We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Marks for Sitzmark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High Marks for Sitzmark”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The favorable tripadvisor reviews for Sitzmark are spot on. Great value and location (steps across from Checkpoint Charlie entrance to Vail) and mountain views. Jennifer, at the front desk, was extremely helpful and politely answered all our questions about attractions, food, and accommodations.

Follow the Travel tip and request a third floor side or creek view. We stayed in a corner third floor junior suite on the side of the building (room 315) and enjoyed magnificent sunset views.
The second floor pool and hot tub area were also great for reading and relaxing in the sun.

A continental breakfast was also included. While it did not match the location and quality of the hotel or the professional management at the hotel, there were enough options to provide even picky eaters with sustenance to make it across the street to the bakery or a few blocks to restaurants serving breakfast.

When we told our other two adult children (one son and his girlfriend stayed with us in the junior suite) about the great place we were staying and all the other fun attractions within walking distance or a short ride on the free bus, they immediately wanted to book a family trip there soon. We'll call Jennifer soon to do so and have added Sitzmark hotel and Vail to our List of Must Go Again Places.

Overall, a great value, location, and exceptional service.

Room Tip: Book a third floor corner suite (Junior suite, Room 315 was great) or a third floor creek view as ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    86
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
99
127
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location and value for Vail. Rooms were nice and the views were fantastic. The restaurant is a bit pricey but the food was very good as well. The people are friendly and happy to help and accommodate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertAGraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We drove from Estes Park to visit Vail for the first time and after arriving in Vail we lucked out. Someone recommended the Sitzmark Lodge. The reservations manager, Andrea, worked really hard to find us a vacant room at the last minute and with a balcony overlooking the river. After the first 2 nights relaxing at the Siztmark we decided to extend our stay for 2 more nights and Andrea came through with another river view room... also at a very reasonable rate. Located in the center of the Village, this lodge is remarkably quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Right in the heart of Vail Village, the Sitzmark is a great place to stay to enjoy all the beauty and fun activities the village has to offer in the summertime. Though not the most elegant lodging opportunity, the Sitzmark is very nice, comfortable and clean, with friendly staff, free parking and free Continental breakfast. In the summer, I would highly recommend a room with a balcony overlooking Gore Creek.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We wish we could have stayed more than one night, but had to be somewhere else the next evening. The hotel is really nice - quaint yet beautifully decorated, charming, reminded me of hotels in Europe, very warm and friendly. We stayed in a Queen deluxe room and it was perfect! Wonderful balcony with a beautiful view of Gore Creek and the mountains. The hotel staff were very warm and friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. We could easily walk to restaurants and shopping. If we ever get to go back to Vail, we will definitely stay at the Sitzmark Lodge again.

We had a delicious dinner at Vendetta's and sat on their lovely patio. Highly recommend. We also enjoyed a ride to the top of Vail Mountain on the gondola.

Room Tip: The deluxe queen rooms have a private balcony overlooking Gore Creek and the mountains. Stunning vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have stayed here several times to ski at the end of the season. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean and great location. Free breakfast is great and after skiing the hottub works wonders with a nice view of the mountains and the street below.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colospringstraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

First off thanks to the owner as well as to Jen and Andrea. We were there recently on business and the entire staff was very helpful and went above and beyond to exceed our expectations on both a personal level, as well as business.
-As for the business portion; they helped with everything from, assisting us with onsite parking, to use of their fax machine and stored our packages that were delivered.
- On a personal level, the breakfast was a treat, then the downstairs living area hosted great cold water during all times (our crew was not adjusted to their altitude, so this was great) and they also offered great espresso (Lavazza machine) , all great little things to start your day off right. The rooms were clean, modern and had great views on all angels. I look forward to another great retreat here on my off time!

Room Tip: REQUEST the creekside view, it was peaceful & BEAUTIFUL
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrldtraveler365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#10 of 30 in Vail
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Lodge at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Lodge at Vail

Property: Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Address: 183 Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sitzmark Lodge at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vail Village on the banks of Gore Creek, the Sitzmark Lodge is in Vail's famous European-style pedestrian shopping/dining district and steps from Gondola One. Family-owned and operated, our accommodations, service and staff will offer a personalized stay that is sure to make you feel like you are coming home. Your stay includes our Continental Breakfast, free onsite parking, WiFi, and no resort fees. During the winter season we offer apres ski hot soup and mulled wine in our lobby and a Monday evening wine and cheese reception with the owners in their penthouse apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sitzmark Lodge at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Lodge At Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing