We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location (to slopes) and nice condo/room”
Review of Founders Pointe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winter Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Founders Pointe
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at Founders Point in Winter Park on a recent trip to go skiing/snowboarding for a few days. Was pleasantly surprised by this place (the reviews were a bit so so).
* Location - great. Only need to cross one street to get into the village and to the base (at the Zephyr lift). Right by the village w/starbucks, lift tickets, rentals, shops, other restaurants, etc.
* Room - We had a one bedroom w/pull out couch. Room was big and nicely updated (kitchen had granite countertops, stainless frig, etc). Included a kitchen (furnished w/plates, glasses, etc), dining room table w/4 chairs, living area w/couch, chair, coffee table facing gas fireplace. Bathroom was big w/bathtub/shower (and had soap, shampoo, etc). Bedroom was separate (pocket door to bathroom) w/queen bed & tv). Good space for 4 people.
* Misc - our room was on the 3rd floor looking out to the giant hot tub & facing the mtn. I am not a big hot tub fan, but this one is pretty cool. Big, free form shape w/island. Cool to sit in it in the winter air looking up at Winter Park. Parking in the underground garage was $14 per night (free parking avail, but you have to take the gondola things from that parking to get back to the hotel/condo).
Overall, i would definitely stay here again when looking in Winter Park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 57 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked our Christmas vacation stay at Founders Pointe in Winter Park and I am so glad he did. We had our family of 4 staying in ultimate comfort. Across street from Zephyr Lodge's main building with its Starbucks, it also is one of the closest buildings to the base of the WP ski resort where the lifts are located, an easy walk. Our room was spacious and immaculate. 2 bed/2 bath with sofa bed, living room, dining area, good sized kitchen. Modern appliances: refrigerator with ice/water dispenser, 4 burner stove/oven, microwave, toaster, dishwasher... and washer-dryer hidden in closet. (No need to do laundry downstairs!). Central heat with separate thermostat for master bedroom. Large 4th floor balcony overlooking WP base. Large windows. Great views. 2 TV's. Fireplace.

Extras:
Outdoor hot tub on third floor
Heated underground parking $14/day
First floor lockers for skis
Washer-dryer in our room (yes!)
Small grocery store for odds and ends across street, Safeway store 2 miles away in Fraser for most shopping.

Negatives:
Coffee maker was single-cup with only 4 coffee packets supplied and no restocking.
Humidifier did not work.
Placemats had a horrendous rubbery chemical smell so I hid them away after our first meal. (They should replace... Hint hint)

Service:
Great! We called to request extra blankets for sick daughter and they brought us extra stowaway bed for her. Made a huge difference.

Overall, any negatives were far outweighed by the fabulous amenities and service at Founders Pointe! Will return!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I was there for 3 nights and I absolutely loved it. Let me say this was my first ski/snowboarding trip so I cannot really compare it to other resorts. Everything was nearby. Restaurants and Starbucks within walking distance. Safeway is about 3 miles down the highway where you can stock up on snacks and water. Well worth it!! The ski lift is within walking distance and ski lockers are on the first floor. The resort also has a shuttle that will take you into town. We never drove the whole time we were there. Everyone was so nice. They have free open parking (which is were we parked) & garage parking for like $14/night. The rooms were cozy with a gas fireplace which heated up the room nicely especially after spending the day snowboarding.

I really liked the place. The "terrible" for fitness center is only because they didn't have one. Also we stayed in the studio silver if it helps any. I would for sure go back to this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenspunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I Stayed at Founders Pointe last January. There is heated parking under the building for a $10.00 fee per night. For me, it was well worth the price. The building has elevators. There are ski lockers on the first floor. The rooms are well kept and clean. The building is about 100 yards or so from the ski lift, but it is not ski in/out. You have to walk. The building has a large oversized hot tub. There are bars and restaurants within walking distance. I'm a local. Mary Jane/Winter Park are favorite ski resorts. You can ski both resorts with the same lift ticket.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpopecpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family of four stayed at the Founders Pointe Winter Park Resort at the end of June. Obviously a ski resort, the off season prices are very good and it is a great, comfortable and attractive place to stay while visitng the Rocky Mountain National Park. During the week we had the place to ourselves. It was wonderful to unwind in a beautifully decorated resort suite with a balcony overlooking the "town square" with retail and restaurants on site. The nearby town of Winter Park also had additional restaurant choices. The suite had a full kitchen stocked with utensils, great for breakfast before leaving for the park and storing supplies to pack for lunches while hiking in the Rockies. The best part was the giant hot tub in the front of the Founders Pointe and Frasers Crossing buildings- absolutely wonderful at the end of a long day hiking. The only thing that would have made it perfect was having the hot tub open that was directly in front of Founders Pointe...I had to run up and down the street in a wet swimsuit every night..kinda scared the other guests.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite that overlooks the hot tub and "town square" in either the Founders Poi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa_OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and updated. The activities were all a walk away. The kids had plenty to do and their favorite thing to do had to be the alpine slide. The rock wall, bungee cord trampoline section, and minature golf were also fun. There was definitely a whole days worth of fun packed in to the winter park area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lannwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom/1 bathroom unit with kitchenette on the ground level. The kitchenette has a 2 burner range, 3 foot high refrigerator with freezer, dishwasher, and dishes & utensils for 4 people. Limited cooking utensils are provided. The bathroom had the shower separate from the bathtub and included a hairdryer. TVs are provided in the bedroom and in living room. Living room has a pullout sleeper sofa, 4 chairs, and table. Storage in the bedroom consists of a closet, two nightstands, and TV stand. Iron, Ironing board, and telephone are provided with access to Front desk and Guest services. We had no problem controlling the room temperature. Of the 4 nights we were there, I heard train twice at 6:45 am (made a good alarm clock) and once during the night. Others in our family never heard it and slept through. Very little traffic on road outside our window but we could hear the road noise like a window was open.

Founders point has complimentary ski storage lockers near the building entrance and pay indoor parking, about $15/day. The walk to lifts is about the same distance as the walk from where the Cabriolet lift drops you off to get to the lifts. We were allowed to leave car in parking garage after checkout and get a pass for the day from the front desk that allowed us to get back into the garage and the spa area with restrooms and showers. Nice to be able to shower and change after a day of skiing before driving away. We had one call for minor maintenance and the issue was taken care of within 20 minutes.

The condo had not been cleaned well before our arrival. Once we had swept up the popcorn, threw out the half a can of beer from prior renters, and scrubbed the kitchen counters and stove, it was a nice unit. It still needs a good cleaning in all the corners. The entranceway to the unit is the kitchen which makes the floor constantly dirty. A broom is provided. A vacuum cleaner would have been nice. I would have rated the Founder’s Point a 3 because of the cleanliness when we checked in, but because the front desk was great, the unit and furnishings were nice, and Founder’s Point provides access to a decent shower after checkout if you park in the garage, I rated it a 4.

Room Tip: No issues controlling temperature with ground level room. Ground level is also level of parking gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
0.1 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Winter Park
330 reviews
2.9 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 14 in Winter Park
196 reviews
0 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Founders Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Founders Pointe

Address: 670 Winter Park Drive, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range: $137 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 256
Also Known As:
Founders Pointe Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing