winter Park hotels

Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is just average. Convenient to the mountain by free shuttle. If you want anything to snack on or need something you have to ride the shuttle to the village. We didn't have a car do we had to wait for the shuttle or take a taxi. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDSGNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerset, South Dakota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I travel ~ every 2 months and this hotel was one of the worst experiences we've had. There are no movie channels, the continental breakfast had very few choices. Though it was winter, and there was fresh snow on the ground the fireplace in the bar wasn't operating. They lost our orignal reservation. The housekeeping staff wanted to rush us out of our room by 9am each morning so she could clean, and then when she did clean it, she didn't even wipe down the counter in the bathroom or remove the garbage. It's proximity to Winter Park Ski resort was pretty much it's one bright spot. I would have been EXTREMELY disappointed if I had paid full price for this stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Winter Park Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Jamie,

First I would like to thank you for booking our hotel through the recent Living Social promotion. I was saddened and disappointed when I read your comments on this page. Rest assured that we take comments such as yours very seriously as this is the way we can improve on any short coming in our product and services.
We did have a few days without the pay per view movie amenity due to technical problems with the service provider. You should have received a notice in your room, however I apologize if this was not the case. We usually receive many positive comments about our continental breakfast, especially because it is a new introduction included in our room rate. I am sorry if you found the selection to be lacking. Your concern about our housekeeping service has been brought up to our Housekeeping Manager for further training purposes.
Jamie, the issues you have experienced during your stay are not the norm at our hotel and we would all welcome nothing more than the opportunity to host you again in the near future, to give us a chance to restore your faith in Winter Park Mountain Lodge.
Sincerely,
Peter Brauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
0.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
60 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snowblaze Athletic Club
Snowblaze Athletic Club
#10 of 15 in Winter Park
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Winter Park
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
0.4 mi away
Iron Horse Resort
Iron Horse Resort
#10 of 25 in Winter Park
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Park Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Park Mountain Lodge

Property: Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Address: 81699 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Winter Park Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across the street from Winter Park Ski Resort, with free access to the Resort & Town Shuttle! Full service restaurant & microbrewery on site. Largest Banquet & Meeting space options in Winter Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Winter Park Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Park Mountain Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing