We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Will definitely return!”
Review of Sun Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Vail
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel! Will definitely return!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in February 2014 and really enjoyed it! The apartments are fantastic. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. My wife and I noticed it was the little touches that really added to the stay. The kitchen had serving dishes and table decorations in case you wanted to host some friends. The patio is great and the view is the best around. The fireplace was really nice and the bed was mega comfy. The only complaint is the location is slightly off the beaten path. The bridge is convenient and walking into Lionshead is easy, but does take about 15 minutes. Sometimes after a day on the mountain I kind of dreaded that walk. But, for the apartment, it is a great value considering a hotel in Lionshead can cost 2x as much. Overall we'll definitely stay here again. The apartment was amazing and the staff was extremely friendly, so the walk to town is a small price to pay for such a great place and such amazing views of the mountain.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JandL_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    41
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
118
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sun Vail for 5 days in early February. The condo was fantastic! It was tastefully decorated with a lodge-type feel, but not crappy, tacky lodge. The kitchen was very nice and had a lot of dishes and pots & pans. While there was salt and pepper, we would have appreciated some cooking spray and/or oil. The shower in the master bath let out a lot of water from the faucet when you tried to shower, so we actually just used the other shower the whole time. This worked for us as the other shower was super nice. We did inform management about this problem. We found the master bed very hard, but after the initial surprise, it never bothered us for sleeping. We turned on the gas fireplace every evening and loved the stone surround. The hot tubs, pool, and sauna were put to use every day after skiing and you can't beat the short walk across the bridge to ski each morning. We highly recommend Sun Vail. This is the second year in a row my brother and his friends have stayed there. We're planning to make it our place of choice as well and will be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a few days & booked a condo in block A - not disappointed. Easy walking distance to lionshead, spacious if not eclectic apartment with heaps of space, 2 bathrooms & wonderful kitchen. Bath was the only disappointment - it didnt fill more than 4 fingers deep. Wifi in the building & ski locker in lionshead was huge plus. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DellA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

For our family ski trip to Vail, we spent a wonderful week staying in affordable comfort at the Sun Vail Condos. It was just a short 5 - 10 minute walk over the pedestrian bridge over the I-70 freeway. We carried our boots back & forth and made use of the ski lockers in the Village, which worked just great. The hot tubs felt great at the end of the ski day, but were sometimes monopolized by some guests, which can happen anywhere. Our family will definitely consider another stay at Sun Vail Condominiums!

Room Tip: Building A is closet to the Pedestrian Bridge, then B, C, D & F.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My sons and I spent a week at Sun Vail and it was ideal in every way. It was convenient to Lions Head Lift (it took us just 5 minutes to walk over the pedestrian bridge). The condo was very clean, amply stocked with everything we needed, and very quiet. Oh, and did I mention the heated bathroom floors (gotta get some of those at home!). The staff was very cordial and helpful. Absolutely no reason not to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My friends and myself have been staying at Sun Vail for the past 2 years and we have enjoyed the stay both times. With the quick walk to lions head village and the ski locker at the base of the mountain it is great for getting on and off the mountain. The pool and jacuzzi area always feels good after being on the slopes all day , and the room were both clean and very roomy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78Jason78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We loved staying at this great condo, just over the pedestrian bridge from Lionshead (1/4 mile walk). We liked having the balance of convenience plus getting away from the hustle bustle of the village. It was luxurious and cozy and had fantastic views of the mountain. The units were very well appointed and the management was extremely helpful. We just booked another trip at Sun Vail today!

Room Tip: Ask if you need any special requirements, such as sleeping setup in the 2nd bedroom. We did and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Vail

Property: Sun Vail
Address: 635 N Frontage Rd W Unit 1, Vail, CO 81657-4589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Vail condominiums are located three blocks from the gondola and chair 8 in the Lionshead section of Vail Village. Walk to private ski and boot storage at the base of the mountain. Year round pool outdoors with hot tubs and sauna. Affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Sun Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing