We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winter Park Chateau

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Winter Park Chateau
Ranked #1 of 3 Winter Park B&B and Inns
cali
1 review
“nice getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

FABULOUS host and hostess, nice room, great location, and a good change from condo life when skiing. my only wish is that i could have had some of the wonderful fare listed and shown for breakfast. food was good, but man, would have loved the apricot stuffed french toast, crepes, and whatever else was described as WE LOVE TO EAT! other than that, a wonderful experience. thanks laura and greg!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bchluvr58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    21
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
81
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

Would you stay in a place that:
1. Interrogated you on why you needed extra shampoo and took the extra ones back because they wanted to save it for other guests
2. Asked your children who were just laughing to keep quiet (They are 4 years old for Gods sake!!)
3. Told you "There goes the hot air!" each time you opened the front door?
4. Told you that they wanted you "Out of here" by 11 am?
5. Has trains going behind it all night? (Is this "My cousin Vinny for $250 bucks a night?)

A B&B needs the personal touch and should not be run like a prison camp!! We hated it and will never go back.

I recommended to my sister and she was humiliated in front of others for asking for shampoo to wash her kids hair!! Avoid this at all costs...not worth the money. Try Devil's Thumb Ranch...enjoy your vacation your way because you are paying for it - not because some old lady running it has control issues!

BTW, I pay them $20/bottle of shampoo on my way out.

We spend about 20 nights on average per year as a family in hotels/ resorts and B&B's and this is by far the worst - these people have no business running a customer service establishment - AVOID IT

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SASA2010Denver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

read the reviews before we booked so had very high expectations. went back and looked again and most were the only review they have ever written so I guess those folks don't get out much.

It was okay but not excellent compared to other B&Bs we have stayed at. What distinguishes a good B&B from a hotel, which we stay in 2 or 3 times a month for work, is the personal touch from the hosts. Laura and Greg were nice enough but they were so busy taking care of the 10? 12? other guests that there was no sitting around BSing over a glass of wine. MIght as well stayed at a hotel. Add to that some quirky annoyances like dead batteries in TV remote, box spring falling thru the frame twice, no premium movie channels as advertsised, etc; it was just average.

Lastly, a small coffee pot in the room is a tiny investment and good coffee keeps the caffeine addicts from writing cranky reviews.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McChevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights in February, and had a great experience. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the hosts are friendly and helpful. They provided us with significantly discounted lift tickets, cooked a really nice breakfast each morning, and recommended some surprisingly good restaurants. The walls are a little thin between rooms, but otherwise this B&B is wonderful, and we'll definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alittlepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

This was a first for me and my wife and I have to say they really outdid themselves. We were only there for two nights, but they treated us like we were repeat customers. The attention to little details makes all the difference. We had to leave before the scheduled breakfast time on our last day and they made sure we still had something to eat before we left.

The location of the Chateaus is fantastic. Its within walking distance of several restaurants and places to pick up items for your travel. The shuttle for the ski slope picks you up and drop you off at the bottom of their driveway. Greg was gracious enough to pick us up from the Amtrak station and then shuttle us to the tubing hill on our first day. Laura helped us cash in on LOTS of discounts on equipment rental and ticket prices. We didn’t even have to leave the Chateau to get fitted for or return our equipment . We saved so much money we could have stayed another night if we had the time .

The breakfast was great. Nice and hearty. Perfect for getting you ready for a full day of skiing. They even made soft boiled eggs especially for one of the patrons that requested it! The Happy Hour was always worth the break in the day. Free wine and great appetizers helped you get through the rest of the afternoon until you were good and ready for dinner. We decided to stay in on our last night and just order pizza. Just minutes after the pizza guy left, Greg was knocking on our door to give us plates and utensils. Again, the thoughtful gestures really helped make this place stand out.

All in all, it was a wonderful experience and look forward to doing it again in the future, for a much longer stay. Oh and don’t forget your swim trunks. They have a hot tub on the second floor balcony with a wonderful view.

Josh

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdragseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Winter Park Chateau. The Inn Keepers were very kind and knew the area well. Breakfast was delicious and the amenities were fantastic. I highly enjoyed the company of other travelers as well, it really added to my experience without distracting me from my rest.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dillondoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

If you are planning a visit to Winter Park, Colorado, let me share with you a true jewel of a Bed & Breakfast: The Winter Park Chateau in downtown Winter Park. I found this B&B last year when looking for a unique experience for out-of-state guests, and was delighted when our stay exceeded my expectations in every way. The Winter Park Chateau is owned and operated by Laura and Greg Lewis, who totally renovated this eight unit Victorian-like building. Laura and Greg are remarkably gracious hosts, and from the moment you arrive, make you feel so welcome that it is a little like going home to visit family. Your stay includes a home-cooked breakfast each morning, and then each evening a wine and hors d' oeuvres layout where the guests mingle and chat up the days’ activities before dinner at the wide variety of local restaurant choices.

The rooms are charming, comfortable and well-equipped, including large flat-screen TVs. Amenities include a large hot tub spa and on-site massage therapist. The building is one block off the main street and on a ski bus route, so getting around is easy. I had never been a huge B&B fan before my stay at the Winter Park Chateau, but since last year we have been regulars and even plan trips around availability there. Put this on your list for romantic getaways or family activities – you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo-1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
3.0 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Snowblaze Athletic Club
Snowblaze Athletic Club
#10 of 15 in Winter Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#4 of 25 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Park Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Park Chateau

Property: Winter Park Chateau
Address: 405 Lions Gate Drive, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winter Park Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Winter Park, Winter Park Chateau is an upscale B&B Inn offering contemporary style with a Victorian Flair. All guest rooms offer flat screen high definition T.V's, free wifi,designer furnishings and more. Some feature jetted tubs, patios and fireplaces. Only 5 minutes to the ski resort with free shuttle right in front of the property and walking distance to all restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winter Park Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing