We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Lionshead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montaneros Condominiums
Ranked #14 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We are a family of four flying from Australia to spend a nice Dec holiday in Vail. I chose to stay in Montaneros based on the previous reviews and other information on internet.

I booked a one bedroom plus loft with a masterbedroom and 2 single beds. After a tiring long journey, we arrived in the evening and were given the room no 411. It was a big apartment with 2 single beds downstairs and the master bedroom in the loft. We were, at first, quite excited, as it was spacious an the leather sofa was comfortable. After settled down, we realised the room still remains in late 70s , including appliances and bathroom facilities.
There was a spiral stair leading to upstairs bedroom and it can be seen clearly from opposite building with lights on. We tried to close the window curtains and found 2 of them were broken.
I opened the dishwasher, found a full load of dishes and cups still there. We tried to adjust the temperature by using the central monitor downstairs with no success. The worst part is that old fashioned fridge keep making soaring noise, making it hard for us to rest. I rang the reception and told them we wanted to change room. The reply was no room available but will send someone to fix the problem.

Early next morning, the maintenance person arrived. He was very nice and helpful. First, he told me that central monitor did not control the room temperature anymore. So why was it still here and with no instruction? One mechanic part of the fridge was broken and they did not have spare parts until next Tue. It was only Thursday today and we have to put it up for so many days, I was almost in tears. We came to spend a long vacation and it was how I spent my first morning in Vail. I rang the reception again, explained our situation. This time, the manager called me back in few minutes and told me there was another room available. We could take a look first and decided to change or not. It was room 414, a little smaller with master bedroom downstairs and 2 single beds in the loft. It was not as spacious as 411 but I was determined to move. If we were offered the room the previous night, this hassle could be avoided and our holiday could have started a better way. Later, I was told that room is due for renovation after this holiday season by replacing the dated bathroom and appliances.

Anyway, besides this unhappy experience, Montaneros did offer many good things. The location was convenient, 5 mins walk with ski boots to Eagle bahn Gondola. The ski shop right in the building with discounted rental price. A liquor and convenience store close by for small supplies. The village shuttle bus right in front of the entrance and we never waited more than 5 mins.

Next time we may still go back to Montaneros but choose 2 bedrooms condo as most of them have been renovated.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kct1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Our small executive group had a wonderful 4 day retreat at the Montaneros Condos. Everyone enjoyed the rooms, the location and the high level of service provided by the staff. The condos were roomy and quite lovely. The staff was knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The location at Lionshead was easy to find and near many lovely restaurants and shops. Overall, I can't wait to schedule the Montaneros Condos for another business event.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OCALLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The condo is extremely convenient in that you can walk to gondola and lots of great restaurants. There is a small liquor store and convenience store close by but if you want a full supermarket etc., need to drive or take 1/2 hour free bus service. Condo has some great amenities such as nice robes for walking to pool and hot tub. 2 bdrm condo was nice, master bedroom great, 2nd bdrm just ok, combined kitchen, eating, living area a little smaller than expected but overall good value. Ski rental shop just outside hotel offered half price walk in rate so ask about that before going elsewhere for equipment.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
Thank ssphl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Our family joined another family for skiing between Christmas and New Years. We had a fabulous time. We had a few issues at first with us not having enough beds. The unit had been updated and a sofa sleeper had been taken out and no one knew. The staff at Montaneros did a great job handling the situation. The unit was great. The ski storage was wonderful and a great place to meet people that owned units there. Everyone was delightful. Great location - the ice rink was just below and the slopes not far at all. It was amazing. We loved this location. The only downfall was that there was no washer and dryer in the unit, however, I was able to get used to that. It was nice not to have the laundry going all the time. The grocery across the way was delightful and they will shop for you in town if they do not have what you need. The sweet owner went into town to get us a beef tenderloin, potatoes, broccoli for New Year's evening meal. Our kids also loved to go get a treat there every afternoon - Very cute items. Montaneros will also shop for you. We also loved to grab a meal to bring home from Moe's - great macaroni and cheese. It was the easiest ski trip that we have been on.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AveryGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We recently stayed in unit 417 with another couple. Location was perfect--just a few minutes walk (with boots on) to the lifts. The condo is cozy with a huge fireplace and great views of the mountain. Watching the lights of the snow cats with a glass of wine was a great way to relax after a hard day on the slopes. The staff is very friendly and there is a room on the ground floor for skis and boots--the hot cocoa was a nice touch. The condo is located right in Lionshead so you are close to everything. There is an outdoor heated pool and hot tub. There is also a sauna, but we didn't get around to using it. Will definitley stay here again on our next trip to Vail.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I traveled to Vail from South Florida with my mom (age 72) and three children (ages 8,11, and 13) for a 5 day family reunion of sorts. I ended up choosing Montaneros based on the reviews that I read here on Trip Advisor. I was so happy with the accommodations... from the cleanliness of the room to the location of the condo. We were in a unit on the third floor with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We had a stunning view of the mountains and the beautiful flowers on the balcony from our unit. My kids enjoyed swimming in the pool and exploring the creek that ran alongside the paved walking path. I enjoyed the complimentary coffee and hot tea that was available in the lobby throughout the day. My mom really appreciated all the fantastic suggestions from the front desk staff for restaurants and activities. They really went out of their way to make our visit special. The free shuttle that runs throughout the day was fabulous. The shuttle stops right outside of the condo. We had a rental car but left it parked in the underground garage for the entire trip with the exception of one trip to Beaver Creek for horseback riding. I really look forward to bringing my husband back next year along with my kids.
I want to mention that the televisions and the dvd players were not the most up to date (if that is important to you) but that did not bother us as we don't spend a lot of time watching tv.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoFLamom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We spent the last week in June at Montaneros (2 bedroom/bath, on the third floor, overlooking the pool.) The property itself is beautiful (extremely well-maintained -- flowers everywhere -- nice pool/hot tub area and great mountain views!) Our condo was nicely furnished with a sizeable living and dining area (large leather sofa sleeper, gas fireplace, well-appointed kitchen, with every thing you would ever need -- we had spaghetti, baked blueberry muffins, etc.) We even had a new gas grill on the patio! We also truly appreciated the daily housekeeping (which was a bonus!) and the laundry facilities around the corner (2 washing machines/dryers on each floor -- they came in handy after days spent hiking and mountain biking with 3 dirty, dusty kids!) But the best part of Montaneros was the front desk staff, who went out of their way to answer our questions, recommend restaurants and activities and, in general, could not have been nicer or more professional. We quickly picked-up on the fact that many families return to Montaneros on a yearly basis (as we will) -- it is upscale, but very family-friendly, in a great location (SAGE outfitters, downstairs, arranges rafting trips and also rents sequeways -- which are so much fun to ride throughout the village! Right around the corner is Wheel Base (great shop to rent mountain bikes), as well as the Arrabelle (with Starbucks, Hagen Daaz, Blue Moose Pizza, Vail Chop House) and numerous other shops and restaurants (like Bart and Yeti's, which is a great for burgers). The gondola is just steps away (a very short walk!) to tote your mountain bike up during summer (or start your day skiing in the winter.) We also enjoyed hiking numerous trails on the mountain (check-out Berry PIcker) and riding bikes on the paved trails (along the creek, which is in very close proximity to Montaneros as well). It is truly a great property; we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3_Kiddos_in_Tow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.1 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#17 of 31 in Vail
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 31 in Vail
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sonnenalp
Sonnenalp
#1 of 31 in Vail
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montaneros Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montaneros Condominiums

Address: 641 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range: $296 - $1,770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montaneros Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montaneros in Vail is an exquisite condominium property located at the base of Vail Mountain in Lionshead Village. These beautiful Vail accommodations range from 1- to 4-bedroom condominiums. Guests at Montaneros enjoy full hotel services, such as a front desk, concierge-style services and valet laundry service. The new Vail Square is just outside the front door, with a selection of gourmet restaurants, charming shops and the Eagle Bahn Gondola only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montaneros Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montaneros Condominiums Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing