We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Rambler
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walsenburg
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed today. Hotel is nice and clean. Rooms are nice and comfortable. Plus to be able to park right in front of the room. It is the best in this small community. Not many places to eat around but went to a Chinese buffet place that was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Hopefully you will stay with us again and we can point out some nice spots to visit, ie; the coal mine museum, historic La Plaza restraunt, or for the outdoors type the lake and golf course.


Thank you again
Diana Cupps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 363 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

It’s so desolate, it feels a little like an outpost on the moon, and it’s a little pricey, but the staff is very nice, and the rooms are very clean, if basic. The best part was the free made-to-order breakfast (breakfast burritos on the day we were there). Truly a step up from what you expect from chain hotel breakfasts.

Room Tip: There are two sections to the hotel, the older motel section where you can drive up to your door, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcalderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We do seem a little isolated here on the out skirts of town. On the plus side you don't hear the train go through. Our breakfastes are our highlight and am glad that you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again



thank you
Diana Cupps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Picked this hotel by reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. Glad I did. Hotel was just off of the Interstate and was very easy to get to. Check in was painless and quick. Front desk clerk was very efficient and professional. Room was quiet and clean, bed was super comfortable, AC was a little noisy, but nothing I couldn't sleep through. Hotel is close to the Interstate, but traffic noise was non-existent. I liked that the rooms were motel style, where I could park right by my room. There are a few food joints within walking distance if you don't want to drive anywhere. If I'm through the area again, I will be stopping here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiminMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. We enjoyed having you stay with us. We strive daily to improve and hope to see you again.

Diana Cupps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had earned points with Best Western so we stayed here for FREE. We stayed here on our trip down to Santa Fe/Taos because we wanted to tour the Ludlow Massacre Monument and this was only about 25 miles north of it. We had the big handicap accessible room and it was very nice. The FREE breakfast was great and a woman makes breakfast burritos to order. They were great and very filling. Part of the hotel is new as of 2008 and the rest of the motel is probably 1950's. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our one-night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzEQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. I am really glad you liked that room it is also great for a mid-size family. One of my favorites. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you
Diana Cupps
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank TOMMY K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Rude! Inconsiderate! Greedy business practices. While I waited for a room, I listened to employees asking other guests questions, & I felt like they were looking for the more desparate, larger groups, in order to rent the rooms for more money. We were basically chased out, into a blizzard, & were very lucky to find IMMEDIATE sanctuary at a nearby inn, that actually offered hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank nothinbutagoodtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at Best Western Rambler, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

I do apologize that you feel that way. We don't go looking for the larger groups or people who would pay more money. This was a crazy night with unexpected reservations and a lobby full of people who need/wanted rooms. We were receiving online reservations as fast as we were processing reservations on the phone and at the counter. We are not large enough to accommodate everyone who stops, and our staff would never chase out anyone into a blizzard. We had a list of alternate hotels in town that were not full yet and shared that information with anyone who needed it. I feel that you have unfairly rated us, since you did not stay with us. I am however glad that you found a safe place to stay for the night, as stated it was a horrible night to be out.

Perchance if you are in the area again you can give us a try.
Thank you
Diana Cupps
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walsenburg
2.3 mi away
La Plaza Inn
La Plaza Inn
#2 of 7 in Walsenburg
134 reviews
15.5 mi away
La Veta Inn
La Veta Inn
#1 of 1 in La Veta
40 reviews
21.2 mi away
Days Inn Colorado City
Days Inn Colorado City
#1 of 1 in Colorado City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Inn at the Spanish Peaks
5.3 mi away
Rio Cucharas Inn
Rio Cucharas Inn
#5 of 7 in Walsenburg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rambler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rambler

Address: 457 US Highway 85 87, Walsenburg, CO 81089-9202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Walsenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walsenburg
Price Range: $87 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rambler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Pet friendly, and would love to have you stay with your pet. However, our pet desginated rooms are limited please call ahead. Pet fee is $10 per pet. Best Western Rambler is a great place to stay for business or leisure. We are located at a major crossroads of Colorado. Just moment away from Lathrop State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Rambler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walsenburg
Best Western Hotel Walsenburg
Walsenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing