We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ski Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Ski Hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are a bit small, but nice location and staff. They offer ski valet and have a full service rental and ski shop. The free hot chocolate bar is nice after a day on the slopes. The concierge was more than willing to shuttle us around town to areas the free bus dis not pass. My wife used the spa and had a good massage while I was skiing one day.

We would stay here again the next time in Vail. Not luxury, but a very nice ski resort hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jay_H_211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    382
    175
    57
    44
See reviews for
344
307
44
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

A good location within Vail Village. Close enough to everything to make it accessible and worth the value I guess. The rooms were what you'd expect from a hotel room. The lobby was what you'd expect from a hotel lobby. Everything was just dully average. I expected more honestly from a Marriott in Vail. I hope some renovations are coming up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLink87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VailMarriottMgt, Manager at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Matthew L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated, and I have shared them with the management team. You feedback is helpful in our strive to continually improve the property.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the marriot for a ladies trip. As soon as we got to our room the toilet overflowd into the hall way. After a call to the front dek it was fixed with in 10 minutes. very friendly and Prompt and they even sent us a little something for our trouble. However, at 4 am the toilet overflowed again into the hallway and closet and we had to call thr front desk. They cleaned it but there was not any follow up of any kind. The amenities are wonderfil and relaxing, and the hotel has a good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our kids asked to go skiing for their spring break this year and I was more than happy to oblige. After doing our research, we settled on Vail and this property. We had a junior timberline suite, which was plenty for our family of four. The location, about 2 football fields from the Lionshead Village, is perfect. Everyone, and I do mean EVERYONE, at this property was friendly, knew the area very well and made our stay special. The lone downside was the indoor pool and hot tub. When we used it, the hot tub was just warm and the indoor pool was a bit cloudy, but we still had a good time. The bed was typical Marriott...very comfortable. And our kids said the sleeper sofa was comfy.

The food was tasty (we ate in the bar and First Chair) and the kids loved the daily chocolate chip cookie service with hot chocolate and apple cider. Ok, mom and dad enjoyed it, too :). My wife really enjoyed her spa day and said it was one of her best spa experiences. Oh yeah, the ski valet service folks were outstanding! Overall, job well done and thanks for the awesome stay. Our kids not only asked to return to Vail, but they asked to stay in this hotel again. Spring Break 2014 was indeed a fantastic trip!!!

Green Features: There are recycling bins everywhere, including your room. The plastic cups are made from plant based resins. The hotel made it very convenient to recycle paper, metal, plastic and other goods.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank van76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Beautiful property, only to be outdone by the professional, sincere, and accommodating staff. If I could give 6 stars I would. Well done Vail Marriott!! We will be back and recommend others come experience the mountain life.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkpMajors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Actual date attended, Jan 2013-I attended a work conference whose schedule conveniently allowed for daily skiing from 9am-3pm. Upon arrival, the hotel had been overbooked. A double room would not be available until the following day. As this was a big conference, the front desk seemed a bit hectic with lots of attendees checking in. The manager was very apologetic and offered to put us up in the property next door (2 bedroom condo) for the same price as the double room we had booked. This seemed reasonable to me, if not a better option, but my friends were not satisfied. After extensive discussion with the manager (I actually felt bad for the poor guy), he was able to find a double room for us. Despite the rocky start, everything with our stay was great. Convenient location though not ski in/ski out, with ski rental and free overnight storage in the ski shop on the bottom floor of the hotel. There is even a ski valet at the bottom of the slopes to carry your skis the 50 yards back to the hotel. I am only giving this hotel a 3 rating because there was nothing that really stood out about the property. It is your typical big name ski lodge. I would not recommend the breakfast buffet at the on-site restaurant unless you plan on eating quite a bit, as the cost was upwards of $20/person.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The room photos and descriptions on the web site are minimal, and having stayed in a "1 bedroom, bi-level suite" I understand why. Our room had a great view of the mountain with a small patio with 2 chairs, and the beds were comfortable, but the decor is dated and in need of a refresh to the current Marriott standard. This room can sleep 6 people comfortably (2 queen beds in the loft and 1 king on the main floor) but anything other than sleep will be uncomfortable. There are 2 dining-type chairs next to a small table but otherwise is no place to sit inside. I would hardly call a room with no sofa or sitting chair a "suite." Upstairs there is one nightstand with no other storage; downstairs is one closet. The bathroom has a single sink with nowhere near enough towels or racks for 6 people, and since the sink/shower/toilet are all in one room prep time can last a long time. There is a long, L-shaped entry hall that is mostly wasted space. Thankfully there were only 2 of us in the room; I would not recommend it for more than 4, and even that is pushing it. The overall feel of the room is from luxurious as the term "suite" would imply.

The hotel is about 5-7 min walk in ski boots to the lifts. It's very nice having a rental shop in the hotel, and take advantage of the ski valet to bring your skis to the slope as well as back in the PM.

The spa has more of a locker-room feel to it than a relaxing feel, but the steam room felt great after a day of skiing. I wish they had a sauna as well as I prefer dry heat.

I didn't have many interactions with the staff, but the doormen, front desk staff, and concierges were all welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear NYCBeachLover,
Thank you for providing your detailed feedback. Please know we do offer a large variety of room types to satisfy most travelers needs. I would encourage you to view our hotel on Marriott.com which has a detailed description of each type. We are glad to hear our staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful! We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Brian Hunt
Director of Room Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Property: Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Address: 715 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Spa Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our Vail ski resort is just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers relaxed lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our Vail resort is the destination of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking Vail luxury resort is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and a luxurious spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing