We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but everything you need on a snowboarding trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Hi Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valley Hi Motel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Basic, but everything you need on a snowboarding trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If your looking for luxury, your looking at the wrong hotel. That being said thou, I dont think you can ask for more than what this hotel offers. Its close to town and the bus stops to the slopes. It offers basic, HUGE rooms with plenty of space, its warm and inviting. The owner is a real nice guy always happy to help, and he has a raft of local info. Parking is easy and free, you get a locker by the door to store your gear. Its very reasonably priced, the kitchenettes are perfectly fine for what they are needed for. My humble opinion is that in a small mountain town like this, a hotel like this is a real gem. quite, un assuming and very welcoming. The hot tub is a hot tub what more can you say.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    35
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
39
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamahere RD3 Hamilton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Arrived from Denver International after a long trip from New Zealand. The motel building is a bit dated but clean with spacious rooms. Very friendly and helpful manager quickly had us all relaxed. Comfortable beds, reasonably quiet for the main road position and certainly handy to retaurants and ski shops. Orange juice and croissants outside the door in the morning. We stayed for a couple of nights and found it very good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our room was very spacious, 2 queen beds and space for a roll away bed since we have 3 kids. Bathroom/kitchen was separate with a door so mom could get up and shower without waking everyone. Clean, comfortable. Beds were ok, a bit bouncy for my taste, but overall comfortable. People above us were noisy - sounded like kids jumping off the bed and running across the room until very late, so soundproofing could be better. Next to main road into winter park, the snow plows woke me at 5:00am. Got some earplugs the 2nd night. Continental breakfast was limited, but my kids loved it. Hot tub was outside and a bit too cold to go out there.

Room Tip: Might get a room on the 2nd floor to avoid noise from people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We drove around Winter Park looking for a place to stay and settled on the Valley Hi. So happy we did! We have a large room, cozily furnished. The property is a bit older but the owners have done a lot to make it comfortable. The staff is really friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdsfoot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Winter park seems to be very quiet during the off-season. So I guess there were just a few guests. The hotel might be a good place during a skiing vacation. If you stay there longer than one day, you should think about a more comfortable place. Breakfast consisted of a croissant and orange juice. The reception area of the hotel was just a small room reminding of a camping cabin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a great motel to stay in...the owner is very kind and the rooms are very clean. For the summer months you need to know that the rooms don't have air conditioning so the rooms can get a little warm. I imagine that in the winter months the room would be very comfortable. The rooms are very large & spacious and they have microwaves & and small fridge for all of your needs. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceM659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were really impressed with the motel, it's location, the cleanliness and the staff. I stayed with a friend in a spacious two queen bed room that seemed to have been recently refurbished.

I thought the value for money was great - for the price it definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benkay00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.7 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#8 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowblaze Athletic Club
Snowblaze Athletic Club
#9 of 15 in Winter Park
3.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#3 of 26 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hi Motel

Property: Valley Hi Motel
Address: 79025 US 40, P.O. Box 947, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Hi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley Hi Motel is in a central location, right in the middle of beautiful Winter Park, Colorado. The best skiing is right down the road. The best mountain biking is also right outside our door. There are all sorts of activities, entertainment, restaurants and shopping just a few steps away. Summer or winter check into the Valley Hi Motel and experience all Winter Park has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Valley Hi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hi Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing