We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a ski trip!”
Review of Sun Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Vail
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sun Vail is a fantastic place to stay with a group or families heading to Vail! The units are spacious and perfect for cooking in or walking across the street to the village for restaurants, shops and bars. There is no need for a car here as the gondola is right across the street, and two hot tubs are great for after a long day of skiing. Definitely our go to place for lodging.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 214 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

4 of us rented a 3 bedroom 2 bath unit on the main floor. It was an excellent unit with large screen TV, a well stocked kitchen and internet service. Plenty of parking for our rental car but we took the short walk across the pedestrian bridge to Lionshead each morning. The unit also had a working fireplace that was great at night. After skiing we spent time in the hot tub, pool area and it was great. We are going back this year (2013) and looking forward to another great trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iceman4507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Sun Vail offers a great product at a great price. The condos are walking distance to Lionshead using the slick bridge that was built over the highway. They also provide free ski check in the Lionshead village. The pool and hot tub are top notch and the unit was kept in very good condition.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We love this place. We would recomend it to anyone thinking of going to Vail for skying. The staff is very friendly and you cannot beat the location. Our apt number was 31 E in 2012. We have been staying here for over 5 years.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

For the past seven years we have stayed at Sun Vail Condominiums in two bedroom condominiums, enjoying Spring skiing. My wife and our two sons love the location across from Lionshead and a quick walk on the pedestrian bridge. The condos are each unique and well appointed, and each has a fireplace and a great view looking at the ski slopes. It is a good value. A definite thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank VoyagerOnEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The man who runs this place could not be more of jerk to the guests if he tried! He treated me and my friends like complete crap and i would not recommend this place to anyone. The place is old, unkept, and not like advertised. BEWARE!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first time staying at sun vail. and i can tell you we will be back year after year for sure. we also own a time share condo, so we always look for condos when we vacation. very ideal for us, having 2 kids and we usually have their friends with us as well. always nice having lots of room! it's always a gamble going to a condo that you've never been to before. you hope it's as nice as it seems... and sun vail was seriously much nicer than we expected. a very nice condo. very clean. all the amenities that you would want/need for a week's stay. washer/dryer in room, full kitchen, large rooms, modern/clean appliances, etc... being right across the street from the slopes was awesome too. the walk to the slopes was maybe 7 minutes. free ski locker storage was nice. although for the 4 of us, only 2 could use the locker... not enough room for 4 snowboards! overall, this is by far a 5 star review. everything about this place was awesome. i would buy one of these condos if i had the opportunity. that's how great it was. parking was easy, close to anywhere you want to be in vail anyway. gas station and market right down the street. excellent views. large firewood supply and having the wood-burning fireplace was nice too! i can't say enough about this place. we look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: i don't think there is a "bad" room here... doesn't really matter which building y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.1 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#18 of 30 in Vail
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Vail

Address: 635 N Frontage Rd W Unit 1, Vail, CO 81657-4589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range: $291 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Vail condominiums are located three blocks from the gondola and chair 8 in the Lionshead section of Vail Village. Walk to private ski and boot storage at the base of the mountain. Year round pool outdoors with hot tubs and sauna. Affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing