We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Vantage Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vantage Point
Ranked #26 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Wills Point, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews but were pleasantly surprised that everything was good. Clean and ample room. Close to everything you need except a grocery store. Take a city bus to Safeway early in your stay. We were in rm 211.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huddy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    13
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

As you can see from other reviews, the location of VP is great. Very close to gondola in Lionhead Village. We've had units from renovated to in need of renovation, but we never have had a "dirty unit". We've been back to VP for over 4 years and are very happy with the accommodations and VP's value for it's excellent location.

The people that have complained about VP should try to fine a different unit, but won't cause this location at different condominium unit will add a couple thousand $$ in lodging for a week visit.

Room Tip: I don't use public hot tubs, but my crew love the two public hit tubs at VP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenjiprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a group of 6 girls for MLK weekend (unit 502) and the hot water only lasted for one shower. They kept telling us it was fixed every day, and it kept getting cold after only one shower. A hot shower is necessary after skiing, and this was not pleasant. They clearly need new hot water heaters.

Otherwise, the location is great (and view) but the condo could use some updating. The twin bunk bed was unsleepable (very old) and the trundle bed didn't pull out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoCourtney, Director of Sales at Vantage Point, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Although this particular vacation condo is not part of our Destination Resorts Vail collection, we wanted to thank you for making note of Vantage Point's great location and we are sorry to hear you were not able to have warm showers after your days of skiing. Each condominium at the Vantage Point is individually owned and should you consider returning to Vantage Point, we invite you to visit the Destination Resorts Vail website where you can view each individual unit's photos and description.

Warm Regards,
Aubrey Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vail hotels

Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

If you want any modern conveniences this in not the hotel for your trip to vail. To begin with the hot water heater didn’t have enough hot water for a single 10 minute shower. The description states the condo has flat screen TV’s, I guess this is not a total misrepresentation, the unit did have one 20” TV in the living room however no TV in the bedrooms. The furniture, appliances, and décor are still very 1970, this in addition to the door still being opened with a key and having no dead bolt. The microwave didn’t work, the bedroom and bathroom doors didn’t close all the way, and the bathroom fan vibrated so badly it shook the kitchen cabinets. The sheets on the beds were clean however the duvet and pillow shams were dirty and had a musty dirty odor. We paid over $300 for two nights, it was a total waist of money. The description of this condo is seriously misleading; don’t make the same mistake we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoCourtney, General Manager at Vantage Point, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Destination Resorts Vail prides itself on providing comfortable, well-maintained condominium accommodations. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment during your recent stay at the Vantage Point Condominiums and will work very hard to correct the problems that you experienced. We offer a wide variety of rental condominiums from value to deluxe and want to fulfill the expectations of all of our guests. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to do a better job for you at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here on a recent ski trip - it is an ideal location for skiing, just 10min walk from the first lift (with ski boots on) and the view from our condo was spectacular, looking directly onto the mountains.
We were a party of 4 adults and our unit ( no314) was big enough for 4 with two bathrooms and a nice size lounge. The kitchen area was adequate. Only complaint was that the bed in the second bedroom could only just be called a double , and was much smaller than the kingsize bed in the other room. Also, the bed had rubber-backed mattress protector on it which gets far too hot and uncomfortable in the night and lets down the quality of the place.
The condo was quite hard to find - we arrived in the dark and drove around the block several times before we found it and then couldn't find where to check-in which turned out to be the hotel next door but there was no signage for this. Anyway we soon forgot this inconvenience as we had such a lovely stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a condo with a view of the mountains, otherwise you will be facing the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoCourtney, Manager at Vantage Point, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
My staff and I at Destination Resorts Vail are delighted that you enjoyed your recent ski vacation in Vail. I will look into how we can provide clearer directions to our Vantage Point rental condominiums and how we can make that second bed with the mattress protector more comfortable. Thank you for letting us know and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

On the positive side, the condo we rented was nicely appointed inside with granite counters, etc.

On the negative side, the entry to the place is weird. The shuttle driver from the eagle vail airport couldn't find the entrance because it's in an undergound parking garage. In fact it's so poorly signed that we couldn't find our condo. There are two elevators to different towers, and we had to search both to find our unit.

The outside reminds me of student housing at UCSB or USC. In fact the sound of traffic from I-70 reminds me of the sound of LA traffic at USC last week.

Maybe if snow on the mountain had been better, I would be more magnanimous in my review, but it wasn't.

Room Tip: The management does not let you select a unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Unit 216 through VRBO, more info on Black Diamond Rentals. Cheap early season rate, and they helped us out a bit with the cleaning fee. Rental manager Anna was good with communication.

I went with a group of 8 friends to go snowboarding in December 2011. Vantage Point is an older building, but this unit was newly remodeled. Stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, two 40" flat screen tv's, cable box (cable remote didn't work), a queen bed, and 2 set of bunk beds. The sofa pulled out to be a bed too, but it was uncomfortable so they slept on it as a regular couch. There's also 2 leather recliner chairs.

There's a big dining table, but only 6 chairs to eat at it. The balcony was big with a gas grill and looked out onto the mountain ski lifts! There's no heating system/AC in the unit (which is weird for a cold climate city), but they gave us 2 space heaters and we kept the gas fireplace on most of the time. 2 full bathrooms, shower water was sorta hot, just have to wait between people to go. Lots of towels provided by them.

Location was pretty close to the Lionshead Village and Gondola, though one of the further ones. Just a set of stairs that you have to go down from the building's parking garage. Getting into the parking garage was a bit hard to find, it's the VERY first opening on your right when you turn into the village, looks like a small street, that goes directly into the garage.

All in all, great price, great location, and new modern feel to it. Unit 216 for the win! =) I have photo's that I'll upload soon!

Room Tip: Location is important when you're carrying around your snowboards/skis. It gets heavy after a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#18 of 30 in Vail
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vail 21
Vail 21
#28 of 41 in Vail
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westwind at Vail
Westwind at Vail
#9 of 41 in Vail
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Landmark Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Antlers at Vail
Antlers at Vail
#1 of 41 in Vail
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Lionshead
Lodge at Lionshead
#2 of 41 in Vail
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vantage Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vantage Point

Property: Vantage Point
Address: 508 E Lionshead Cir, Lionshead Village, Vail, CO 81657-5209
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vantage Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover why spacious and affordable Vail, Colorado condo rentals, breathtaking mountain views, limitless recreation opportunities both on and off the slopes, a convenient location to world-class skiing and riding, shopping and dining, are the perfect ingredients to an incredible family ski vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vantage Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vantage Point Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing