We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST BARBACUE RIBS IN THE COUNTRY OR COUNTY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Steel Horse Grill - CLOSED

Steel Horse Grill
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Currently closed. Open May through October.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE BEST BARBACUE RIBS IN THE COUNTRY OR COUNTY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

You must first start with the pepper poppers; sorry one order is not enough. If you try the Rib Eye hamburger it’s large enough to feed a small family, so delicious! Did, I mention the home cooked Barbecue Ribs that melt in your mouth with a side order of homemade beans. If you like hospitality, great food and a family who obviously takes pride in their business this is a great place to stop for lunch or dinner. I also notice a great view of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains from the porch area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DorseyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great food, great service, great atmosphere! Ribs were fall off the bone delicious! Definitely worth a stop if you are ever in Villa Grove, CO!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burger of the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place was great, Several of us ate the 1/2 pound rib eye burger and we all liked it. Our group had been riding tough trails all day when we made it to Villa Grove. They were the only place open and what a lucky find the rib eye burger was the best burger I had all trip. We showed up with 10 people with no notice and they were great at handling our group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diehlpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Middle of Nowhere Suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised that in the middle of nowhere was a small eating establishment that was so good! It did concern us that we were the only customers there but it was middle of the afternoon. Both my husband and I ordered the rib eye burger which was 1/2 pound, topped with mushrooms and caramelized onions and cheese. We did order the burger w/o the bun and so glad we did...if the bun would have been included we would have been way over stuffed. The owners are just starting out in the business. They were very friendly and service was great. If you get a chance stop by and see for yourself how good the food is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aloha65stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great ribs and BBQ beans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We walked in just as the ribs were ready and they were really ready! Meat fell off the bone. Big and juicy. Yum! And the BBQ beans, "Ami's Beans", are fantastic.
Family owned and operated, these folks know how to cook. Inexpensive and delicious.
Check it out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martinjolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steel Horse Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing