We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vail on a budget”
Review of Tivoli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Lodge
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

our boys love to snowboard and we live in north carolina. we wanted to give them the trip of a lifetime and knew vail was the place, but we had to do it on a budget. we spent forever researching and comparing before finally settling on tivoli lodge and they exceeded our hopes and dreams in every way. the location is PERFECT just a short walk to the new gondola and shops and restaurants. the price was a fraction of anything close to comparable. the people were all the kindest and friendliest we have ever met. we are people who love coming home, that's actually what we help people do for a living and tivoli feels like a warm and happy home with hot cocoa and warm chocolate chip cookies waiting for you, and a sweet dog to curl up with by the fire.

the rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave and bar sink, so it was easy to make our own breakfast and lunch every day saving us TONS. the free starbucks coffee in the lobby every morning is delicious and served in real mugs. the hotel breakfast looked wonderful if you have the moolah for such things. it was fairly reasonably priced too. they were quick to recommend really great and affordable restaurants for dinner. pazzo's pizza in particular was just about the best pizza we ever did eat.

our best moment in vail was FREE! and we would have missed it had the people at tivoli not told us that the gondola in lionshead is free after 2pm. so on the day that we didn't ski, we took the gondola up and watched the sunset over the mountain. we sat by a huge bonfire until it got dark and rode the gondola down to the twinkling lights of the town below for dinner at garfinkles which is cheap and fun and delicious. it was the trip of a lifetime for us!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Tivoli is a world-class resort hotel. The property's design reflects the owner's decades of mountain hospitality experience. This place is perfect in every detail from easy access to daily ski storage. to lobby functionality and warmth. to guest-room layout and quality materials. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff is both friendly and competent. You have the feeling you are a family member and are treated at every turn with respect and genuine concern for your Vail experience. You'll love meeting Speed, Tivoli's chocolate lab.

We can't wait to return to the Tivoli.

Room Tip: Our room was on the mountain side with great views and solitude. The property is so well built, tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. I am a first time skier and my husband is an advanced snow boarder. Even if you dont ski, the hotel has a great atmosphere to cozy into as well as Vail Village, can walk to everything. We loved the hot tubs, can practically ski down and jump into them after. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephaniedipietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed there for a couple of nights in July. It was a good choice. It is a great value in the off season for the quality of lodgings, the atmosphere and the excellent service. To me, it has a very much a family run luxury Swiss lodge feeling to it, which is not something to find easily in a US ski town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ania626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Tivoli is a superb hotel/lodge. The rooms are super quite because the place has solid concrete walls and very heavy doors. The heating system runs in the floors, the hot water is always super hot and above all the rooms are clean. The breakfast in the morning is excellent and is exactly what you need to kick off a day of hard skiing. It is very close to the Golden Peak lift, a five to ten minute walk. At the end of the day, snow permitting, you can actually ski up to the back door of the lodge take off your skis and boots and give them to the ski concierge who will store them for use the next day. The boots will be placed on air dryers which do not harm the boots in any way. Boots and skis are not allowed in the rooms. The staff, including the owner and managers are all very friendly and helpful. My wife and I have been saying at the Tivoli ever sense it opened. We stayed at the old Tivoli for several ski seasons before it was demolished and replace with the present magnificent structure. A nice amenity is the washer and dryer in the basement. Easy to access, always available and allows us to take fewer clothes on the trip since we can wash and reuse. We never rent a car because the Vail Village buss stop is less than 30 yards from the Tivoli's front door. Walking to the number 1 Gondola takes about 5 to 10 minutes even wearing ski boots and lugging you skis. The Tivoli's location is perfect for accessing multiple fantastic restaurants. We are looking forward to next season at the Tivoli. And, no we aren't employees or owners of the Tivoli, just a couple who loves to ski.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Tivoli has managed to create an idyllic Lodge experience - almost as if someone asked me to describe a ski lodge experience and then they replicated it. The lobby is warm and inviting, the staff is as helpful and friendly as any I have encountered, the rooms are comfortable and charming, and the proximity to the village and the lifts is ideal. I can't imagine how they could have improved on my experience and when I return to Vail, I don't have reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Written by my husband -

I don’t use Facebook or Twitter and have never felt the need to post Trip Advisor - until now. But our recent stay at Tivoli Lodge in Vail has finally compelled me to put finger to key board. It is rare that a place gets everything right but this family owned and run lodge does just that. It is centrally located within the Village and is almost ski-in/ski-out.
We stayed in a Mountain View room which was spacious, well appointed, came with great towels, robes, quality toiletries and have fabulous views.
The staff welcome you warmly and continue to treat you with a wonderful mix of professionalism, local knowledge, great service and warmth throughout your stay.
Bob (founder and owner) introduces himself to newcomers each morning at breakfast and makes everybody feel at home. He is closely followed by Speed (his very gentle chocolate Labrador who is the real owner of the place) until he is tempted away by the offer or bacon or waffle from a guest.
If you have a perfect home yourself, then Tivoli Lodge is your home away from home and will provide the foundation for a great skiing holiday.

Room Tip: Prefernce for Mounatin View to look onto the ski fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblezz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 31 in Vail
684 reviews
1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#7 of 31 in Vail
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lodge

Address: 386 Hanson Ranch Road, Vail, CO 81657-4527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vail
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#5 Business Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $224 - $1,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tivoli Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Vail Village is the recently rebuilt, family-owned Tivoli Lodge, a luxury ski resort known for years for providing friendly, caring, personal service. The new European-style architecture blends perfectly into the surrounding natural environment, with unobstructed views of Vail's Golden Peak ski area and within steps of the Vista Bahn ski lift. The luxurious and spacious lobby offers stunning mountain views. The Tivoli Lode provides an intimate and unique setting to host a meeting or corporate retreat in Vail, Colorado. Our location, amenities and friendly staff create an environment that is perfect for groups up to 20 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tivoli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing