We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sitzmark Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent a week at the Sitzmark Lodge in September after our Colorado vacation plans changed due to the flooding. The room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable, and we loved having both the fireplace and the balcony overlooking the creek. The staff was very gracious and helpful to us, providing suggestions regarding activities and things to see in the area. We had not planned on being in Vail during Oktoberfest, but it was a lot of fun. Many thanks to Jennifer, Andrea, and Lynn for all your suggestions and the wonderful service provided. We look forward to staying at the Sitzmark again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfg40004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkatVail, Manager at Sitzmark Lodge at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are so pleased to have had you as our guest and that we were able to assist you when your plans changed. Our staff is quite knowledgeable about the area and always excited to share what they know. It is so kind of you to take the time acknowledge our front desk staff. They certainly appreciate it when their efforts are recognized.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 326 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Everyone knows about the horrendous flooding that took place in Colorado in early to mid September of 2013 and the resulting state of emergency and request by the governor for visitors to stay away and get as many emergency crew in as possible. My wife and I were driving cross country from NJ and had planned a 2 night stay (Sept 17 to 19) at the Sitzmark Lodge. I called the Lodge on September 14th to cancel since we were told there were major flooding issues on the 3 Interstate Highways in the Denver area that we would have to navigate in order to get to Vail from Chicago. We were told by the Sitzmark that we would be refunded for 1 of the 2 nights, since we did not cancel 8 or more days in advance of our stay. This was their "policy". I can understand policies, but doesn't customer safety and extraordinary circumstances come into play?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkatVail, Manager at Sitzmark Lodge at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

I am so sorry to hear that you were so misinformed about the flooding in Colorado. While several communities in the Denver area were severely affected by this disaster, the mountain areas, including Vail were unaffected. Interstate highways, as you state, were not cut-off and there were no floods or damage within 150 miles of us. The media did generate a spotlight on the state of Colorado giving rise to a call for action for much needed aid to that area, unfortunately it also gave the wrong impression that the entire state was closed for business. I am surprised you did not get a better feel for the condition of our area when you called to check on your reservation.

While our cancellation policy is clearly stated at the time of reservation and in all written confirmations, we do take into consideration circumstances such as Acts of God that may affect our guests’ ability to travel and will make exceptions to that policy as such. Because we were not affected by this disaster we did not feel an exception was warranted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Sitzmark in July. We ended up parking our car in the structure and walking thru town to find it since Vail is mostly pedestrian. The desk clerk gave us directions how to get our car to the hotel and the parking garage is beneath. The location is in the center of town and we had so many restaurants and shops to choose from within a 5 minute walk. When we checked in we had a street view room and asked if there were any Gore Creek view rooms available and sadly, there were none. But, they did offer us the Bridal suite as an upgrade option that we quickly took. Room was at the end of the building with a large balcony that overlooked the side street with the bridge and creek. Nice King size bed and a sitting area with a fireplace. There was a small refrigerator with a coffee maker in a nook next to the bathroom. bathroom was large and spacious. More than enough closet space and a large dresser. They offer a continental breakfast in the mornings off the lobby that was just fine for our needs. Cereal, bagels, hard boiled eggs,fruit, oatmeal and juices, coffee and espresso. On the second floor at the other end of the hotel is their pool deck. It was very nice and relaxing to sun on the deck there. There are Condos right across the street from it so their view is of the Sitzmark pool.
We explored Vail on foot and enjoyed our stay there very much. There are free buses that run through Vail and Lionshead if you wish to check out the area. Lots of restaurants and bars close to the hotel. We didn't move our car once while we were there. We would definitely stay at the Sitzmark again. We didn't have a lot of contact with the staff, but the ones we did talk to were extremely accommodating and friendly!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking Gore Creek. You can hear the water from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Sitzmark is a great hotel in the heart of Vail Village, nice views and convenient to everything in the village. As mentioned earlier, there are some great rooms that can be requested, and the free parking can't be beat! Lynn at the front desk was VERY friendly and suggested places to eat for dinner.

Love to visit Vail Village and this hotel is a reasonable, clean place to stay.

Room Tip: See other reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COMahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First time to stay at the Sitzmark Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Lodge is right in the middle of Vail Village and has free parking directly under the lodge. Easy access to restaurants and shops in the village. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the village and ski slopes. Even numbered rooms face the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am a resident of Denver and my family and I have traveled to and stayed in Vail many times. We came across the Sitzmark during a last minute search for a quick get-a-way over the recent Labor Day Weekend. Yes, the building was constructed back in the 70's but the 8-track comparisons stop there. The location is incredible in the heart of Vail Village. The room we stayed in was large, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and much to my pleasant surprise, had underground, covered parking for FREE! Unheard of in Vail and just about anywhere else. The complimentary breakfast is a bit spartan but one only has to walk a few feet outdoors for a variety of more substantial choices. The second story, out-door spa and swimming pool was a fabulous touch after a long 5-hour hike. Yes, there are more glitzy, brass-and-glass hotels in Vail but I can tell you this, as a Vail regular. we will be back.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly rather than through a booking service. We got a better rate. Also ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The favorable tripadvisor reviews for Sitzmark are spot on. Great value and location (steps across from Checkpoint Charlie entrance to Vail) and mountain views. Jennifer, at the front desk, was extremely helpful and politely answered all our questions about attractions, food, and accommodations.

Follow the Travel tip and request a third floor side or creek view. We stayed in a corner third floor junior suite on the side of the building (room 315) and enjoyed magnificent sunset views.
The second floor pool and hot tub area were also great for reading and relaxing in the sun.

A continental breakfast was also included. While it did not match the location and quality of the hotel or the professional management at the hotel, there were enough options to provide even picky eaters with sustenance to make it across the street to the bakery or a few blocks to restaurants serving breakfast.

When we told our other two adult children (one son and his girlfriend stayed with us in the junior suite) about the great place we were staying and all the other fun attractions within walking distance or a short ride on the free bus, they immediately wanted to book a family trip there soon. We'll call Jennifer soon to do so and have added Sitzmark hotel and Vail to our List of Must Go Again Places.

Overall, a great value, location, and exceptional service.

Room Tip: Book a third floor corner suite (Junior suite, Room 315 was great) or a third floor creek view as ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Lodge at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Lodge at Vail

Address: 183 Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $140 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sitzmark Lodge at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vail Village on the banks of Gore Creek, the Sitzmark Lodge is in Vail's famous European-style pedestrian shopping/dining district and steps from Gondola One. Family-owned and operated, our accommodations, service and staff will offer a personalized stay that is sure to make you feel like you are coming home. Your stay includes our Continental Breakfast, free onsite parking, WiFi, and no resort fees. During the winter season we offer apres ski hot soup and mulled wine in our lobby and a Monday evening wine and cheese reception with the owners in their penthouse apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sitzmark Lodge at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Lodge At Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing