We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodging walkable to mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best lodging walkable to mountain”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Fraser Crossing/Founders Ponite, built in 2010, is the newest lodging at the base area. High quality finishes, roomier under building parking than you typically see at this type of development, nice hot tub and amentity deck. Nicely appointed kitchens or kitchenettes. Only down side is occasional loud noise in the hallway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBarb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WP_ResortLodging, Manager at Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We love the title of this one! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know that you enjoyed your stay at Winter Park Resort. The snow is flying once again; we hope you return many more times to enjoy all our great mountain and resort have to offer.

Kindly,
Renee Zettle
Winter Park Resort Lodging
The “Official” Lodging Company of Winter Park Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    65
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
92
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We love skiing at winter park and hope for the day when better accomodations come to the village. My biggest gripe is that this year I received a confirmation from the resort at one price and when my final payment was due, the bill was $255 higher! When I called them about it, they said the original confirmation was an error and refused to honor it. I couldn't believe it - what kind of customer service is that? Even if it was a mistake (they said the web rate I agreed to was higher), a first class resort would honor their own confirmation. Especially since it was the only confirmation I ever received 3 months ago when I made the reservation.

Re the lodging - Zephyr is very tired and Frasier Crossing/Founders Pointe is a little better. Units can be dark/gloomy and noisy so location is key. Little things are often broken - light bulbs are often out (does no one check them?) and we had a fireplace that didn't work last year. Staff seem to have little control over the lodging, maybe because they're condos. The price is high for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrcaDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WP_ResortLodging, Manager at Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with us, we truly appreciate all feedback so we can continue to improve the service we provide to our guests. I would really like to be able to talk with you personally and look into your reservation to find out exactly what happened. There are many management companies that rent throughout the resort and if you rented through us “Winter Park Resort’s Official Lodging Company” I will be able to see your reservation from the time you first contacted us, your original confirmation up to the day you checked out. My office number is 970-726-6569 and you can refer to this review when calling me. The comment about our staff having little control over the condo leads me to believe that you may have been renting from a third party and/or another management company. That gets confusing to the guests here for sure; we are the only management company that is located on-site and also have people here 24/7 to assist if things are not working properly, such as the fireplace. Unfortunately, if we are not managing the particular unit that you rent we do not have the authority to go in and perform property inspections or repairs. I want to make sure we get this sorted out for you and that you feel this is a place you want to return to year after year with your family. We truly want to take care of our guests, and we want you to have the best time playing here at our resort and on the mountain. I look forward to hearing from you and speaking with you further about your reservation. We sincerely apologize for your less than stellar experience.

Kindly,
Renee Zettle
Winter Park Resort Lodging
The “Official” Lodging Company of Winter Park Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Where do I start? Hmm pros...loved the resort and the village, the over priced restaurants were great as well. Lime restaurant was amazing, the best margaritas.i was happy about the rooms, they were very clean and spacious. The kitchen area was up to date with a microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator. The people at the front desk were really kind and helpful. We were always greeted with a smile from the staff in the hallways and garage.

Cons, check out is at 10am? They should really change that. We were supposed to be able to check in at 12pm but our room wasn't ready until 4. We prepaid for our rooms and was told this in advance but it wasn't the case. I am not sure if the lodge owns the ski park but the workers there were really rude.

Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and would return. The kids really enjoyed themselves.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the 3rd floor near the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 13frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WP_ResortLodging, Manager at Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we are happy that you enjoyed your time at Winter Park Resort and at Fraser Crossing/Founder’s Pointe and we are happy to hear you will return to enjoy our great Village and mountain. We really feel we have a great team here and love to hear that your interactions with them were friendly and helpful. Regarding check-in / check-out; we do try to accommodate early check-ins when we can, we are sorry you weren’t able to get in earlier. We also have late check-outs, again when we can accommodate them, so when you return be sure to talk to the check-in desk and see if that can be arranged for you. I have passed your comment regarding the ski park team onto their supervisor; we never want our guests to experience anything but smiles and helpful attitudes throughout the mountain and rarely do we hear otherwise, thank you for letting us know so we are able to address it. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Winter Park Resort.

Kindly,
Renee Zettle
Winter Park Resort Lodging
The “Official’ Lodging Company of Winter Park Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The unit was clean and comfortable and had plenty of room for the 7 of us. Complete kitchen was nice. The dishwasher however was " out of order". I don't do dishes at home and to have to wash dishes on vacation was not a plus at all. Earlier reviews mention this but I really thought it would be fixed as the other reviews were quite old.The balcony is not private and actually wraps around the whole building.Workers were fixing something right outside our part of the balcony most of the day. So much for privacy. The small hot tub was also around the corner out the balcony. The jets were very strong and relaxing. I heard the bigger hot tubs are on the other side of the building at Founder's Point building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank olive21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Fraser Crossing in February 2012.

Distance from the airport...It took us just over 2 1/4 hours to get to the resort, which is slightly longer than normal as there were extremely bad winds so the roads were a bit slower than normal. It would normally take just under 2 hours.

Location...The apartment building is about 400/500 yards from the ski slopes so the location for skiing was fantastic. It is in the newer half of Winterpark that was build specifically for the ski tourism. There is a small convenience store next to the Zepher hotel which is just across the road. This area has a few shops & a couple of restaurants. The main shopping & restaurant area is in the older part of Winterpark. This is 10 minutes away by the free bus. The buses are extremely frequent & the bus drivers are so nice, it was a no hassle that this part of town was not closer to the apartment. There is a free bus supplied by the Zepher if you are a resident in Fraser crossing but we never felt the need to use it as the bus service was so regular. There is a huge Safeway just outside Winterpark in Fraser which is also on the main free bus route which take about 15 minutes to get to & has everything that you need.

Apartment bulding...Has ski lockers right by the front door so you did not need to carry ski's too far. There is under ground parking for those who have driven themselves. The block has lifts so that you do not have to walk several floors in hot ski gear. The apartment block communal areas are kept quite warm so the lifts came in handy. The rooms do not have washers & dryers but there is a laundry room in the building so very handy but you will need to save plenty of quarters to use them. The laundry room also has a detergent machine (also requiring quarters) so you do not need to remember detergent. We did not use the outside hot tub but I understand from other guests that is was lovely.

The room....The apartment was very spacious with most of the required ammenities in the room. The bed was large & comfortable. TV in both bedroom & living room with many post ski channels to hop. Large bath as well as shower. Cooker, dishwasher, kettle & microwave. The large gas fire was easy to use & heated the space very quickly. Lovely balcony to watch the snow come down.

Skiing.....Such a lovely ski area, very clearly sign posted so no issues with ending up on wrong (scary) slopes which I have done many times before. Very small lift waiting times. Spacious slopes for all ski abilities. The weather could not be more pleasant -5 on an average day & sunny most of the time. I noticed that they were very well equipt for disabled skiers & was very impressed with the smiley, helpful lift attendants. I would return to this ski area. There are ski lockers at the bottom of the main slope if you cannot be bothered carrying your skis across the road to apartment block (only needed for the really lazy).

Restaurants....Goodies in the new Winterpark do the most amazing Crepes which I had to resist eating every meal time. In the old town, Smokin' Moes was nice for a hearty, down to earth meal & the Back Country Grill did the best steak I had eaten in a long time. There are other options but we cooked at the apartment the rest of the time.

I would definately recommend this apartment building & Winterpark was a lovely, friendly ski resort. Do not expect it to be a big resort, it is quite small but it is what gave it the charm that makes me want to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kartyflim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WP_ResortLodging, Manager at Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this informative and fabulous review. It is always fun to read about our guests stays and hear that they enjoyed their time at Winter Park Resort. We are happy that you mentioned the NSCD “National Sports Center for the Disabled” our mountain is a leader in programs and tools for therapeutic sports and recreation for people of all ages and all disabilities. It is something that is close to all of our hearts here and is great to see people with all kinds of different challenges out doing what they love. For your next visit I just wanted to let you know you can get quarters at the check-in desk at the Zephyr Mountain Lodge just across the street from Fraser Crossing/ Founders Pointe and on the way to the ski hill. We hope you will be back soon to make some new memories on the mountain and in The Village. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback, see you on the mountain soon.

Kindly,
Renee Zettle
Winter Park Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bed here in Feb 2011. We really enjoyed our stay - is right across the street to the lifts & within walking distance. Rooms were clean & bathroom was spacious w big tub & separate shower. We liked having a ski locker so we didn't have to bring our wet clothes up to the room. Elevator is nice when staying on a higher floor. We paid the $13/night for underground parking - might see if we can find free parking next time.

The fire alarms went off a few times during our stay which is my only complaint. The other guests said they had heard someone burnt toast one of the times & that the detectors are very sensitive. I was scared to make breakfast after that! Lol.

Definitely recommend Hernando's Pizza! Great pizza & fun environment! Cheeky Monk was a fun place to grab drinks & apps!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatinomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, IN
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We reserved our Founders Pointe two bedroom condo for the week; we were attending a weekend family wedding. The condo and setting was wonderful! It gave us enough space to move around. We loved the view and our porch. The kitchen was nice and had everything we needed. We didn't meet anyone upon check-in as they mailed our keys and info packet a few weeks ahead. Our phone contacts with the office were always very helpful and kind. Our needs were fully met.

Room Tip: There is a large jacuzzi, and no swimming pool. Pillows vary, so if your fussy, bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewiefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#8 of 15 in Winter Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Snowblaze Athletic Club
Snowblaze Athletic Club
#10 of 15 in Winter Park
13 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Winter Park
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe

Property: Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
Address: 580 Winter Park Drive, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing