We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We come back every year due to the awesomeness”
Review of Sun Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Vail
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Sun Vail is perfect for a group trip to Summit County. The staff is great, and so is the unit. The rooms have plenty of space and the kitchen is fully equipped for full meal prep. You are about a five minute walk from Lionshead Village (or there's a free shuttle if you prefer) and a short drive down the frontage road to groceries. We also got free access to a locker in the village so we didn't have to drag skis back and forth. The place is perfect for relaxing after skiing with an outdoor pool, hot tubs, and a sauna. Plus there is no additional parking charge-a rarity in Vail so close to the mountain. The value is well worth staying across I-70 from the mountain and we'll keep coming back as long as we go to Vail!

Room Tip: Ground level units have open patios and higher units have decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place was great. Facilities were well kept and only minutes walk to the Lionshead Gondola. Prices were very reasonable considering the proximity to the lifts. Nice outdoor heated pool and hottub. The condo's were updated seeming brand new. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1248Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Sun Vail is easily the best location for the price in Vail. We usually go for the pre holiday rates (mid December) to get the best snow for the price. Easy walking distance from the gondola and Born free lifts. The pool are is excellent and has a beautiful view day or night. The proximity to the highway really does not bother me because the condos are so easy to get to from the highway with grocery and other stores right down the street. Vail village is still only walking distance. Extra public parking is available on that side of the highway and the Sun Vail staff is helpful and easy going. The room we say in is great, clean, fireplace, plenty of room and well kept/updated. All these thing keep us coming back for three years in a row now!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wail_dont_hesitate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family stayed in unit 24A, a 3 bedroom unit, at Sun Vail for our first ski trip to Vail. The unit had good size bedrooms and living area for the 5 adults and 2 children that made the trip. The best feature of the place was the location. While being on the opposite side of the interstate is not the most ideal location, there was a pedestrian bridge 100 ft out of the unit that dumps you right in the heart of Lionshead Village. An update of the decor and finishing would make this a 5 star value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sun Vail was just what we needed for our 2 week family vacation. The onsite manager was super nice! The location right over the ped. bridge to Lionshead--it was so fun to bike over with our 2 kids. The noise from I-70 was loud, but it was summer so we had our windows open a lot. The condo was very updated and modern and the kitchen had everything we needed. We are coming back over the holidays. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lake1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our family loved every minute of our vacation. Will definitely go back. Condo was nice and clean and furnishings were comfortable. We loved the pool and hot tub. Location was excellent, too. I have no idea of this person named Dale mentioned in one of the reviews, but we found the staff to be quite customer oriented and they gained our trust with all of the help they offered.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Compared to other option in Vail, especially those across the interstate, this location is arguably the best on the North Frontage road. With easy access to the footbridge, you'rte pretty much in the middle of Lions head.

There is a lack of elevators, so after a long ski day or possible injury, getting in and out of your rental may be problematic.

Since these are individually owned condos, which condo you're going to get (without requesting one) is a crap shoot. Our recent stay (13C) was very 1970's Lodge-ish. Dark, smelled like dogs, and Shag carpet. The Bathrooms have yet to be upgraded, but the kitchen was perfect. The same trip, but two buildings over, our friends had a place on a 3rd place and that apartment was completely remodeled in an Asian Fusion type of motif. There's was cool, but ours was cozy. Nonetheless, a GREAT Value for Vail.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.1 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#19 of 30 in Vail
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Vail

Address: 635 N Frontage Rd W Unit 1, Vail, CO 81657-4589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range: $290 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Vail condominiums are located three blocks from the gondola and chair 8 in the Lionshead section of Vail Village. Walk to private ski and boot storage at the base of the mountain. Year round pool outdoors with hot tubs and sauna. Affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing