We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Lionshead”
Review of Sun Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Vail
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here on a recent snowboarding trip to Vail.

The first thing to note is that the Condos are on the north side of the I-70, so are a 10 minute walk from the Lionshead Gondola using a footbridge across the highway. To their credit, the owners / operators do not try to hide this fact. To lessen any impact of the walk however, there are storage facilities provided at one of the local ski shops near the Gondola, so, there’s no need to walk back and forth in ski/snowboard boots and carrying all your gear - it can all be left behind at the end of the day and picked up again in the morning (if your storage is in a locker and you’re unfamiliar with combination locks, get help from the shop staff – there’s a definite procedure required!) The same shop also provides discounted tuning and (we understand) discounted gear rental to residents of Sun Vail.

The condos are spread across 4 or 5 different buildings. We stayed in condo 33E which is a one bedroom apartment on the top floor (3 floors) of the building furthest west. It comprises a spacious living area with open plan kitchen, mountain view balcony, large bedroom (king size bed), bathroom and utility cupboard (washing machine and drier). The kitchen had a fridge / freezer, oven, 4 ring hob, large microwave, dishwasher and all the accoutrements you’d expect. The only slight downside was a relative lack of counter space.

Within the condo grounds, there are two hot-tubs (space for perhaps 6-8 people each) and a heated pool, all outdoors. With shower / changing and toilet facilities as well as a sauna provided beside the pool, it’s a pleasant way to ease the aches and pains after a day on the slopes. The opening hours are restricted but should be long enough for even the keenest apres-ski participant to make use of the facilities.

Cleaning took place twice during our ten night stay, with fresh towels and linen, etc. provided.

The condos are very handy for the (free) ‘Green’ and ‘Red’ bus routes which stop beside the pedestrian overpass (on the condo side of the highway). These routes give access to the West Vail mall (supermarkets, etc). Just beyond the overpass on the village side of the highway, there’s a bus stop for the ‘In Town’ route (again, it’s free), which runs from Lionshead in the west to Golden Peak in the east and all points in between.

If we were being really, really picky, perhaps some more information could have been provided in the in-room information folder (e.g. operating instructions for the heating, recycling instructions, etc.) but this didn’t detract from our stay at all. We’d certainly consider returning here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubba&MaryJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

We searched several sites on the web and decided to go with Sun Vail. My family of four were VERY pleased with the accomodations. The unit was nicely furnished and the office staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The walk to the lifts really isn't that far. I would definitely recommend this to all my friends!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My friends and I stayed here last year for my friend an my annual ski trip. We had a great stay, and are staying there again this year.

Overall this place was a great value. The 3 bedroom unit we got was very comfortable, perfectly sized and suited our needs perfectly. Lots of beds which was perfect for our large group and the kitchen was upgraded and well stocked. The hot tubs were a bit small, but the large heated pool was very fun and made up for it.

In reading the description we were definitely concerned about being on the other side of the highway. However it was no big deal. The lifts were easily walkable via the bridge, and the ski lockers at the rental shop was very convenient.

The prices are very affordable given the quality of the units and the convenience of the location. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closest to the pedestrian bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed in a 3 bed, 2 bath condo for the last week of the 2010-2011 season. In my opinion, Sun Vail is by far the best value in Vail. As far as my research showed, there is no where else in walking distance to the slopes that is less expensive, or offers better amenities. Accommodations will vary by condo, but ours was pleasant and roomy, with 2 queen beds and bunk room with 3 twins. The spacious living room and dinning room were more than we needed, and the working fireplace and balcony were huge bonuses. The heated pool and dual hot tubs were also quite nice, and made for entertaining and social evenings after skiing. Overall a great all around deal. Sun Vail will definitely be my choice for my 2012 trip to Vail.

Protip: Many of the first floor condos have concrete patios with stone fire places out front. You should try and request one if that what you are into! Balconies were nice, but its tough to grill with 3 feet of snow out there! (but of course we did anyway)

Room Tip: Give the front desk a call, or email them through their web page. The staff is extremely friendly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed the past 2 ski trips and found the condo perfect. Impressive in it's decor, Clean and with a 3-4 block walk over the pedestrian bridge(without ski boots) very convienient. I also found the rental fees to be reasonable for what you get. If this place was on the otherside of I-70 (2 blocks) the cost would be twice as much. It's location and parking is also convienient to access food and beverage shoping and to explore those little restaurants the locals frequent just down the road.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I have stayed at Sun Vail three times in several different units and the checkin and the units have always been great. The walk to the gondola through Lionshead is surprisingly short.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoverholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Room was a little above average but the common area was fantastic! The common area consisted of a nice pool, very nice twin hot tubs, a shower, and a very nice bathroom. It was surrounded by lots of beautiful flowers and trees making for am extremely pleasant and relaxing experience. Check-in/out was accomplished on the weekends without staff on site but went surprisingly smoothly. I'd recommend this property and we'll likely be back next summer, if not this fall.

Room Tip: Older guests should request something closer to the parking lot. It's a pretty good hike at alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dadmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Vail

Address: 635 N Frontage Rd W Unit 1, Vail, CO 81657-4589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range: $223 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Vail condominiums are located three blocks from the gondola and chair 8 in the Lionshead section of Vail Village. Walk to private ski and boot storage at the base of the mountain. Year round pool outdoors with hot tubs and sauna. Affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sun Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing