We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Condo”
Review of Sun Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Vail
Ranked #4 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“First Class Condo”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Everything you need and more. No detail missed. Made our ski trip hassle free.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOFORIT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    41
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
118
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Califon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The condo we stayed in at Sun Vail was great. Rooms were good size, nice view of the mountain, and the added benefit of being able to store your skis and boots at Vail Ski Tech was GREAT! I was a little taken aback when I realized that the condo was on the other side of Rt 70 however with the pedestrian bridge right there it was truly a 5 min walk into LIonshead. I will be back with the family next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zerot4ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Stayed over the Christmas break with teens; a great base while in Vail. They provide a ski locker near the gondola. The condo was updated, with in room laundry a big plus. The staff is helpful and very available. Will go back again (and again).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aftoncrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC area
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Our ski group of 4 to 6 people has been staying at Sun Vail for many years. You can't beat it for convenience. It takes just a few minutes to walk to the ski and boot storage place in Lion's Head and then it's just a short walk to the lifts. And the technicians at the ski shop and storage facility are the best in town. The condos are very well outfitted and comfortable and the staff is very accommodating. Also, the outdoor hot tubs and pool are well maintained and always at the proper temperature.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnLineBargainHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Sun Vail LOOKS nice on the web. However, it's what they don't tell you that makes this a place to avoid at all costs. We booked sight unseen except for the web site pictures. We were give a discount by the property managers, Vail Resort Rentals, because we booked an 8 night stay. We told them our biggest 'wants' were close to the slopes (they claimed 500 yards), clean rooms (they were, but see below on maid service) and amenities like a hot tub (whcih they have).

It was what they did not tell us that mattered most. First off, it is more like a quarter mile, half uphill, to the slopes. You have to slog through the parking lot and over the pedestrian bridge over I70 (more on that in a bit) to a construction site, then down to Lionshead. Try dragging a bunch of little ones uphill and over that every day! It is no where near 'an easy walk to the slopes'. Second was the 'maid service'. You are supposed to get one free complete service for a week stay. Our maid came less than 24 hours after we arrived! We told her we just needed s few extra towels (she kept interpreting that as "In an hour yes?") and asked her to come back in two days at the middle of our stay. So instead she came back twice that day, repeating the same scenario. We never received the towels, and by day five we had to run to the store to buy toilet paper, and wash all the towels in the place! Add to that the garbage disposal that backed up every day, the fire place that didn't work, and the maintenance staff that leaves at 4:59 every day, and it's a mess. We fixed the disposal nightly, and after three phone calls, the "management service" (a joke) finally sent someone. The fireplace took all of 10 minutes to repair (why it took forever to get someone there is beyond us), they never looked at the disposal (which we kept fixing) and then the managment service left a nasty message on our cell voice mail saying they knew nothing about the issues! Maybe they should check their voicemail once in ahwile??!!

We finallly did get the maid service on day 6; the front office claimed a 'communication error' (maybe they should send someone who speaks at least a bit of English?), but by then we had hand vacuumed the whole living area, washed the towels again, and wiped all the counters. And did we mention the dogs of the residents that roam around and show up on your patio barking in the dark? A little unsettling. Or the cigarette butts the workers leave on the patio? Lovely.

As for the hot tub, if you put in ear plugs, they are great. However, you could hit I70 with a snowball from them, so get used to trucks and cars going by day and night. Do not open the windows of your rooom! You get that nice chains-on-pavement whump whump whump all night! What they fail to tell you is that the whole complex sits 100 feet off the highway! It's basically an over priced rest stop for I70.

Overall, what you see online makes you think you found a value versus staying in the Villages themselves. It is fool's gold. When we come back to Vail, we will spend the extra money to stay in the Villages, not at the poorly managed truck stop off I70 that is Sun Vail!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpsfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vailite, General Manager at Sun Vail, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
It is not Sun Vail’s normal policy to respond to guest reviews on Trip Advisor. We were able to verify that this guest stayed at Sun Vail because of Vacation Rental by Owner, not Vail Resort Rentals Inc, and their information which comes from the Sun Vail onsite office. We are not responsible for information a guest may receive in advance by individual owners trying to rent on their own, nor their total guest experience after they arrive if they do not rent through our office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Vail is an awesome village and the condos are close enough to be accessible to the fun and yet affordable. Rooms and furnishings were very nice. Great view.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royfromgrapevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2010

SunVail is our favorite Mountain Escape. We live in Denver and have the opportunity to ski multiple times throughout the ski season. Whenever we are in Vail, we ALWAYS book our stay at SunVail. Our kids love the heated pool, the bunk beds in the bedrooms and the SHORT walk across the bridge to the lifts. My husband and I love the hot tubs, the large condos with all the amenities of home and the ski storage area close to the lifts. You can't go wrong with SunVail.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoski33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Vail

Property: Sun Vail
Address: 635 N Frontage Rd W Unit 1, Vail, CO 81657-4589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Vail condominiums are located three blocks from the gondola and chair 8 in the Lionshead section of Vail Village. Walk to private ski and boot storage at the base of the mountain. Year round pool outdoors with hot tubs and sauna. Affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Vacatia, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing