We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always Great and Comfortable”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just back from annual trip to Vail with wife and kids. This is the place I have stayed at again and again for 10 years. Location is perfect, price cannot be beat and the place is casual, comfy and relaxing. So many of the people you run into here have been coming to the hotel for years, because they know what they are getting and the value for being right in the center of Vail Village is tops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rlc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkatVail, General Manager at Sitzmark Lodge at Vail, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It is wonderful to hear from a valued, long-time guest. As a family-owned and operated business we cherish our relationships with our guests and are quite fortunate to have many loyal customers that return year after year. We look forward to having your family back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    84
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
97
122
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lot's of peronality with a cool vibe. Great location in Vail Village (3 minute walk to the new gondola), nice comfortable room and beds. Everything seemed to be very clean. The continental breakfast was very nice as was the very home like dining area. Underground parking was a plus. The staff was wonderful and I would particulary like to acknowledge the friendly and exceptional service provided by Matt, Andrea and Jennifer. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAmericaLives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I travel a lot. 99,99% of the time I do not take the time to review. This time I had to. This is a fantastic hotel.

Went there together with three other families with children for one week’s stay, we all loved this hotel. It has a cool and nice vibe. Not the most modern design, but it breathes tunes from the 70s, and it is clean, nice and friendly. And it is an exceptional choice when it comes to value.

We stayed in a Deluxe room at the third level, out looking the river. The room was big enough to spread the whole family’s ski clothes, without destroying the rooms view. It had a nice private balcony overlooking the river and the back streets of the village.

Most afternoons there are soup and hot wine served in the lounge. We tried this out a couple of days and it was really nice every time.

The owners invite to a Monday get-together in their apartment, which we attended. It is super nice. Instead of the bigger hotel chains with zero personality and no connection to hotel management, you have the possibility to hear great stories from past years, and meet other nice guests from the hotel.

I have read some comments about the matrasses on this forum. Trust me. They are great. I do not know if we Scandinavians like it a bit harder and not the extremely soft ones I have been acquainted to at many American hotels, but these ones provides a good night sleep. Better than the most, actually.

I find it amazing that a place like this is not 100% booked all the time of the season. But then I realized, some people go to Vail to show off. It is clearly important to stay at expensive places. To show the world that you went to Vail to stay and pay. How strange and old fashioned to me.

I was thinking to keep this place a secret and come back every year, but I feel that more people needs to be able to visit Vail without getting totally ripped off. This is a smart hotel for smart people. We will come back.

Thanks Sitzmark for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kansei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The good things: closer to slopes than most hotels, good soundproofing (both lateral and up-down), upscale renovation (we are fans of foam mattresses).

BUT:
1. The balcony door may be high-quality double-glazed, but it is so badly installed that there is a 1/4 inch gap between it and the floor. A freezing draft comes into the room all the time, making it unpleasant even with the heat turned up. This is an easy thing to fix, but they either don't know about it, or don't care. (Though they should be aware that they're paying to heat the outdoors).

2. Speaking of heating, when it gets going it makes a high-pitched noise that is impossible to ignore at night. We had to use ear plugs every night. The problem seems to be an electric device installed in one of the baseboard heaters, which is connected to the temperature control panel. We never had such an issue in any other hotel.

3. There are a whole lot of smaller issues that on their own we would normally overlook, but all together add up to a disappointing experience:
- Our room hadn't been vacuumed in months (the carpet was disgustingly dusty, and there was trash under the beds).
- We had to ask for the robes from the front desk (why aren't they in the room?).
- They keep running out of towels at the hot tub, and there's no attendant nearby. Imagine how fun it is to get down from the roof top to the front desk to ask for towels, while dripping wet and freezing your behind off!
- They also keep running out of coffee each morning - how hard is it to brew two containers instead of one?! or at least keep an eye on things and replenish in a timely manner?
- Many other reviewers complained about the breakfast quality. I will say this much: it would cost almost nothing to improve it - just add some mustard and ketchup to season those very cold boiled eggs.
- The front desk setup is weird - the attendant hides behind a wall. It made us feel unwelcome to disturb him.

It is clear that the owners invested a lot into high-quality amenities for this hotel, but unfortunately, they don't know how to manage it well.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the creek are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank megajo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I live and work in Summit County so when my wife and I want to get away somewhere nice, Vail/Beaver Creek is usually our go to. Known for their high lodging and dining establishments I was looking for somewhere in town within an easy walk to the slopes. For this the Sitzmark is perfectly located, about 200/300 yards from the Gondola.
However in terms of class and luxury it is distinctly average.
I have stayed at the Austria Haus which really was worth the 4/5 star rating. The Sitzmark; not so much.
The lobby looks plush but has the feel of an airport hotel. The room itself, while adequate, was a little in disrepair loose base-boards, wall paper peeling - little things. Bathroom - very typical of an airport hotel.
The receptionist was friendly but not, 'I am going to do everything I can for you' that one would expect from a high end place.
Considering the price is similar to other 4/5 star hotels it is not worth it.
Normally high price in Vail gets you class, in this case the high price got me close to the lifts. Not really worth it.

One last thing - Very noisy at night. In a ground floor room we could hear people up and down the corridors most of the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkatVail, General Manager at Sitzmark Lodge at Vail, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am afraid you have created some misconceptions about us that I would like to clarify. While we do appreciate the fine reputation that Vail brings, you may have had the preconceived mindset prior to your arrival that all properties are upscale resorts with a level of service implored to cater to your every need. We do not place ourselves in that same category. We are considered a three star hotel reasonably priced much lower than those properties you mention. This is not to say that we do not strive to provide a quality and service that rivals the 5 star properties, actually comparing us in price and luxury is not a fair comparison. We are a family-owned and operated lodge with an objective to provide quality lodging in a warm, friendly atmosphere at an affordable rate. We do not believe in resort fees and have no additional charges for parking or breakfast. As you mention, our location is ideally situated in the heart of the village on the banks of Gore Creek and a few hundred yards from the new Gondola One.

This does not excuse us from the maintenance issues that you have pointed out and we will certainly be reviewing any issues that you raise. We continue to update our facilities to keep stylish and up to date having just recently renovated the guest rooms with new furniture and bedding.

The bottom line is if you are looking for a high-class, luxury experience with a price tag to match, there are several properties in Vail and Beaver Creek to cater to your needs. But, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, friendly experience at a reasonable rate with free parking and no resort fees ideally located in Vail Village, come home to the Sitzmark Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location right in vail village. Tastefully appointed modern rooms. Quite reasonable considering accommodations and location. Helpful and friendly staff but not the kind of place where bellman rush over to help with bags--more likely you will be handling your own bags. Free continental bkfst with Waffles as well as hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereal, yogurt and other items you would expect at continental breakfast. Easy walk to lifts(approx 2 city type blocks)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skilarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A lodge experience in the middle of Vail. Pleasant spacious rooms (better appointed than Pepe's next door) with warm, helpful staff and in the center of town. Ski storage, self service laundry, some rooms with fireplace. Breakfast (included) is self-service carb heaven (need some fresh fruit choices- here is where Pepe's beats them) but steps away you can have a full breakfast buffet at the Lodge. This is a lovely property- family owned- with happy returnees every season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 30 in Vail
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#10 of 30 in Vail
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Lodge at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Lodge at Vail

Property: Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Address: 183 Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sitzmark Lodge at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vail Village on the banks of Gore Creek, the Sitzmark Lodge is in Vail's famous European-style pedestrian shopping/dining district and steps from Gondola One. Family-owned and operated, our accommodations, service and staff will offer a personalized stay that is sure to make you feel like you are coming home. Your stay includes our Continental Breakfast, free onsite parking, WiFi, and no resort fees. During the winter season we offer apres ski hot soup and mulled wine in our lobby and a Monday evening wine and cheese reception with the owners in their penthouse apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sitzmark Lodge at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Lodge At Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing