We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Vail Village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vail Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vail Mountain Lodge
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Vail Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Vail Mountain Lodge and Spa is a beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Vail Village. The rooms are nicely appointed and have gorgeous bathrooms with soaking tubs, a separate walk-in glass shower and heated floors. Every room has a fireplace, mini fridge and coffee maker. The beds are extremely comfortable with pillow top mattresses, down comforters and feather pillows. The Vail Athletic Club is housed in the same building, and guests have membership privileges during their stay. In addition to excellent work-out equipment, each of the locker rooms has a steam room, sauna, whirlpool and rain showers. There are also two mountainside hot tubs with a spectacular view of Vail mountain. Terra Bistro, a world class restaurant, (and our favorite restaurant in Vail), is on the premises as well. Their menu is amazing! The staff at the lodge is friendly and helpful, and offer excellent customer service. Breakfast is also included in your room rate. We have stayed here six times in the past three years, and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are similarly appointed. The only difference is some have one king size bed while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiMom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    56
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
75
104
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were just passing through Vail and decided to stop for lunch - this lead to us staying for two days - we ended up at the Vail Mountain Lodge - our room had a fireplace and a soaking tub - what more could you ask for - our room also included a breakfast buffet each morning - the bed was like sleeping in a cloud - it had the down comforter and pillows and a pillow top mattress - I was in heaven - the hotel was a 5 minute walk to downtown Vail Village - excellent location and the staff was great - would definitely return...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripGal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a great boutique hotel! We WANT to stay here again for sure!

The hotel sits at the edge of Vail Village and is walking distance to everything. Everything was great about this property - we have no negatives! Great customer service and staff, great food and daily breakfast (included!), spa, jacuzzi, and most importantly, ROOMS!

Our room was so comfortable and I especially loved having a flip of the switch fireplace in it! I must have spent hours relaxing on the lounger in front of it while watching the snow fall. We slept SO GOOD every night and felt refreshed in the morning. The bed was nice and fluffy with the best feeling linens. The bathroom had a heated stone floor with a glass shower and nice bathtub.

The spa and wellness/fitness center were both great and offered a wide variety of classes. We even had a chance to check out the Yoga for Snowsports class! The spa was relaxing and the jacuzzi area sat over the stream for a little added ambiance.

The restaurant is one of the best fine dining experiences in Vail and we could see why. They had a great selection of wine and everything we ordered was delicious! Sean, the restaurant's bartender, made the experience even better. What a great ambassador of the property and area!

Chris, working the night shift at the front desk is the epitome of customer service! We strolled in around 2:00 am one night, starving so he ordered us a pizza! Talk about above and beyond!

We will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Every room is probably great!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJandAdice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Vail Mountain Lodge. . .I especially appreciate your taking the time to recognize Sean and Chris and the impact they had on your time with us. . .while there are many beautiful lodging properties here in Vail, our guest input that our STAFF makes the difference is the most important thing to us. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in 3 hotels on this vacation, and each one got progressively nicer - this was the 3rd. What a cool place! Convenient to get to, right at the entrance with the parking lot across the street. We did not have a room with a "view", but still liked to see the mountain on the other side of the road. No road noise. I will say, however, that the fan that runs the airflow (no air conditioning) was pretty loud at night. The place was very clean and had a nice feel. Our 2 queen room had a little fridge and the Keurig, which was nice. Big fancy bathroom with tub and shower. A previous review talked about the "little" gym. What? It was gigantic! My teenage son couldn't stop talking about all the machines, free weights, climbing wall, etc. So he dragged us down to see it - if you can't find your favorite gym equipment here, it doesn't exist! Kettle bells, stability balls, ballet barre, and that is beside the spin class room, yoga studio, and so much more. The lodge is a block from a covered bridge that takes you to the east section of Vail Village. Cute shops and eats, and you can get the bus in front of the hotel to take you to golf, other parts of Vail, etc. This was our first trip to Vail, and we liked it and the VML. Included breakfast and off=season pricing was the icing on the cake for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okietravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your observations about your visit to the Vail Mountain Lodge! And thanks for reporting the circulation fan noise. . .we'll research which room you were in, and make sure that it's worked on before our next guest visit!!!

Our Vitality Center with its fitness center, the Vail Athletic Club, is one of our most exciting amenities, and we're delighted that you had the opportunity to use and enjoy it! Hopefully when you visit again, you'll have the opportunity to appreciate one of the 40+ classes we offer weekly!

Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We're experienced European skiers, but this was our first time in Vail, and we landed on our feet. Mount Vail is a short walk from the Golden Peak lift, which gave us a very easy start every morning, particularly since we could store our skis at Vail Sports. We had a beautiful, spacious condo with lovely views and a fireplace. We were expecting to eat out, but changed our minds when we realised we could settle in with home cooked food or good room service and a borrowed DVD. Thank you to the hotel driver who ferried us to Safeway, free of charge! We enjoyed the hot tub and pool, and our eldest son made use of the small gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMcK288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to relate your experience in Vail and at the Vail Mountain Lodge! I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your needs and host a relaxing visit for you and your family.

The next time your travel plans include the Vail area, please don't hesitate to call upon us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We made a reservation through booking.com. A couple of says before we received an email from booking informing that the reservation was cancelled, immediately we called the hotel and they solved this inconvenience, as it seems that the hotel was overbooked, they gave us an upgrade from 2 separate bedroom to a Condominium (3 bedroom apartment). Incredible creek view!
Service and attention was incredible. I bought some stuff through the web and packages were already at the condo when we arrived. Spa was amazing! If you have a chance to visit Vail, try to stay here!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floppy_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience here at the Vail Mountain Lodge. . .I apologize for the confusion surrounding your cancelled reservation, but we are delighted that we could upgrade you to a more luxurious accommodation. . .we strive to "DELIGHT" each and every guest, and it's gratifying that we met our goal in your case.

Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a week in Vail, and VML made it far more than just a ski vacation -- my mind, body and spirit are totally renewed! Location is ideal - not right in the middle of all the tourists, but within a 3-minute walk of Vail Village and right on the bus line to get to whatever lift is your favorite to start the day. Massages at the start and end of the trip in the Spa got my body and mind ready for the slopes, and soothed perfectly after a few days on the mountain (thanks, Tom!!) -- apres-ski soaks in the hot tubs helped to keep my muscles in good shape between spa visits. A yoga class at the Vitality Center helped get my mind off of work and focused instead on the serenity of the surrounding mountains. The staff was genuinely kind, attentive and thought of every detail. And the food and drinks at Terra Bistro cannot be beat. There's so much to do in Vail that we were hardly in the room, but the on-demand fireplace, soft feather-bed and heated bathroom floor made the Lodge far from a "rustic" experience. I can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGrrrrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experiences here at the Vail Mountain Lodge. Our goal is to provide "peak" vacation experiences for our guests, and we appreciate knowing when we've achieved that goal.

The next time your travel plans include Vail, we hope you'll be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#4 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.9 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Mountain Lodge

Property: Vail Mountain Lodge
Address: 352 E. Meadow Drive, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#10 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail's most unique property is nestled along Gore Creek in the heart of Vail Village, walking distance from ski lifts, shopping, and dining. With 20 hotel rooms and 7 two and three bedroom condos, the hotel offers B&B intimacy and service as well as first rate amenities including the Vitality Center, featuring a full service spa, access to health club which includes classes and health & medical practitioners. Terra Bistro, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner has been a Vail favorite for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Vail Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Vail Mountain Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing