We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rambler
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walsenburg
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We were nicely surprised at the quality of this motel. Our room was similar in quality to Holiday Inn express rooms we have stayed in, and was very clean. The "window" air conditioner/fan is a standard unit- loud but we love it as it serves as a noise machine. The front desk staff was very welcoming and friendly. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank K_M60503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We strive as a team to make a great stay for our guests. I personally feel that we are a little gem between the praire and mountains.


Thank you again


Diana Cupps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    132
    37
    32
    13
See reviews for
111
92
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here simply by looking here at Tripadvisor and this hotel did not dissapoint. There are two sections, a much older part with outside entrances built in the 70s and then a newer more modern multi story building. Supposedly they in the process of upgrading the older units. We stayed in the newer building. Room was nice, but simple. The only thing missing for this gal was a mirror in the room other than the one in the bathroom. Seems like every hotel nowadays has some kind of mirror in the main room. To their credit, the closet had mirrors on it. Now, the breakfast was superb. They actually had someone cooking breakfast! This morning, she made cheese omlets and hash browns. Awesome. Would stay here again. It is a little north of Walsenburg with not a lot of good options for dinner so we travelled to Trinidad to one of our favorite places..Rino's.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyMom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. We truly enjoyed having you stay with us. Thank you for pointing out the two seperate sections of the hotel. I personally think the diversity adds to the hotel.



thank you again

Diana Cupps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raton, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This motel is very clean and the beds are comfortable and towels nice. Personnel was efficient and nice. The breakfast offered delicious hand made breakfast burritos. However, in the summer there are single room air conditioners that are so loud that you cannot turn the t.v. loud enough to hear it. We had two rooms and both were the same way. We barely slept ... It was like being on the runway. I don't know about winter - there appears to be a different type of system.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commtexx11116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I do apologize about your air conditioner, must be one of the older ones that we have slated for replacement. I am glad though that the rest of the room was comfortable, and the that the staff was professional. We hope to see you again.


Thank you
Diana Cupps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

There are not many choices of hotels in Walsenburg, CO, but this one is the best! Our room was nice and roomy, clean, and comfortable. A/C worked great and not to noisy. My family and I stayed here for one night on our vacation and it was probably the best night sleep we had on our trip. For breakfast in the morning they had breakfast burritos available, made fresh to order! They were DELICIOUS! Fresh REAL eggs, potatoes, and REAL cheese! One word of advice though.....don't wait to eat dinner at the Taco Bell/ KFC next door.....it was terrible! Eat before you get to your destination if you are arriving late.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myunbirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, we are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. Our cook is an important part of our team.


Thank you again
Diana Cupps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rented 3 rooms for the night - three families traveling back to Texas from South Dakota - and we decided to spend some time around the Colorado Springs area so we called ahead on very short notice.

They were able to accomodate us even though they were dealing with folks that were being evacuated from their homes due to some local fires (speaking of that, I think the front desk could have been a little more forthcoming concerning the nearby fire while I had him on the phone trying to set up some reservations from afar - I might have made different plans. Even so, we had a good experience and the fires were no real threat to where we stayed).

The kids had a great time swimming in the pool but I think they really need to spend some more time on routine maintenance - compared to the rest of the place (which is excellent), you almost feel like you're stepping into a whole different hotel when you step into the indoor pool area.

Aside from that, the rest of the place is new and the rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast was great (they have someone there fixing hot breakfast tacos).

I would stay there again...

Room Tip: Pay attention (and ask about) fires in and around the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I apologize about the pool and have since set up a better maintenance schedule. Also I have spoke to our front desk staff on the importance of information, especially on the wild fires. We enjoyed having you stay with us and definitely look forward to seeing you again.


Thank you
Diana Cupps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is nothing special. We just needed somewhere to stay the night on our way to our final destination. Room was clean and a nice size. Fridge and microwave were handy. Bathroom was a little small but we weren't here long so it was fine. Room above us was a little noisy at 2am. But nothing ear plugs didn't fix.
Now on to the redeeming value, the staff. Nothing less than phenomenal. Check-in staff was friendly, helpful, and informative. Not only do they a nicely appointed breakfast selection but also a hot freshly cooked item. The morning we were there was fresh bacon and cheese omelets which was very good. Person making the breakfast was also very friendly and helped get other items needed. Upon check-out again the staff was friendly and extremely helpful in helping us find a detour due to road closures from the fires. Warmly greeted by other staff while walking around.
If I'm in the area again I would definitelty stay again and recommend. Thank you for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We strive as a team to make everyone's stay enjoyable and comfortable. I apologize about your "neighbors" as we have them from time to time, just let the front desk know and we would have them quiet down a bit. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to you staying with us again.

Again, Thank you

Diana Cupps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was one of the worst motels we stayed in during our 9 day motorcycle vacation. They boasted about their pool, and hot tub but when we got to the pool it was GREEN and the hot tub was also GREEN and had about 1/2 an inch of sand in the bottom. Our room air conditioner would not cool the room. All in all it was a very bad experience and not worth the $98.00 bill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay, our hot tub is tinted aqua in color and was not "green" from lack of chemical or filtration, after you told me that it was such in color I checked the ph and chlorine imediately and found them to be in speck and that it did not look any different than it did on any other day. I did mention that the pool was in the middle of repair as the heater had recently went out. I was not aware of any A/C issues as I would have research away to rectify the situation and make your stay more enjoyable. Again I truly apologize that your stay was not to your satisfaction. We take all reviews into consideration and use them to improve our guest's stay, our facility and staff. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Thank you
Diana Cupps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsenburg
2.2 mi away
La Plaza Inn
La Plaza Inn
#2 of 7 in Walsenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
15.5 mi away
La Veta Inn
La Veta Inn
#1 of 1 in La Veta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
21.2 mi away
Days Inn Colorado City
Days Inn Colorado City
#1 of 1 in Colorado City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Rio Cucharas Inn
Rio Cucharas Inn
#6 of 7 in Walsenburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Rambler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rambler

Property: BEST WESTERN Rambler
Address: 457 US Highway 85 87, Walsenburg, CO 81089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Walsenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walsenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rambler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Pet friendly, and would love to have you stay with your pet. However, our pet desginated rooms are limited please call ahead. Pet fee is $10 per pet. Best Western Rambler is a great place to stay for business or leisure. We are located at a major crossroads of Colorado. Just moment away from Lathrop State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rambler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walsenburg
Best Western Hotel Walsenburg
Walsenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing