We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hiking, no crowds”

State Forest State Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Walden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hiking, no crowds”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a very nice trip in the fall, lots of short and long hikes, also very fun cross country in the winter, good for all ages and experience levels

Helpful?
1 Thank tobycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Caseyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Little Stop”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you are traveling Scenic Rt. 14 in northern Colorado, be sure and stop by the Moose Visitors Center at State Forest State park. They have a nice observation area outback that is suppose to be a good area for seeing moose. We weren't lucky enough to see a one, but they keep record of sightings and where they were most recently spotted. They have serveral humming bird feeders out back and they were attracting quite a few hummers. Nice stop!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank elbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weslaco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Natural Gem”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Unlike other parks, State Forest State Park was not crowded even during the busy summer months. We were able to see moose from our car every dawn and dusk that we were there. If you are only staying a few hours at the park, I would recommend visiting early or late in the day to see the moose. In addition, we saw mink and some great birds including Three-toed Woodpecker, Red-naped Sapsucker, and Pine Grosbeak. We camped at the park in a beautiful forested area. The only drawback was that there were no showers at any of the campgrounds in the park. We went to a nearby KOA and paid to take a shower there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Wilderness”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This has to be one of our top vacations next to backpacking across Europe! We loved the open meadows and the view of the mountains were incredible. This was the perfect getaway from city living for our kids (5, 10, 15, 20)! No tv, no cable, just pure wilderness! The kids/teens found animal tracks, wild flowers and plants, beaver dens, streams etc. They enjoyed gathering firewood for the camp fire, fishing right outside our cabin, rock skipping on the lake, watching the ducks and geese and their babies swim in the morning. Star gazing, full moon was breath taking! We loved the rustic cabin and the wood burning stove (new experience for us, didn't realize it only takes a few pieces of wood to get the cabin warmed up). Tons of hiking trails (be prepared when going on trails, drink plenty of water if you're not use to the elevation). Best place to hike is LAKE AGNES!!! and also a great place to fish! One thing I was afraid of was the mountain lion/cougar tracks. They were huge paw tracks and we heard a growl 2x at different locations up the trail. Luckily there was 6 of us and I made sure we stayed close together. I would absolutely go back in a heart beat! The only thing we wished we were able to see were Moose. We did get to see Elk, beavers, marmot and tons of beautiful birds.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Mom-of-4-n-NoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hard time finding moose in just 2 days”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

After 2 days of hiking in prime moose habitat I was one of the unlucky ones who didn't get to see one!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State Forest State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing