We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Year, Another Great Stay at Zephyr Mountain Lodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zephyr Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Another Year, Another Great Stay at Zephyr Mountain Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I wrote a long review of Zephyr Mountain Lodge last year, and most of what I wrote remains the same. Here are a few addenda:

Having stayed in the "Riverside" building this year, I can say it is significantly easier to ski in and out of the "Slopeside" building. The ski lockers in the Riverside building are only supposed to be accessed with ski equipment by walking around to the back of the building. (Some people ignore the signs and walk the shorter route through the building, but we chose to obey their directions.)

Next year, I'm going back to the Slopeside building.

The hot tubs on the Riverside building face the road and the Moffatt Tunnel; not much of a view. One of the days we were there the water was nice and hot; the next time we visited it, it was unpleasantly cool. We did not visit a third time, so I don't know how quickly they fixed it. On the upside, the location of the hot tubs at the Riverside building means no catcalls to women entering or leaving from the riders of the Zephyr Express Lift.

Parking in the underground garage has gone up from $10/night to $14/night.

We had a problem with our fireplace when we checked in; the front desk sent someone up and fixed it in about 10 minutes. Incredibly fast.

Like others who have reviewed it, our room was not ready when we arrived to check in. However, we game the desk clerk our phone number and went for apres-ski at Lime. They never called us to tell us the room was ready, but it was done by 5 PM when we called them to see if we should order another round or pay the check.

That's all there is to add; we'll see if there's new info after next year's stay!

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings: "Slopeside" and "Riverside." Rooms in the Slopeside buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon13798465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    94
    46
    38
    20
See reviews for
170
49
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Zephyr over the President's Day holiday. The resort was very, very crowded, but the Zephyr staff kept things moving smoothly. I think this place gets a bad rap because it's a group of individually owned condos, it's not a full service hotel....it is not a JW Marriott, but our 6th floor one bedroom unit was well stocked, much larger than a similar room at Copper, and very comfortable. And of course the location cannot be beat at WP. For our family of four it was really nice. Lots of kids play areas, Starbucks on the first floor, the Crepe shop just up the walkway (definitely try this place), and easy access to the gondola and lifts. We really had a great time, but OMG was it crowded on the mountain. I guess that should be expected when going on a holiday weekend. But don't worry about the Zephyr, it's everything it should be!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukesprouddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Family with 2 teenage children had a great stay. Great for convenience - Right next to the ski lift, ski rental location, has ski lockers, Underground parking below the lodge. Staff was super helpful. Promptly attended to our requests, gave us advice for the snowy drive back to Denver. The room was very modern clean and comfortable. Loved using the outdoor hot tubs. Only complaint was minor -our room could have used some more items (real cereal bowls, dishwasher detergent). Small number of dining options in walking distance in the village but were casual and perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chazster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, La
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a great place to stay! The closest place to the skiing and the village. We had incredible views from our condo. The staff was very helpful and the shuttle took us anywhere we wanted to go. We did not need a car at all. I will be back!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cajun64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Zephyr so that we could be as close to the mountain as possible. We did not go wrong. The owner had equipped this unit completely, from great beds to a stocked kitchen. The unit could possibly sleep 10. We had 6 persons and never felt cramped or on top of one another. This unit is slopeside, and I can't describe enough how much fun it was to be right where we were. It's access to rental equipment, lifts, restaurants, shops, hot tubs is absolutely perfect! I had extensively researched other properties and am very satisfied that we chose the Zephyr. As others have noted, this is not a hotel, so there is not room service, but if you request additional towels or have specific requests, the front desk is more than accomodating. AND . . . underground parking cannot be beat!

Room Tip: There are two buildings at the Zephyr - Slopeside and Riverside. If you want the best view of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parrot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a 1 bedroom condo as our first Colorado ski trip with kids ages 6 and 9. There is adequate room for us with the pull out couch but older kids or 4 adults certainly would be better with two bedroom. The kitchen is also decently stocked (there is detergent but missing coffee filters and salt and pepper). We stopped on the way to get groceries and bought wine from Riverside Spirits- a very reasonable and highly recommended shop right here in the village (with helpful staff/owner)! The hot tubs are very nice and never really seemed crowded. Housekeeping came by during our stay to take trash and offer anything we were running out of. There is a washer/dryer on each floor and we did use them once. We have stayed in condos many times in many locals. This was nice and fairly typical to what we've seen before. You can store skis in ski lockers on main level and then walk right out to the Zephyr lift which is something I was looking for. There are wagons around for carting kids/skis/etc. through the village to ski school. We tried the skating rink and rentals are easy. The reason I gave service a lower score is that there was some confusion and lack of clarity on where to go and what times for events such as ski school and kids events. Everyone was friendly and helpful- just didn't seem well informed on details. The thing I would definitely say sets staying here apart is the number of free family/kids events. There was kids night out- where kids had supervised activities while parents could get some alone time, Mini rail jam for kids to try out a little terrain park in a very positive environment, and s'mores night where they could make s'mores by the fire as well as a mardi gras celebration with music and face painting. These things are the little extras that made staying here special! The employees of all the village shops, restaurants, and the mountain lifts all seemed genuinely friendly and happy and other guests were respectful of kids and families. I would come back. Next time I will have to join the mogul clinic as now my kids are better mogul and terrain skiers than I am:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at ZML in a Slopeside Unit Jan 24-27th. If you are looking for a cozy, convenient, ski in/ski out condo, then this is the place to stay. First off, ZML is NOT a hotel although it appears to be as I booked it online through Expedia. As such, there is no daily housekeeping or room service (although I believe they have maid service one day mid week).

ZML is perfectly located in the Village and is steps away from bars, restaurants, Starbucks, liquor store, ski shop/rentals etc. We booked a one bedroom condo that had a nice layout with full kitchen, living room with Gas Fireplace, Bedroom and a small full bathroom. There was a small balcony that overlooked the Village (not up the slopes) which was actually very nice, since we had a great view in the evening when the stores are all lit up.

The ZML is very large and spreadout, but we stayed in the Slopeside section which seemed to be the most convenient for access to the mountain and the Village.

The furniture was fine, but I imagine each unit is furnished differently. The only objection we had was that the mattress in both the bedroom and pull out couch (tried both) was not very comfy. After a full day skiing, a good night's sleep is a must and we struggled with that over our 3 night stay.

Reading the reviews, we were expecting a dirty unit, but it was just fine. There were two half smoked joints on the window sill on the balcony, but...

They give you a key to a ski locker located right next to the exit nearest the Zephyr Express Lift that will take you to the top of Winter Park Mtn. We had the mountain mostly to ourselves on our first day (weekday) and from the moment we strapped on our skis we were on the chair lift in less than 3 minutes without having to pole at all.

The only time we had to deal with any of the staff was at check in and they couldn't be nicer. On that note, we did not run into one person who worked anywhere on the mountain or in town that was not incredibly nice. That is one of the reasons we ski there every year.

Note that they will charge you $20/night to park in the underground garage, otherwise, the general parking lot is a LONG walk. Worth the money in my opinion.

We did the hot tub every afternoon. They are not the cleanest in the world and the towels are as thin as table napkins. Several guests had robes that were in their room, but ours did not have any. Way too many kids unsupervised in the hot tubs.

For dining in WP, go to Deno's. Great vibe with good food, great wine list and cocktails. In the Village, Lime had terrific margaritas. On the mountain, if you want to get away from the quickie cold burgers and draft beer, hang at the bar at the base of Mary Jane next to the Super Gauge Express Lift. The food is much better and it has a more upscale vibe.

We had a great trip and we look forward to coming back (maybe this season!).

Room Tip: We had room 205. Beware of the bedding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertTravellers_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
0.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
2.3 mi away
Stay Winter Park Beaver Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zephyr Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zephyr Mountain Lodge

Property: Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Address: 201 Zephyr Way, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zephyr Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zephyr Mountain Lodge is the premier ski-in/ski-out facility at Winter Park Ski Area. Comprised of 2 buildings, Slopeside and Riverside, the lodge has a total of 230 condominiums in 1, 2 and 3 Bedroom configurations. Each condo is privately owned by Winter Park enthusiasts and rental units are offered through several rental management companies in the Winter Park area. We hope you enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zephyr Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zephyr Mountain Hotel Winter Park
Zephyr Lodge Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing