We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Rambler
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walsenburg
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was very disappointed with my stay here. There was no internet at all and I stayed 2 days. The tv remote did not work. The pool and sauna look dirty. The water pressure was poor. The towels looked dingy and were freyed or torn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us here at Best Western Rambler. I do apologize that you had such a bad experience at our hotel. I assure you we are looking into the issues that were mentioned. I hope you consider staying with us again so we can change your mind about our hotel.

Thank you and have a great day,
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 361 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Have stayed here several times and we were always well satisfied. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. It is also located right next-door to one of the best Outlet Malls in the country.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

I thank you for you kind reveiw, however you might be talking about another Best Western as we do not have an Outlet Mall near us.





Thank you

Diana Cupps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were glad to stay here for one night on our trip into Kansas. Our room was one of the ones in the back building which made it quiet, An open field is behind the building. Nice facilities for breakfast and relaxing. Chose to eat at KFC since it was next door rather than drive somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit.


Diana Cupps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here Sept. 23 on our way to Mesa Verde. Halfway point for us from Fort Collins, CO. This was a nice hotel. The room was very clean. Breakfast was filling. CJ checked us in quickly and was courteous. He was cooking the breakfast burritos fresh the next morning. They were good. Other breakfast fare was typical for a Best Western. Only thing was the mattress was pretty hard. Don't know how old they are but may need replace. The pool and hot tub area was clean. We would recommend this nice hotel.

Room Tip: We were in the back of the hotel. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAAdams53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. Cj is one of our assests here at the Rambler. I am glad that he treated you well. We are looking into our mattress issue as I know most of our mattresses are new.

We hope to see you again!


Diana Cupps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Best Western in Walsenberg lives up to its name - it's one of the best. Stayed here in 2006 and the new version is even better. Pricing was alright also. Manager was helpful in recommending dining for our evening meal. Towns people were friendly also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We try to keep up with the ever changing local dinning and attractions. It was nice having you stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Diana Cupps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pros: Clean, comfortable beds and pillows. Our room looked fairly newly renovated. Walking distance to food.
Cons: VERY slow internet. Sparse breakfast. Really, all it seemed like it had was biscuits and gravy - which the lady serving it had a tip jar out. Very tacky. And was VERY buggy. I did write a review on the Best Western site, and they did get back to me. They don't know what the bugs are. But they aren't really in the rooms ( a couple got in, which we quickly killed). They are of course attracted by all the lights around the hotel's entry doors, so they swarm in to the hallway lights also. So they're all over the walls, ceilings as you are walking in from the outside. They are working on trying to solve that problem.
And also - through no fault of the hotel, just a fact - there is no elevator. So if you're on the second floor, be prepared to schlep your stuff up the stairs.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you can stay with us again, when southern Colorado isn't being swarmed by Adobe bugs. Some one has got back to me and they said they are swarming for two reasons, 1. the humidity is higher this year and 2. the burn scar we have south of town. I am hoping with the first cold snap we get we will be rid of them. And if you find yourself on the second floor, do not hesitate to ask the front desk for assistance, we have no problem aiding people with their things.



Thank you again
Diana Cupps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Right off the interstate but quiet and comfortable. Only stayed one night in passing through. Friendly and helpful staff. Good price compared to many hotels in Colorado. Impressed with a two person breakfast room with cook to special make omelets. Was disappointed I could not order a real egg over easy. Just eggbeaters.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to tell us what you did and did not like about your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Western Rambler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsenburg
2.3 mi away
La Plaza Inn
La Plaza Inn
#2 of 7 in Walsenburg
134 reviews
15.5 mi away
La Veta Inn
La Veta Inn
#1 of 1 in La Veta
40 reviews
21.2 mi away
Days Inn Colorado City
Days Inn Colorado City
#1 of 1 in Colorado City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Inn at the Spanish Peaks
5.3 mi away
Rio Cucharas Inn
Rio Cucharas Inn
#5 of 7 in Walsenburg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rambler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rambler

Address: 457 US Highway 85 87, Walsenburg, CO 81089-9202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Walsenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walsenburg
Price Range: $87 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rambler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Pet friendly, and would love to have you stay with your pet. However, our pet desginated rooms are limited please call ahead. Pet fee is $10 per pet. Best Western Rambler is a great place to stay for business or leisure. We are located at a major crossroads of Colorado. Just moment away from Lathrop State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Rambler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walsenburg
Best Western Hotel Walsenburg
Walsenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing