We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money”
Review of Valley Hi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valley Hi Motel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a clean, basic, friendly motel The room was spacious, the beds very comfortable and the continental breakfast was much better than I expected. The internet was not always working. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. The location is great, within walking distance of restaurants. It is not a high end hotel - no telephone in the room, no ice or drink machines, but it has everything you need. We were going to stay only one night and ended staying three.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkansastraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 133 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Valley Hi was a nice motel, with a helpful manager (Joe).
Our room was clean, warm and comfortable.
The location is ideal, across from a mall with rentals, food, and gifts.
Nice hot tub and easy parking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I feel like independent hotel owners should visit this property to see what a VERY well kept older property can be like.

As other reviews have mentioned it's incredibly clean, staff is friendly, older place with large rooms AND QUIET!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PR-LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Another year at Winter Park and another great stay at the Valley Hi motel.
You won't find another place to stay that is pet friendly, within walking distance to everything one could need, clean, cozy, and the friendliest most helpful hosts in CO.
Stayed a week with my dog and it is like a home away from home.
Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorkTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a great motel in the heart of Winter Park. Check in was quick. The room was large and cozy. We had a microwave, small coffee maker and mini frig in the room. The bed was firm but very comfortable. The thermostat was turned way down when we go there but the room was very comfortable. Be sure to check and maybe turn it up a bit before bed as it did get a bit chilly. I tend to rate a hotel/motel based on the quality of the towels. These were good quality and soft. The shower was very nice and no issues with the drain.

There is an outside hottub that was working but we didn't try it. Much to our surprise there was a continental breakfast setup on the first floor in the morning. Muffins, bagels, fruit, cereal, milk and juice. A really nice touch.

All-in-all it was a great stay and I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable and reasonably priced stay in beautiful Winter Park.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnySkiesDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Listened to reviews and stayed at the Valley Hi for the first time with my kids. Extremely satisfied. Simple, super quiet extra large room. Felt like we were the only ones there. Didn't see or hear anyone the whole time except unloading and loading our things in the parking lot. Stayed Sunday night and hope future trips on any day will be the same. Would like to have this place available whenever I want.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

So many of the other reviews summed up the hotel nicely...it has a retro feel to it, but it also has some of the more spacious rooms that we've found. We had room 19 which is upstairs (no elevator so you are carrying bags upstairs) and had two beds, a foldout couch, and a kitchen. We found it to be quite roomy with 5 people in it, and sharing one bath was not a big deal. Everything was clean and comfortable, and there were lockers downstairs to stow our gear. It looked liked it had recently been painted and freshened up, so we found it to be quite. The continental breakfast included juice, milk, cereal, muffins, and some fruit. Enough to get started on for sure! It was conveniently located and walking distance to several restaurants in town, and just a short distance from the ski slopes. The owner was very helpful...we got stuck in the snow out front and he got us out even! I definitely would give this hotel a thumbs up, and would go back next time we are there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csharp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
2.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 14 in Winter Park
516 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 14 in Winter Park
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Winter Park
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 14 in Winter Park
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hi Motel

Address: 79025 US 40, P.O. Box 947, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range: $86 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Hi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley Hi Motel is in a central location, right in the middle of beautiful Winter Park, Colorado. The best skiing is right down the road. The best mountain biking is also right outside our door. There are all sorts of activities, entertainment, restaurants and shopping just a few steps away. Summer or winter check into the Valley Hi Motel and experience all Winter Park has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Valley Hi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hi Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing