We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Unkept and Dangerous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Wheat Ridge/Denver West
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Wheat Ridge
Torrance, California
1 review
“Dirty Unkept and Dangerous”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

6-23-2021 My bus tour was booked at this facility returning from Mt. Ruchmore to CA. We arrived to find that out reservations had been ignored as the manager who booked no longer worked at this facility. The lobby was dirty. The breakfast area was dirty and crumbs all over the place. The carpet in the hall and stairs was very dirty. There were guys hanging out in the halls as if they owned the place. I was given a room key to find that there was no wall switch for the lights. The dead bolt on the door did not fit into the slot. The room smelled of urine and smoke. The bathroom door had blood stains that had not been cleaned off. There was a phone next to the bed that did not work nor was there a phone jack that it fit. At 1 AM I was scared out of my mind by someone using the same key I was given to enter the room I screamed as loud as I could and the door latch was on the door so he closed it right away. I had to use my own cell phone to call the front desk and the police. The front desk apologized and asked if she and this person could come up to the room to look for something the person had left in the room. Mind you this person was registered in this room and now moved to another room. Interesting that he could not have waited until the next day to try to get access to the room. Other people in my group complained of people's and noises in halls all night long. There appeared to be illegal goings on there and it was the pits. Very unsafe. The next morning the front desk made the comment that they always give keys to these guys when they ask!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Skip this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    79
    75
    58
    108
See reviews for
135
72
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Cannot believe this still has a Ramada name to it. The manager should have been fired long ago. The entrance looks like a drug-dealing/prostitution flop house. The lobby was littered with empty food boxes and had another pile of full boxes of food for their "breakfast". When I asked to speak to the manager about the appearance of this place, he went from hanging around, watching the clerk work her tail off to disappearing and saying he would not be available until the next day! The clerk asked if we would like to see our room and when we went there, it was in the process of being cleaned...with condom wrappers on the floor and trash all over.
When the owners and management have no pride in their establishment, then occupants certainly do not. We waited until 7:30 at night and the room still was not clean...got a refund. On top of all of that, since surrounding cities had no vacancy, they charged $120 a night!
Maids were using stolen Target store shopping carts as dirty linen carts.

Room Tip: Do Not Stay at this seedy filth hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManitouSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wheat Ridge hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Do not stay at this disgustingly dirty pit of a hotel. The carpet in the halls was black with filth, our blankets were stained and had holes. The rooms were filthy, no screens on the windows, the bathroom plug ins did not work, The whole hotel wreaked of smoke. It was one of the absloute worst hotels I have ever stayed in. In makes me decide never to stay in a Ramada again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Really the pictures they advertise are not even close to what you get. First room I checked into had mold on bath tub tile, soap dish was rusted out. Halls stink, neighbors smoked pot all day and also could smell that all day Loud bumping base from down stairs.The pool was empty, even though they show a really nice swiming area. It was 94 here in Denver today. Celing looked like it was going to fall in. The desk would not lower my room rate, they said I could check out and dispute the charges with expedia even though I had a non refundalbe booking.

Room Tip: Advise of the day there are no good rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0000unhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

It's after 10 p.m. and I am currently sitting in my room at the Ramada Denver West listening to a dog bark loudly in the room next door. I went down to the front desk after listening to this barking for the better part of an hour, and she was completely unhelpful. "Dogs are allowed here," she said. "It's the fault of the other hotel guests who dared to walk down the hall and upset the dog." No really, she actually said this, and in a very snotty way. This was 1/2 an hour ago. The dog is still barking.

After arriving at this pit of a hotel 2 days ago, I really should have followed my initial instincts and not checked in. The parking lot was (still is) strewn with garbage, there were some very shady-looking people hanging out in the lobby (as there are whenever I walk through), the room itself is smelly and has several maintenance issues, and the staff are about as friendly as a rock. But it was after midnight, I didn't know the area well, and I had no idea that - two nights later - I would be kept awake by a barking yippy dog.

I can only hope that this review will prevent someone else from staying in this hotel. Frankly, I'm beginning to wonder if this place is even safe. My uncle, a retired local firefighter, was shocked when I told him I was staying here. He mentioned a long history of drug problems. Seeing the clientele that hang out here (most appear to be residents, not just travelers passing through), I don't doubt it.

Ramada used to be a reliable brand. I have no idea how they let this disgusting, poorly-run property slip through the cracks.

Room Tip: Drive a few extra miles and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMJplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I drive a truck and ran out of time when I reached Wheat Ridge... I checked out the Holiday Inn across the road from this location but it was a little expensive (even though work pays, I still try to find a good deal)... I went online in my truck, searched the Wyndham Web Site and found that this hotel had rooms available and had truck parking...

I drive across the road and wasn't sure if they were open, the place looked abandoned, there was one car in the dark parking lot... I approached the front door and looked up to see a huge hole in the ceiling with bits hanging down with no sign or warning tape, I tried the door and they were open... I asked if there was a room avaliable, I was told yes but if my truck was longer than 20 feet it would get a ticket!?! Umm, it's a Flatbed Tow Truck, the part the car goes on is 20 feet on its own.

The female employee that was there today (Monday Feb 27 in the evening) suggested that I try the Holiday Inn... Umm, hello, that's your competition... I work for the same company that owns Wyndham Hotels, and Holiday Inn isn't part of the family, and after this I honestly don't think that this Ramada should be either... Wow, just wow!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Avistow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at this place and prepaid for a week. I guess its so bad there that police run plate numbers of all the cars in the parking lot. Turns out I had an old ticket and had a warrant. The police took me to jail but I was released a couple hours later. when i returned my key did not work. when went to get new key the desk girl told me I needed to check out because the manager said They dont want troublemakers there. They refused to refund the remaining days i paid for. when i went to my room my computer was gone and my stuff gone through. The manager said they went through all my stuff to make sure there was no drugs in my room but didnt take my computer. all three managers had different stories and were just disgusting people. Dont ever stay at this hotel

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheat Ridge
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 8 in Wheat Ridge
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wheat Ridge-Denver West
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arvada Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Denver West/Federal Center
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
6.3 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Wheat Ridge/Denver West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Wheat Ridge/Denver West

Property: Super 8 Wheat Ridge/Denver West
Address: 4700 Kipling St, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033-2817 (Formerly Ramada Wheat Ridge/Denver West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Wheat Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Wheat Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Wheat Ridge/Denver West 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Wheat Ridge/Denver West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Denver West Hotel Wheat Ridge
Ramada Wheat Ridge
Ramada Denver West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing