We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RUDE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY RUDE”
Reviewed November 17, 2005

Didn't actually stay there, but did talk to them on the phone. They were not helpful at all just wanted to stay they were full and tried to get me off of the phone. I asked 2 questions and was told I needed to make individual calls. If they don't have time to even talk to me on the phone and answer a few questions I would hate to see how they treat you once they get your money. It was bad enough to make me never want to stay there!

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank livewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkatVail, General Manager at Sitzmark Lodge at Vail, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
We have had some staff changes that have addressed any issues of rudeness or indifference that was expressed in this review. As a family-owned and operated business, customer service and hospitality is what is most important to us. I believe our current staff is outstanding. They are friendly, accommodating and strive to make you feel at home. Come try us again or just give us a call for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    86
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
99
126
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2005

We stayed here over Oktoberfest. The hotel is in a great location. We parked our car in their garage, and didn't move it until it was time to go home. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, nice size rooms, hot drinks available around the clock. It is a basic hotel, not the Ritz! But, for the location, amenities, and price, you can't beat it, especially for Vail!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2005

Ok first of all to the nasty person mentioning the garage. The Sitzmark does not even have a garage for cars to park in. You can only park out front so I do not even think you are reviewing the right hotel.
On another note the Sitzmark lodge is fantastic. I stayed there for a week over easter break last spring. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous, they have spots out front for you to park your car, the rooms are extremely clean, there is an outdoor pool and big jacuzzi overlooking the mountain, they store your skis for you, they have a decent continenntal breakfast if you get up early enough, cable tvs and dvd players, high speed internet in the lobby that is almost always open, has the Left Bank Restaurant downstairs which is the best restaurant in Vail.(It seriously is make sure you make a reservation before coming as you have to book it weeks in advance and ask for souffles for desert when making reservation) The hotel is less than a five minute walk while carrying skiis to the vista bahn!! And best of all this comes for a price of less than 200 a night with taxes. I used to stay at the tivoli lodge which was my favorite because it shared the same price but they are now building that into a luxury hotel so the Sitzmark is the last fairly reasonable place to stay in downtown vail village. I have no idea what the people complaining about the rooms are complaining about. You come to Vail to ski, not to sit in your hotel rooms and watch TV. If that is what you want then stay at the Sonnenalp. If you want the best ski in/out hotel in Vail though that doesn't cost the equivalency of a new car to stay at then stay at the Sitzmark.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sssport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2004

The property has a perfect location in the Village, the rooms are just fine, and the views are beautiful. You must take the price into account when reviewing this hotel. The price, for the location, is very reasonable so to expect Sonnenalp amenities and gourmet continetal fare is unreasonable. If you want to experience the village, get a clean comfortable room, for a very reasonable price the Sitzmark is where to stay.

Helpful?
7 Thank MaggieMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2004

I do not understand what this person is writting about, everything about the Sitzmark Lodge is fantastic! My family stays there each year they come to Vail to visit, location is great, pool and staff is great. This is the local's favorite place to put their family's up in, just ask any local.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2004

We've been staying here for over ten years. The staff knows which room we want and holds it for us...and that's just one of the ways that they take pains to maximize our enjoyment. The location couldn't be better...very short walk to Vistabahn. The rooftop jacuzzi is charming. The Left Bank restaurant that shares the building is a gem...and couldn't be more convenient! The continental breakfast is just right...a wide selection of items and you get to the slopes fast. (I bring a tray upstairs for myself. My husband likes to eat in the lounge.) As for going somewhere else for a four-star breakfast as one reviewer said: I'd guess that you're not going to Vail for all-day skiing...your breakfast takes too long to eat and too long to digest!

Helpful?
8 Thank duckybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 11, 2004

we have stayed at the sitzmark hotel for 30 years and have found it excellent in every way.price,friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#11 of 30 in Vail
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Lodge at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Lodge at Vail

Property: Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Address: 183 Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sitzmark Lodge at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vail Village on the banks of Gore Creek, the Sitzmark Lodge is in Vail's famous European-style pedestrian shopping/dining district and steps from Gondola One. Family-owned and operated, our accommodations, service and staff will offer a personalized stay that is sure to make you feel like you are coming home. Your stay includes our Continental Breakfast, free onsite parking, WiFi, and no resort fees. During the winter season we offer apres ski hot soup and mulled wine in our lobby and a Monday evening wine and cheese reception with the owners in their penthouse apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sitzmark Lodge at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Lodge At Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing