We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and sweet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vittles Cafe

Vittles Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in New Ross
Cuisines: Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
1 review
“Small and sweet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Small town charm that will make you feel at home. This place offers some great food that will leave you stuffed and satisfied.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shannonjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Good, Honest Food, Great Prices and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stopped here last week and we weren't disappointed. The service here is friendly and the food is really good. We each had the Hot Turkey Sandwich, which was just divine. My husband had a coffee, which was only $1.30 and tasted great. Our Hot Turkey Sandwiches were only $9.99 each...a wonderful and delicious bargain. We can hardly wait to eat at Vittles again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Singent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Convenient out of town location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Vittles is a convenient about halfway stop on Highway 12 between Kentville and Chester. I would tend to call it a cafe / takeaway, more than restaurant but it has a good range of food to have there in the small place, or to take away.

There's certainly plenty of regulars calling in and known by name, which is always a good sign. Good quality food and a reasonable price, with prompt and pleasant service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fuartholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“BEST HOMEMADE MEALS EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I have drove past this little place many times and thought it only served ice cream.....but we stopped in at lunch and were so happy we did. I had the best old fashioned Hot Hamburger and fries. Complete with fried onions and peas and carrots on the top.
The fish and chips looked yummy and seemed very popular. The clams and chips looked good to......I so want to go back!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LCWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lunch while dining solo.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I dropped in for lunch at this restaurant while I was visiting New Ross. An excellent place to eat and the prices are reasonable. Fish and chips are great. A good menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vittles Cafe also viewed

New Ross, Southwest Nova Scotia

Been to Vittles Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing