We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winter Park Chateau
Ranked #2 of 3 Winter Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The rooms are large and the beds are comfy. The breakfasts are outstanding - homecooking at its best and large portions! The evening social hour is nice and we enjoyed our wine and "snack" - very tasty and nice variety. The property is beautiful, easily accessible and very clean! The hot tub is great! Susan and Robert are wonderful hosts. We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Loved the Durango room (jetted tub a plus!). Easily accessible by parking in the rear. Small little...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Winter Park Chateau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 132 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at Winter Park Chateau during summer (late August) for one night.

Good points - clean, very comfy bed, good TV channels (directTV), cute old english decor, very pleasant and helpful hosts, beautiful garden, pretty good breakfast (good coffee, good OJ, nice fruit), good location downtown Winter Park.

Downside - noisy freight train passes through very close to the B&B at nighttime, small rooms and bathroom, (I couldn't get the fan to work in the bathroom, only the heat), no air conditioning (it got hot at night), room was small as was the bathroom (Central City Room). Quite expensive for winter park in the summer.

I've stayed at a few different hotels at Winter Park and this has been the nicest place (Hi Country Haus, Winter Park Mtn Lodge, Iron Horse) - this B&B is very good for Winter Park standard, although I did feel it was quite expensive for the summer.

Next visit I would consider staying at the Best Western because it is one of the few places that has air conditioning. (accommodation in the mountains often doesn't have A/C).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaglenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We only stayed one night but what a lovely evening. Laura and Greg, our hosts, have taken real pride in building their dream business here. We sat in a gorgeous gazebo overlooking the resort while hummingbirds and chipmunks fluttered/scurried past. The hot tub was placed in exactly the right spot for summer stargazing, and the welcome drink and cheeseplate was very thoughtful. In the morning the breakfast was excellent, a Spanish scramble served buffet-style.

The beds were comfortable, the decor was understated (not that faux-quilted quasi-Victorian style that so many B&B's are so fond of) and there were eclectic accents everywhere. (Like the genuinely weird pictures of early C20th people who turned into ghouls at a certain angle... no idea why they're there, but they were very intriguing!)

Overall this was a very impressive short stay and we felt welcome and well-looked after. There is a train that runs through which might upset very light sleepers... I didn't notice it myself, and it wasn't blowing its horn or anything, but if you have real trouble with noise at night perhaps that might be a problem.

Room Tip: The front of the B&B will overlook the town and be away from the train. If you can sleep through...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night for our anniversary. It was exactly what were looking for. The staff was very welcoming and hospitable. The rooms were homey, comfortable and clean. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Winter Park Chateau is comfortable and we felt most welcome from the beginning. We love humming birds and they were in abundance when we were there. We had a 3rd floor room at the back and the trains noted by DBC1944 (above) were not a bother (for us). The hill and trees behind the B&B shielded most of the noise and I remember waking up only once and my wife not at all. There were several of us and we required 3 rooms all different, but very nice with fans supplied for circulation if needed.
The evening wine and snacks and the breakfast in the morning were enjoyable. Both Greg & Laura was most helpful with things to do and places to eat with in a short walk. She was especially helpful by mailing some items to us that we accidentally left (at her cost) which I sent her a check for ASAP.
We would have liked to stayed longer, but had time constraints.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in July 2013. Not a luxury B&B; just an OK B&B. Decore is combination of pseudo-Victorian, ski-stuff, and random fish in toilet-seat , Corvette car pictures, slopply painting, water damage on ceiling, bathroom dorr that did not latch. Room was small. Train runs through the back (7 trains woke us up one night). Pretty good location but not great. Breakfast is OK but not special in any way. Inn-keepers were pleasant but learning the trade. Enjoyed the hot tub and view. Pretty expenseive (about $150 per night) for what we got. We will try another B&B next time we are in Winter park. Not terrible; but definitely not exceptional. Not worth a second stay.

Room Tip: Fron rooms, if any, might be quieter - away from trains in the back.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBC1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at winter park chateau and had a great time. The B&B was very cozy place to stay, we felt very welcomed by the owners. The home made breakfasts were delicious and the evening wine and snacks were a great way to relax in the evening. Laura was extremely friendly and helpful with giving advice on fun activities to do in the area. The location was perfect we could walk to anyplace in town. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. the hot tub was a great way to relax in after hiking/biking. We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: certain rooms have back porches for in and out access to the back of the house/parking area. very co...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
3.0 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
511 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Winter Park
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Winter Park
537 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
0.5 mi away
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
#4 of 25 in Winter Park
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Park Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Park Chateau

Address: 405 Lions Gate Drive, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Winter Park
Price Range: $124 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winter Park Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Winter Park, Winter Park Chateau is an upscale B&B Inn offering contemporary style with a Victorian Flair. All guest rooms offer flat screen high definition T.V's, free wifi,designer furnishings and more. Some feature jetted tubs, patios and fireplaces. Only 5 minutes to the ski resort with free shuttle right in front of the property and walking distance to all restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Winter Park Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing