We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“emergency stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Denver West
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wheat Ridge
Reviewed December 20, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank GERALDF1976
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 501 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank sweetheart2u
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. Only because it was closest to our location. The hotel is old and full of suspect people. The hallway to our nonsmoking room smelled. The elevator worked fine but smells of smoke like the lobby. The room was fine. We were on the fourth floor. Bathroom was small, but usable. Old television with broken remote.
Check in/out was easy.
The diner in the hotel was awful. Don't eat there.
Definitely wouldn't bring my kids here, but it was really convenient. I would not stay here under any other circumstances.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavinnailbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

So we decided to book this hotel due to its close proximity to Red Rocks Amphitheatre and Black Hawk. What a mistake! We checked into the hotel around 6 and after seeing the hotel started second guessing our decision; shady looking people abound, an adult bookstore right next door, and ladies of the night walking along the premises. We decided it was only for one night and went on our merry way to Black Hawk.
When we returned later that night you could imagine our surprise to find a rock laying on the bed surrounded by shards ofof broken glass. The window was busted and clothes from our overnight bag were strung out on the bed. After looking at our items, we discovered that some prescription medication was missing. We later learned from hotel management that the room next-door was also broken in to. We immediately left to go find somewhere else to stay. All I can say is if you value your life, and your belongings, spend the couple extra bucks and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThisGuy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked this hotel without reading the reviews, and boy was that a huge mistake! I have stayed in bad hotels before, but this is the first time I have actually walked out and drove 45 mins to find another hotel. Very very dirty and smelly, back doors propped open late at night, cigarette butts littering the hallways, stains everywhere, comforter and mattress look like they were found in an ally, holes in carpet, didn't dare turn on a/c fan with the amount of hair and grease like junk hanging from the vent......the list goes on. When front desk was questioned, they didn't care, "yeah, find another place then" was their answer. Place should be dozed in, no amount of cleaning or remodeling will help this hotel! Stay far away!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt8443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during July of 2011 for business. Our company gave us 36 to report in Colorado. We were going to be in the Denver area for an extended (and unclassified) amount of time after the major thunderstorms, and needed office space, a place to sleep, and pets allowed.....ASAP. I seriously was searching for and booking the hotel in the car during our drive.

This hotel was the only one we could find that allowed dogs and wasn't booked for the dates we needed. Also, as with many extended-stay hotels, we were forced to book week by week. Each week, we would check to see if another hotel was available, but since it was Colorado vacation season, we were often given astronomically high quotes, or we were told that rooms were not available for the amount of days were wanting to stay. To save ourselves hassle and money, we endured the HoJo. We should've known when the price was so cheap, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

Uppon arrival in the hotel parking lot, we noticed two MAJOR truck stops across the road. They were constantly bustling with random patrons from truckers to scantily-clad women who were chatting them up. Next door to the HoJo was a XXX store. Duh. Where there's a truck stop, you're surely to find your trusty ol' porn store. Then, we noticed the same crowd as the truck stop in the parking lot of the hotel. We also noticed that a 70's model RV was parked along the side street, with a very LARGE pit bull and a child playing outside of it. Weird. More on that topic in a moment...As we entered the lobby, we noticed the eating establishment and how "unique" it was. (Heavy on the sarcasm.) There was a place for what seemed to be karakoe/live music. (We found out later that this was true. Live music and karakoe on weekend nights....no going to bed early during this time!) It was also very smokey and unclean. The man at the front desk was nice, but didn't look at all professional. He reminded me of a super in an NYC apartment building. I assumed he lived in the hotel. He gave us our room keys and showed us where to park. We made our way to the back of the hotel, which I should add gave us a nice view of a lake/park. Actually, as you will read in a few moments, the lake/park were the best thing about our stay at the HoJo. In the back parking lot, we found that there were more random characters hanging around. There seemed to be a make-shift awning connected to a car. There was a man grilling on a small Coleman stove underneath. Then, we noticed a man sitting in a lawn chair outside his car in one of the parking spaces. He was throwing himself a party, I guess, becuase he had a cooler, lots of beer, a boom box, and a pizza. I thought about asking him if we could join in the festivities, but decided against it. Didn't want to impose. I was starting to wonder if this were a hotel or an apartment complex.

Now, for the horrifying accommodations....When we started unloading from the car, we noticed some sketchy looking people on several balconies of the hotel. We made the assumption that these people were "regulars" or something, because they had Walmart-style patio furniture, grills, outdoor lights, clotheslines, etc...they had totally set up camp there. (If they were just temporary visitors, they sure did bring a lot of stuff to decorate the patio with.) As we made our way to the exterior door leading into the hotel, we noticed a big rock propping it open. I thought to myself, "well, that's not very good security practices!" So, I kicked the rock aside and closed the door behind me. Later, when we went to dinner, I noticed the rock back in the door-stop position, along with a sticky note that said not to move it! Ummmm, okay....Guess what? That rock had that door propped nearly every single time we went through it during our stay!!!

Anyway....As I said, we went to dinner that night. We were going to order something in (as we were ready to stretch out from the 9 hour car ride from Texas), but as soon as we saw the room, we had to get out of there. It was tiny, cramped, and very outdated. My poor husband had about a 2' x 4' space to set up his entire office/work area. I had no place to even think about setting up mine. The room was dark and the bed was awful. There were stains on the walls and matress. We could hear loud bass coming from one of the other rooms. In the room next door to us, we could hear a man loudly talking on the phone. I literally could hear every word he said because there was zero insulation/noise reduction in the room. When we returned from dinner, I noticed that there were rooms below ground level with windows that were at our feet. Of course, you could see in the rooms as you walked by, even if you didn't mean to look. To my disgust, one of the rooms' windows was wide open for the world to see a man sleeping on the bed in his underwear! Remember "Ugly Naked Guy" from the show Friends??? Yeeeeeahhhh.....Gross. Needless to say, we said our prayers every night and thanked God for a roof over our head. That's about all you can do when you've got to find a place to sleep for work/business in a jiffy.

By the way....after we returned home, my husband broke out in a horrible rash. We went to the doctor and he asked if hubby had been in a shower in a locker room recently. No, but he had taken a hot soak in the hotel bathtub a few times after a hard day's work. BINGO. Doc said that hubby got a fungus from the bathtub at the Howard Johnson! Sadly, we weren't surprised by the origin of the fungus.

As I said before, the lake/park behind the hotel was the only gem about our stay. I discovered that there were biking/running/walking trails, along with fishing spots and a beautiful river. You could actually follow the main trail from the HoJo all the way to Golden. If you can handle the hills, you are able to bike into Golden and take the tour at the Coors Brewing Company, which is pretty cool. I bought a bike while we were in CO, and was able to get out of the horrifying room at the HoJo at least twice a day or more. Much of the time, in fact, we would pack up our computers and go to a shady place in the park to work. This option helped us keep our sanity in counting down the days until we could leave the hotel.

One more note on the 70's RV parked along the street. When we arrived on Thursday, we noticed the RV. It was there all day Friday when I would take our dog for a walk. Mysteriously, though, it was gone by Friday night. BUT....it appeared again on Monday morning before the sun came up. It was there (along with it's very interesting inhabitants) all week and would be gone again by Friday at sundown. We decided to finally make light of the HoJo, so we made up a fun story about those people. I'll spare the ridiculousness for the sake of time. LOL

I know this review was long, but I wanted to give a clear picture of this place. It is literally the Twilight Zone. You will be shocked and amazed (more like appalled) at the things you will witness here. The ones I've listed above are only scratching the surface. The Howard Johnson Denver West is puzzling, because I can't figure out how the health department and police haven't shut it down for all that's wrong with it!

P.S. Besides the park, another blessing we received during our stay came one night after we had treated ourselves to a steak dinner. Afterward, as we turned onto the side street where we could enter the parking lot, we saw a homeless man sitting near the stop sign. I forced my husand to stop so that we could give him our steakhouse leftovers. The man's eyes lit up when he discovered the contents in the doggy bags. Very cool. Now, you must know that sketchy situtations and "questionable" people don't normally bother hubby or I too badly. I guess this is another reason whey we just made the choice to tough it out at the HoJo. Afterall, WE could've been the homeless ones on the street that night, and we were thankful we weren't. HOWEVER....if you are easily freaked out by eccentric transients, overly-friendly truck drivers (who happen to enjoy an attractive woman's presence), or barefoot gypsies, you probably need to keep driving up the interstate to the more affluent neighborhoods. Just sayin'...

Room Tip: Rooms in along the back wall of the hotel have a view of the lake and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The lobby smelled like smoke alot and the rooms smelled very musky.... Not a great value. Do not eat at restarunt!!!! Horrible service, no cleanlinesss, and food was virtually unedible! Old tv in all rooms and didnt get what we paid for dont stay here i promise you will regreat it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calferman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wheat Ridge hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Denver West
Comfort Inn Denver West
#2 of 8 in Wheat Ridge
153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Denver West Wheat Ridge-North
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wheat Ridge-Denver West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Affordable Inns
Affordable Inns
#4 of 8 in Wheat Ridge
163 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Denver West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Denver West

Address: 12100 W 44th Ave, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033-2449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Wheat Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wheat Ridge
Price Range: $58 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Denver West 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Denver West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Denver West Hotel Wheat Ridge
Howard Johnson Wheat Ridge
Wheat Ridge Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing