We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, but dated and without air conditioning” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chedsey Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chedsey Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Walden
Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“clean, but dated and without air conditioning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The motel is old and has never been updated. There is no air conditioning, so hot summer nights are not pleasant here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fisherman01Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn s, Owner at Chedsey Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to let you know that I am in the process of updating the Chedsey motel. I am not sure I will ever be able to afford to put in air conditioning but I will be more than happy to give my customers an extra fan. Please come stay at the Chedsey again and we will do our best to make your stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
12
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

A very basic but clean motel with a welcoming owner. Room was clean and comfortable with a fridge. No air conditioning but a fan and it was cool enough at night with the windows open. There isn't a lot of choice as to where to stay in Waldon but I'm glad we chose the Chedsey. also very good value at $50 per night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeicesterUKTigerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn s, Owner at Chedsey Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review . We do have beautiful scenery here. Just to let you know that I have had to raise my rates by five dollars. I hope this will not keep you from returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

What a dump. Stayed here with a fishing buddy. Had stray cats running all over my vehicle and the constant footsteps of illegal alien who seem to be weekly guests. Room had a cracked sink, the sheets were thin and threadbare and threateneing notes posted throuhout the room about "using towels to wash your cars and motorcycles". This place gave me the creeps and probably bedbugs. If I had a dog, I probably wouldn;t want him to sleep here. AVOID at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrJiggs500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn s, Owner at Chedsey Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I am sorry your stay here was not enjoyable but I do not know of any motel that allows you to clean fish in the room. Please come stay in beautiful North Park Walden Colorado again even if it is at another motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Arrived later in the day & did a little hotel/motel price comparing. No on at the desk, just a pad of paper & some keys. Seems the owner had things to do & was trusting everyone to do the right thing. Took a key to check out the room. Large room but nothing fancy. Checked out two other places & decided to stay here. Met the owner later (about 8pm). Had supper down the street. Fabulous view in the am while enjoying my coffee. Yes, clean room & shower. Also had a hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jlmccon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn s, Owner at Chedsey Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. I am sorry I was not here when you arrived but I was at the 4H livestock sale and I appreciated everyone who helped themselves. Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walden hotels
0.1 mi away
North Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices

Been to Chedsey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chedsey Motel

Property: Chedsey Motel
Address: 537 Main St, Walden, CO 80480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Walden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Walden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
this motel was built in the 1950s and has been very well maintained and has many updates.I have painted all the rooms,am working on putting flat screen televisions on the walls and have added an outdoor hottub.Each room has a microwave and small refrigerator.I have some smoking rooms and some pet rooms.Our staff is very friendly and will help in any way they can.Each room is totally cleaned and disinfected upon check out. So please come give us a try in beautiful North Park,Walden Colorado. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing