We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location makes this a great deal”
Review of Sun Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Vail
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Yes, you're on the "other side" of the freeway. But all that separates you from the base of Lionshead is a pedestrian bridge over that freeway. And you'll literally be saving hundreds of dollars each night. They'll even store your rental skis at the base of Lionshead for you with a shop where they've arranged a deal. The condos are clean, roomy, and stocked with the expected amenities. Save your money for more fun things like dining out in Vail and skiing. Stay here. The hot tub is a beer festival waiting to happen.

Room Tip: We stayed in 12C - main floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolftoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Sun Vail
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 208 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sun Vail is a fantastic place to stay with a group or families heading to Vail! The units are spacious and perfect for cooking in or walking across the street to the village for restaurants, shops and bars. There is no need for a car here as the gondola is right across the street, and two hot tubs are great for after a long day of skiing. Definitely our go to place for lodging.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

4 of us rented a 3 bedroom 2 bath unit on the main floor. It was an excellent unit with large screen TV, a well stocked kitchen and internet service. Plenty of parking for our rental car but we took the short walk across the pedestrian bridge to Lionshead each morning. The unit also had a working fireplace that was great at night. After skiing we spent time in the hot tub, pool area and it was great. We are going back this year (2013) and looking forward to another great trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iceman4507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Sun Vail offers a great product at a great price. The condos are walking distance to Lionshead using the slick bridge that was built over the highway. They also provide free ski check in the Lionshead village. The pool and hot tub are top notch and the unit was kept in very good condition.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We love this place. We would recomend it to anyone thinking of going to Vail for skying. The staff is very friendly and you cannot beat the location. Our apt number was 31 E in 2012. We have been staying here for over 5 years.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

For the past seven years we have stayed at Sun Vail Condominiums in two bedroom condominiums, enjoying Spring skiing. My wife and our two sons love the location across from Lionshead and a quick walk on the pedestrian bridge. The condos are each unique and well appointed, and each has a fireplace and a great view looking at the ski slopes. It is a good value. A definite thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank VoyagerOnEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The man who runs this place could not be more of jerk to the guests if he tried! He treated me and my friends like complete crap and i would not recommend this place to anyone. The place is old, unkept, and not like advertised. BEWARE!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,273 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.0 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Vail

Address: 635 N Frontage Rd W Unit 1, Vail, CO 81657-4589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range: $273 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Vail condominiums are located three blocks from the gondola and chair 8 in the Lionshead section of Vail Village. Walk to private ski and boot storage at the base of the mountain. Year round pool outdoors with hot tubs and sauna. Affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Sun Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing