We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good essentials, but misses on details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The good things: closer to slopes than most hotels, good soundproofing (both lateral and up-down), upscale renovation (we are fans of foam mattresses).

BUT:
1. The balcony door may be high-quality double-glazed, but it is so badly installed that there is a 1/4 inch gap between it and the floor. A freezing draft comes into the room all the time, making it unpleasant even with the heat turned up. This is an easy thing to fix, but they either don't know about it, or don't care. (Though they should be aware that they're paying to heat the outdoors).

2. Speaking of heating, when it gets going it makes a high-pitched noise that is impossible to ignore at night. We had to use ear plugs every night. The problem seems to be an electric device installed in one of the baseboard heaters, which is connected to the temperature control panel. We never had such an issue in any other hotel.

3. There are a whole lot of smaller issues that on their own we would normally overlook, but all together add up to a disappointing experience:
- Our room hadn't been vacuumed in months (the carpet was disgustingly dusty, and there was trash under the beds).
- We had to ask for the robes from the front desk (why aren't they in the room?).
- They keep running out of towels at the hot tub, and there's no attendant nearby. Imagine how fun it is to get down from the roof top to the front desk to ask for towels, while dripping wet and freezing your behind off!
- They also keep running out of coffee each morning - how hard is it to brew two containers instead of one?! or at least keep an eye on things and replenish in a timely manner?
- Many other reviewers complained about the breakfast quality. I will say this much: it would cost almost nothing to improve it - just add some mustard and ketchup to season those very cold boiled eggs.
- The front desk setup is weird - the attendant hides behind a wall. It made us feel unwelcome to disturb him.

It is clear that the owners invested a lot into high-quality amenities for this hotel, but unfortunately, they don't know how to manage it well.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the creek are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank megajo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 327 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I live and work in Summit County so when my wife and I want to get away somewhere nice, Vail/Beaver Creek is usually our go to. Known for their high lodging and dining establishments I was looking for somewhere in town within an easy walk to the slopes. For this the Sitzmark is perfectly located, about 200/300 yards from the Gondola.
However in terms of class and luxury it is distinctly average.
I have stayed at the Austria Haus which really was worth the 4/5 star rating. The Sitzmark; not so much.
The lobby looks plush but has the feel of an airport hotel. The room itself, while adequate, was a little in disrepair loose base-boards, wall paper peeling - little things. Bathroom - very typical of an airport hotel.
The receptionist was friendly but not, 'I am going to do everything I can for you' that one would expect from a high end place.
Considering the price is similar to other 4/5 star hotels it is not worth it.
Normally high price in Vail gets you class, in this case the high price got me close to the lifts. Not really worth it.

One last thing - Very noisy at night. In a ground floor room we could hear people up and down the corridors most of the night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkatVail, General Manager at Sitzmark Lodge at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am afraid you have created some misconceptions about us that I would like to clarify. While we do appreciate the fine reputation that Vail brings, you may have had the preconceived mindset prior to your arrival that all properties are upscale resorts with a level of service implored to cater to your every need. We do not place ourselves in that same category. We are considered a three star hotel reasonably priced much lower than those properties you mention. This is not to say that we do not strive to provide a quality and service that rivals the 5 star properties, actually comparing us in price and luxury is not a fair comparison. We are a family-owned and operated lodge with an objective to provide quality lodging in a warm, friendly atmosphere at an affordable rate. We do not believe in resort fees and have no additional charges for parking or breakfast. As you mention, our location is ideally situated in the heart of the village on the banks of Gore Creek and a few hundred yards from the new Gondola One.

This does not excuse us from the maintenance issues that you have pointed out and we will certainly be reviewing any issues that you raise. We continue to update our facilities to keep stylish and up to date having just recently renovated the guest rooms with new furniture and bedding.

The bottom line is if you are looking for a high-class, luxury experience with a price tag to match, there are several properties in Vail and Beaver Creek to cater to your needs. But, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, friendly experience at a reasonable rate with free parking and no resort fees ideally located in Vail Village, come home to the Sitzmark Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location right in vail village. Tastefully appointed modern rooms. Quite reasonable considering accommodations and location. Helpful and friendly staff but not the kind of place where bellman rush over to help with bags--more likely you will be handling your own bags. Free continental bkfst with Waffles as well as hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereal, yogurt and other items you would expect at continental breakfast. Easy walk to lifts(approx 2 city type blocks)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skilarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A lodge experience in the middle of Vail. Pleasant spacious rooms (better appointed than Pepe's next door) with warm, helpful staff and in the center of town. Ski storage, self service laundry, some rooms with fireplace. Breakfast (included) is self-service carb heaven (need some fresh fruit choices- here is where Pepe's beats them) but steps away you can have a full breakfast buffet at the Lodge. This is a lovely property- family owned- with happy returnees every season.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAREN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. They tried very hard to be flexible with our stay dates, as we enjoyed Vail so much, we kept extending our stay to 10 days in total. The family who owns the place, lives the the top third floor and they are lovely folks, who leave you alone unless you ask for assistance; then they bend over backwards to help. We stayed over xmas and they invited us up for xmas drinks with them. It's not super-cheap, but compared to other hotel prices in Vail, it's good value. We found the place through the "information centre" (we were driving through and decided to stop for a few days) in town and then got the rooms a little cheaper when they booked on our behalf.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHenryxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our first stay at the sitzmark booked thru vail.com. We had a very enjoyable stay. For comparison we have stayed at the Lodge Tower, Sebastian and Tivoli.

Check in / check smooth

Room (standard with 2 queen beds) was spacious. We faced the mountain side and had sunshine into room from noon on everyday. Some folks like the river side but in winter we really like the sunshine. The memory foam beds were nice to try. We neither loved or hated them. They were fine.

Our room was on the second floor which meant we didn't need to use the elevator which we really liked.

Very convenient ski lockers at the front of the hotel. Lots of room and it is heated. We found that the location of the hotel even with ski boots was convenient enough that walking to the gondola at the beginning and end of each day not an issue (and we are a little soft).

It is always nice to have breakfast including with the room. We found breakfast to be good, especially the make your own waffles. We would have liked to see the addition of a little more hot food such as eggs or premaid porridge but not certain the kitchen facilities could support.


At the end of each day a crock pot full of soup is set out for returning skiers. We think this a nice touch but would much prefer to have cookies.

Bonus #1 - each monday nite the owners host a wine and cheese party in the owners suite between 5:30 and 6:30. We generally don't socialize too much but decided to attend. It was very cozy and relaxed. We had a really good time.

Bonus #2 - one of the owners works at the front desk area occasionally and she brings her beautiful golden retriever to work. She allowed us to take her for a walk. We actually ended up walking on a roadway with some stunning houses between vail village and lionhead. We love dogs and this was great for us.

Areas for improvement albeit minor besides the cookie issue.

* the front desk person sits behind a wall. we believe that if the front desk staff was moved into plain sight, it would feel like we were not bothering that person so much when we had questions.
* we left the hotel at 6:45 and the front desk was still not open. we just had to drop off the keys so no issue, but if we had additional charges, this would have posed a problem.

It would seem many many guests are repeat customers which is always a good sign. The Sitzmark is a hotel we would certainly consider staying at again. Some of the finishes and fine details are not that of a place like the sonnelp, but for the perfect location, overall experience and cost -- this place is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddy084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is our second stay at the Sitzmark, and it was even better than the first. The rooms are fairly large and very comfortable with everything you could want including flat screen tv and free wireless. The free breakfast is very good, and they also offer après ski refreshments daily. Location is perfect right in the heart of Vail Village.

Room Tip: You can choose between a creek or mountain view. We like the creek view because it is quiet and love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0nnieand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Lodge at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Lodge at Vail

Address: 183 Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $141 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sitzmark Lodge at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Vail Village on the banks of Gore Creek, the Sitzmark Lodge is in Vail's famous European-style pedestrian shopping/dining district and steps from Gondola One. Family-owned and operated, our accommodations, service and staff will offer a personalized stay that is sure to make you feel like you are coming home. Your stay includes our Continental Breakfast, free onsite parking, WiFi, and no resort fees. During the winter season we offer apres ski hot soup and mulled wine in our lobby and a Monday evening wine and cheese reception with the owners in their penthouse apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sitzmark Lodge at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Lodge At Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing