We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian food outside of the UK!”
Review of Star of India - CLOSED

Star of India
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Indian food outside of the UK!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I'm a big fan of the Classic Indian food served at the local curry houses of my hometown in England and was yet to find something of a similar quality in the US until I found this gem! Great food and good service are what await you here! I was a little sad to see on a return visit that they have downsized the restaurant space but the downsize definitely did not effect the big portions of great Indian food here! Highly recommended to all British travelers wanting a taste of home!

Helpful?
Thank TECannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    7
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yum!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I love Indian food. I really, really do. This place did not disappoint! Pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff as well. But the food, wow, so good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian cuisine”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having been to India in May, we thought we ought to try Star of India in Winter Park. We were not disappointed. It is the off-season, so we were the only people in the restaurant, which is small. Nevertheless, the food was great. It was very much like what we remembered from our experience in India. I ordered the Spicy Lamb Vindaloo and I tasted a little heat. I normally eat habaneros with my meals, so I was pleasantly surprised. This is definitely a restaurant that I'd return to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonytiger_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Iowa
2 reviews
“Delicious Indian Food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The food was very delicious, but there is a bit of delay to get your food, and the server appeared to be in training. Overall I was pleased with the dining experience and will go back, as the food was very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Indian food this side of India”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wow! Seriously, this is as good as the food I enjoyed in India and better than any other Indian cuisine I've eaten in The States. The restaurant is comfortably upscale, the service nicely personal, and the food cannot be beaten. The quality of the ingredients, the recipes, preparation, presentation, and the attention to detail are all top-notch. Their samosas, naan, and lamb dishes are all winners.

I wish we had something this good at home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of India also viewed

Winter Park, Grand County
Winter Park, Grand County
 
Winter Park, Grand County
Winter Park, Grand County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing