We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Ranked #5 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value and convenience”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom (Room 1210) for four nights recently and were very pleased. Our room (and the hotel/condo generally) was not luxurious, but clean and comfortable and perfect for people looking for value vs. a posh resort experience. Parking (indoor) is $10/day, but the other amenities (Starbucks coffee/hot chocolate, ski lockers, DVD rental, wireless internet in the lobby, computer and printer, firewood, frequent shuttles) were free. At check-in, they also give you a packet of coupons for food and ski equipment needs (rentals, tune-ups, repairs, etc.). Everyone I dealt with at the front desk was helpful and friendly enough, and we had no problems with traffic noise (Room 1210 is next to N. Frontage Rd.), temperature control, or housekeeping services. The shuttle drivers were very nice and always helped you with your equipment. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Vail.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nec80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    91
    18
    11
    9
See reviews for
181
59
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed in 1212, a large two-bedroom, two bath condo with panaromic views of the mountain.

Bedding comfortable.

Indoor garage is easy to access from units.

Private shuttle runs frequently to Vail Village and Lionhead. Also to the market.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

This was our 2nd stay at Simba. We have been delighted with our accommodations and the service has been superb. It is wonderful to have shuttle services for most excursions. No, it is not the Ritz Carlton with numerous restaurants and superfluous services, but it does offer spacious, well appointed suites with all the comforts of a private apartment at an affordable rate. Spend your money wisely (there is a recession out there!) We have recommended Simba to a number of people and are looking forward to another stay before the season is done. Simba has been our new found "Treasure" in Vail.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2011

If you are a light sleeper you might want to steer clear of the south facing units in Building 1. They are close to I-70 and you will hear traffic noise 24-hours a day. Units in Buidling 2 are a better choice since they are further removed from the highway. One of the turnoffs for me is the changing rates for the units depending on demand. They are priced like airline tickets so the rates fluctuate up and down like a beach ball.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

First, let me preface this review by saying that we had an amazing time at Vail. The skiing was amazing, and obviously we spent most of our time outdoors. I am extremely picky but reviews like this helped us pick our hotel and we got a really good deal. Michele, our contact at Simba Run, was absolutely wonderful and very responsive so while I gave this place an average review … it was worth the deal ($299 a night) for a big place. My hopes are the critical things pointed out below are fixed and continue to make Simba Run a great place to stay. I would recommend this to my friends that are on a budget but I think some things need to be addresed for me to recommend this on a grander scale.

THE GOOD:
• Outside our interaction with one extremely rude front desk rep (see "the bad" below), the rest of the front desk was courteous, reception, helpful, and gave a true representation of the Vail culture.
• Michele, our main contact, was easily accessible, easy to work with, and was responsive to our feedback.
• The shuttle drivers were great, on time, and got us to wherever we wanted in Vail.
• Maintenance was prompt and helpful.
• Hot tub/pool amenities were wonderful.
• The condos were nice, roomy, and gave a nice rustic feel.
• Parking was convenient and they had garage parking.
• One of the best pizza places is right next door named Local Joe’s – what a treat and what service!

THE BAD:

• First experience checking in was a nightmare due to ONE staff member named Bridget. Not helpful, rude, and almost comically callous. After a LOT of persistence we were finally able to change rooms. The annoyance of lugging our bags to one building, realizing it had the wrong layout, THEN having to basically fight to get the right one started the trip with a sour taste in our mouth. We already addressed this with management so hopefully this won’t ever happen!
• Thermostat. I’m not sure if was isolated to our room … but it either went to 80+ degrees … or gave up and stayed at 60 degrees regardless of adjustment … and that was true in all rooms. We had 1 night of 85 degrees and 2 nights of sub 60 … yikes!
• Odor … not sure what this was – it was in both 2308 and 1104 – smelled moldy/stale/etc…not overly annoying but enough to notice.
• Housekeeping … we noticed that the rooms weren’t turned over despite the housekeeping service signing in saying they’d taken care of it. After a day or two of towels piled in the bathroom, unmade beds, and non-emptied trash…it took a couple phone calls to get things actually done.
• Master bedroom shower head was busted and the guest bedroom shower was loose enough to rattle on turning the handle.
• TVs…the flat panels were nice in our old room in 2308 … but the tiny ones (13 inches or so!) in the bedrooms were pretty poor – hopefully they can be upgraded soon!

Overall … you can see from above. There’re a lot of things that can be fixed and in the future … we will consider staying there again if they’re taken care of. We had a lot of fun in Vail Village and will likely will stay at a more renovated and closer location in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetsetterATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Simba Run is a wonderful property in the Vail Valley. The staff is absolutely the most helpful we have ever experienced.
The condo was extremely nice. Totally refurbished. Just wonderful. Super spacious, yet cozy!
My family and I had the most wonderful vacation there.
The property has everything - just park your car and they'll take you everywhere - skiing, grocery shopping.
I would recommend it to anyone!
Thanks to Michelle, Jeff & Bridgette!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludwig71937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We were amazed when we got to our Simba Run Condo. It was a 2 bedroom, both with double beds. It had everything we could want- excellent bedrooms, flat screens in both bedrooms, view of the mountains from the balcony, kitchen equipped with everything you could possibly need for cooking meals, great bathrooms, great storage space PLUS the free movies, pool and spa (indoor and outdoor) was a goodsend after a tough day on Vail's powder!! The location was absolutely amazing! Free shuttle bus every 20 minutes was perfect for us, and got us to the bottom of Lionshead or Vail village in less than 10 minutes!!! I would absolutely recommend these condos to friends and family, it was absolutely gorgeous and really affordable too!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dommadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1hittman, General Manager at Simba Run Vail Condominiums, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Thank you so much for taking a moment to write a review fo your recent stay at Simba. I am pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable and everything was great. Thank you! Your timing could not have been better for a ski vacation. I hope you can make it out again this season for a do over. We will have your room ready for you. Thank you for your patronage and feedback. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Have a safe and Happy New Year!
Farrow Hitt
General Manager
Simba Run Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.5 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simba Run Vail Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simba Run Vail Condominiums

Property: Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Address: 1100 N Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-2400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Simba Run Vail Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the LARGEST INDOOR POOL IN VAIL! Simba operates two private shuttles to the slopes. Simba offers front desk assistance like a hotel. Families love Simba - convenient, easy and fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simba Run Vail Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simba Run Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing