We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sonnenalp(Vail)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveler rating
234
90
7
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
90
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgore creekhard boiled eggstempurpedic mattressmemory foammulled winewine and cheese partycreekside roomhot tubspiced ricecontinental breakfastshared balconywaffle makercreek sideyogurtceiling fanjunior suitebalcony overlooking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 339 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Sitzmark was really lovely. The staff was friendly, the rooms were beautifully decorated and whistle clean, and the location can't be beat. My only quibble was the (obviously new) Tempurpedic mattress. By the second night, my back hurt so bad I ended up sleeping on the floor!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitzmarkatVail, General Manager at Sitzmark Lodge at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and your appreciation of our rooms. We have been working very hard in the past two years to update our décor and are happy to hear our efforts are recognized. It is a disappointment however, that you did not find our beds comfortable and that we were unable provide a better alternative for you. Tempur-Pedic beds are a well-respected brand, but they are not for everyone. Perhaps we need to review our options for providing alternatives for those guests who prefer a standard mattress.
Thank you for your stay. We always enjoy hearing from our guests and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stumbled on the Sitzmark by accident in 2005 on a visit to Colorado. The visit inspired us to move to Colorado, and the Sitzmark inspired us to visit again and again, year after year. Friendly staff, a great value in the fall season and a hot tub on a second story patio that overlooks downtown Vail Village. The location is incredibly convenient, the parking is covered and free. The rooms are large (get one with a gas fireplace) and feature large balconies and many have fridges. One one visit, we decided to try someplace else. That was a mistake we won't make again. Thanks for another great visit.

Room Tip: Spend a few bucks extra to get a room with a gas fireplace, it's a really nice touch. Don't expect a fitness facility, just lace 'em up and go for a hike, then enjoy the hot tub.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaseSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent an evening at the Sitzmark on our way through Colorado in June. It was fantastic! The room was clean and comfortable! The location was PERFECT! The staff was very friendly. Our balcony overlooked the village, and we couldn't have been happier. With so many choices in Vail, we still wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! Loved every minute!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InOurHappyPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We chose Sitzmark mostly because the price was great for a last minute trip. Turns out, it was a wonderful little lodge.

The location cannot be beat- it is right in the heart of the village, you walk to everything! We have a 2.5 year old, so this was great because we were close to our room no matter where we were in Vail. The location is the best part of staying here, and worth the cost. Also, there is a free shuttle that runs every 15 mins that will take you to Lionshead.

The rooms are very nice, although starting to show a bit of age. There is more than enough room. We had a 3d floor deluxe room overlooking the creek- the views were beautiful! The balcony was a nice treat. The bathroom was big and clean, as was the whole room.

2 things about the room though- the first is that it was a little nosy late at night, with the people walking down by the creek. It would be same on the other side- the village side- and probably anywhere else you stayed in the village, just wanted to point it out. It was not enough to be bothersome or a problem.

The only problem we did have was the beds. They are all Tempur-Pedic (which I understand is supposed to be a nice perk/bonus), but quite frankly I think they are the most uncomfortable beds ever created. My husband and I both had a really hard time sleeping on them. Just be aware before you book that all the rooms have them.

The front desk and lobby are very nice. Everyone that helped us was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the are, where to eat, etc. The breakfast is beyond basic- coffee, cereal and bagels, and that's it. Go to the Little Diner for the best breakfast, but get there early!

Overall, a really nice place if you don't mind the beds!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racegirl219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Sitzmark Lodge for a long weekend almost every summer since 1973. It has remained consistently friendly, beautiful (rooms updated many times), and a wonderful location for Vail fun. The room prices have remained reasonably priced over the years.

Room Tip: We usually request a creek side room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews