We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer Pairing Event” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlegarth - CLOSED

Castlegarth
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Calabogie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beer Pairing Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is one of our favourite local restaurants. This time they had an event where the chef paired organic beers from a microbrewery (Beau's from Vankleek Hill) with 5 meal courses. It was amazing how the food changed the taste of the beer and how the beer enhanced the food. I am not a beer aficionado, but I really enjoyed the whole thing. We had explanations of the beers from the Brewmaster, plus how the courses were paired by the chefs. This restaurant uses locally grown foods and meats and the chef is truly gifted. We had foods like oysters, beer-braised ribs and even a beer glazed donut with a smoky cheddar. I will be back here, and will try for their wine-tasting event too!
The restaurant also has a take home section, where I got home made strawberry ice cream, as it is strawberry season!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unknown Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Can't say enough about the quality of the natural ingredients used in the preparation of the meals.
Basically all locally sourced for some amazing meals.
If you're in the mood for something different and wonderful this is the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gibbs070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rural gem close to Ottawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We've eaten at Castlegarth a few times now and our most recent visit was for their Spring Foraging dinner. The meals are always simple, yet very creative and delicious. Matthew and Jennifer deal with local suppliers as much as possible. The ingredients are as close as their garden. The staff are knowledgable about the food and the wine and beer selections. For a gourmet meal in this village setting, less than 1 hour from Ottawa, Castlegarth is worth the trip. Full disclosure: Castlegarth was the setting for our wedding luncheon last year. Working with Jennifer was a delight and everyone, from vegans to beef-lovers, enjoyed the food. We would highly recommend Castlegarth for a special occasion as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyclefar2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

we received a warm welcome upon arrival. all the items on the menu sounded so good, we had difficulty deciding what to order. i finally decided on crab-stuffed chicken breast with fingerling potatotes and ginger-cauliflower. it was absolutely delicious. the skin on the chicken was crispy, the meat was tender and moist. the portion was larger than i thought it would be. i cut off several pieces for others to try and there was still more than enough for me. definitely would recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank indoor_cat_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious Valentine's Day Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been trying to get out to Castlegarth since last summer and we finally did it. The set dinner offered 3 courses with 3 options for each. My husband started with the Seared Scallops, followed by the whole trout and ending with a trio of tasting desserts -a pot de creme, coffe bean brittle and walnut drop cookies. I enjoyed the beet soup, wine poached bison sirloin and a donut plate. A lovely merlot complimented our meals. We tried the lemonade as we saw the lemon concentrate in the food shop and I adore nothing more to drink than a good lemonade. The servers were lovely and so friendly and helpful. My one and only complaint was that my tea wasn't hot enough.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castlegarth also viewed

White Lake, Ontario
White Lake, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing