We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh made Italian in Ward, CO”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marrocco's

Marrocco's
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ward
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh made Italian in Ward, CO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

It is incredible to believe there is an Italian restaurant in the small mountain community of Ward, CO. We live nearby, and were thrilled to see a family with a passion for freshly prepared Italian food open up a restaurant in an old mine building. They are open Thursday-Saturday night for dinner, and Monday through Saturday for breakfast.

The ingredients are fresh, the bread homemade, the meals are very tasty. I am not a huge fan of Italian food, but the pizza is the best in the mountains. Genie loves the spaghetti with meat sauce. Our granddaughters love the ravioli. They have specials every night, and the deserts are to die for.

Be aware, they only take cash. And, they close down from around New Year's Day until Valentine's Day to rest and refurbish the place. Also, it is not really a family restaurant. The staff has been wonderful, as we have taken our grandkids from a very early age. But, the patrons often show impatience with kids, and have said some unkind words to them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, limited hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

They have a very good cook, but not open every day of the week. Operates in a building that doubles as a community center and church. Google it for the status.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kmmhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pat, Celeste and Beth know how to take care of their customers! We called ahead to reserve a table for 8, and they were ready for us! Started with an artichoke dip that was chunky and rich. Delicious! On to salads with a FABULOUS homemade basil dressing that I could have eaten with a spoon. We ordered three 16" pizzas for the table to share and went home with leftovers. All were excellent, but my preference was the veggie pizza with fresh basil, spinach, tomatoes, etc. Wines prices at $22-24/bottle were great. We'll be back for sure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Ocean
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Don't blink or you will miss it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

In the interesting little town of Ward, there is Marrocco's. There isn't an obvious sign, but there is a sign saying that it is a church on Sundays.

We went for breakfast. The blueberry pancakes were perfect, the french toast ok. Service was great and the place lovely inside.

They are not open for lunch, so you have to plan your stop accordingly. Dinner is supposed to be good and I hope to return to try it sometime.

Ward is where people bring all kinds of vehicles and abandon them. It initially looks like a dump, but on closer inspection, some of the vehicles are pretty interesting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sailsequoyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrocco's also viewed

Been to Marrocco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing