We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or Miss”
Review of Moose Creek Cafe

Moose Creek Cafe
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Walden
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Dine in our casual family dining room and enjoy a hearty meal or in our 'Fireside Room' while relaxing with a drink from our bar. Summer weather gives way to dining out on our open air patio.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The title is not about the food. The food at Moose Creek is always good. I'd say very good. The service on the other hand, well that depends on who's working. Almost all servers are slow and inattentive but most are friendly. There are a couple (as "Grumpy Place"pointed out) that make it almost worth not even staying for the food. However, I'm there every summer and the grumpies are not as frequent. I'd say it's worth a shot to try for a newcomer.

Helpful?
Thank R. Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapaJ1952, Owner at Moose Creek Cafe, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Moose Creek Cafe. I am deeply disapointed that our staff did not make you feel more welcome. I know we all have bad days but our servers know that I hold a much higher standard here and I have discussed this with them regarding the situation. I hope that in the future you will give us another go.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    48
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food - Vegetarian and Not”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stopped at the Moose Creek Cafe in Walden, CO, after a 3 hour drive through the Cache La Poudre Wilderness Area. There is seating both inside and outside. The food is plentiful and good. And, for vegetarians there are a few veggie items on the menu, including a very good veggie burger. Good to know that there is someplace you can eat after a long morning's drive. We ate out on the front porch and enjoyed the beautiful day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BLL899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Mountain Falls, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Grumpy Place!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just went there for a cup of coffee since none was available at my hotel. Lady working there was angry, rude, even hostile and non-communicative. The coffee was okay but I did not stay for food in such a hostile environment.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapaJ1952, Owner at Moose Creek Cafe, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Moose Creek Cafe. I am deeply disappointed that our staff did not make you feel more welcome. I know we all have bad days but our servers know that I hold a much higher standard here and I have discussed this with them regarding the situation. I hope that in the future you will give us another go.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
391 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Country Fried Steak”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stopped on our way through North Park at this little cafe. Good service and homemade, from local cattle, chicken fried steak salt and peppered just right. Nice to find a place to stop that has good local cafe food.

Helpful?
Thank Crt1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
462 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“" Great Cafe "”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a great place. You are in the middle of nowhere and come upon the Moose Cafe on the Main Street of Walden, Colorado. There was a local cowboy at the Cafe with his lead horse and pack horses hitched beside the hotel. He added atmosphere to my trip. He let children from the cafe pet the horses. There is indoor and outdoor seating at the Cafe. Yes you will be eating with the locals as well as tourists in the area. This is a very biker friendly Cafe with ample parking for numerous motorcycles in front of the Cafe. AND the food is excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moose Creek Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Moose Creek Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing