We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had a great lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Tango - CLOSED

Red Tango
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“had a great lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

I found this place by accident while looking for a late lunch in the area. The building is a little old, but so what. The staff was very friendly and the food was delicious! I had the Torta de papas which was wonderful. Definitely going to try if for dinner and enjoy the food along with some wine or sangria.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thinkshift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheat Ridge, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So very much like their food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

and great local atmosphere. Went for the first time about 2 weeks ago and definately plan to go again soon!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

After reading these reviews, we gave this little place a try en route to the mountains for the weekend. Unassuming from the exterior, but what they lack in curb appeal, they make up for in flavor! They specialize in South American fare-- well seasoned but not spicy. The arepas and the black bean ravioli were perfect. The empanadas were packed with flavor and perfectly cooked: crispy and flaky. The host (presumedly the owner) took our reservation, seated us, and served us. Timing of the meal was perfect; food was hot. Neighboring customers were as pleased as us. We will be back (and will probably try to save some room for the flan).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drchele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Why I am I not surprised they are #1?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Another review mentioned APPLE SOUP!!! Trouble with this place is the chef has fun so it isn't on the menu everyday - how dare he not keep it as a staple! Until you have tried apple soup - don't say a word No pretentious of grandeur, comfortable, best food in the area, really great wine according to "she who must be obeyed" and no beer. If they had beer I would visit more often. Why do restaurants in one of the greatest brewing states - nay - the greatest brewing state - ignore beer? Instead of five star - I rate four for this reason alone - i don't know if it's fair but they don't listen to my complaints about beer so loose a point - otherwise they are the tops! Lovely people owners - wait staff - you won't do better - except for that beer less atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffthebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
181 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food if you ask me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Impromptu dinner out with friends. They recommended it as they had been there before. I don't think they were as impressed with it the second time. However, my family really enjoyed it. We had a the ceviche for an appetizer that was quite good. I had an interesting bowl of green apple soup. I say interesting because it had the consistently of a butternut squash soup but the sweetness of, well...an apple. It was good but odd to eat something sweet like that in the middle of the courses. I had the seafood special. It was good but not outstanding. That would be the pork (special). Whatever it was called they only do it on Friday and Saturday night apparently. We talked to the chef who explained the lengthy process of making the sauce. It was TDF. My 8 year old had the beef tenderloin that was cooked to perfection. The children at the table seemed to enjoy the flan however my pumpkin cheesecake was still frozen and clearly store bought. The waiter was quite good and attentive to our needs. I would absolutely eat here again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoquaciousColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Tango also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing