We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did Not Live Up to Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I should have known that our stay was not going to go well when the clerk at the Front Desk was argumentative during check-in. The first room we were assigned was not consistent with our reservation, so we returned to the front desk to request a room that was in line with what we had reserved. The clerk was at first argumentative, and then set about locating a room. The room he located for us still did not fit exactly what we had reserved, and yet I accepted it because I was not in a mood to be treated badly again. That proved to be a huge mistake.

Both nights staying at this property our sleep were interrupted by loud partying in the room next door at 2 am. Closing time for bars in Vail must be around 2 am. I called the front desk to complain, and they sent someone up to get things quieted down. That was acceptable the first evening. A repeat performance the second evening was totally unacceptable.

The local Marriott staff "remedied" the situation by slightly discounting our room rate for the two nights. A few bucks off is little consolation for two successive nights of loudly interrupted sleep.

I have stayed at this property twice this year. It has a nice location, and looks great from the outside. However, many of the rooms have mediocre views, and I did not even get the view I payed for on the second stay. Throw in argumentative staff, and poor handling of rowdy guests. I will stay elsewhere when I return to Vail next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear AtlantaRes,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Please know it is our goal to consistently exceed our guests expectations and we clearly did not do that. I am very sorry for our inability to solve any issues you may have had initially at check-in as well as what seems to have been a noisy neighbor. Again, we are very sorry to hear of your experience and would love the opportunity to welcome you back and show that your experience was an abberation and not the norm. Please contact me directly at 970 477 5616 so we may further discuss your stay as well as ensure your next stay exceeds your expectations.
Sincerely,
Brian Hunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Room was very comfortable and the staff was quite helpful. Their shuttle gave us quick access around the community and the prices, though on the high side, were reasonable value when compared with the local competition.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHCTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear PHCTourist,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and encountered our helpful staff. Our shuttle service does provide quick access to all that the Vail Villages have to offer; great shopping, many dining options as well as great outdoor activities. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Overall, nice hotel for a fall get-away. Rooms nice with balcony and view. Only downside is cost of valet parking but there is free parking in the garage in town so no need to speed $20+ night to parkt!

Room Tip: Select mountain view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisurebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear leisurebug,
Thank you for providing your review on Tripadvisor. We agree with you, the Vail Marriott Mountain Resort is a great place for a quick fall get-away! The weather is great and there are many options for fun! We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Room is clean and well cared for. Wonderful special touches in the two bedroom suite. You know you are somewhere special and staff ensures all your needs are met. The valets and front desk staff goes the extra mile to help you with your needs. Easy walking distance to local sites, including the lifts (if it were snowing when I was there) or the village.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainMONEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear MountainMONEY,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad to hear our staff met all your needs and made you feel special! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were here for a couple nights for a conference. The first day was beautiful weather, and we could take a long, shirt-sleeved walk, and eat lunch outside at a small restaurant. The aspens were gorgeous. Then it snowed that night, and it was very cold, but also beautiful. Our room was pretty small, but had a lovely balcony, and a big bathroom with a tub and shower. The TV had several analog channels, yuck! The conference gave us cheap parking and free wifi, which was very nice. The staff was wonderful, helping us get the MLB channel in the lobby so we could watch the local baseball team in the playoffs. Nice trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swl781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Swl781,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. October is a great time to enjoy the wonderful weather of Colorado as well as our Resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited in October and upgraded our room to an amazing suite! We had 2 bathrooms, living/dining kitchen area with a fireplace. The room was tastefully decorated in a winter cabin theme. We also had 2 balconies overlooking the mountain with spectacular views. This property is walking distance to shops and restaurants and the free bus picks up and drops off at the main entrance for the Villages.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Bobbi 1022,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed one of our Timberline suite accomodations! The shopping in both Lionshead and Vail villages is great this time of year and convenient with complimentary in town shuttle that picks up/drops off at our hotel. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel. It sits in the middle of quaint ski village with some fantastic restaurants within a 5 minute walk. I recommend the Blue Moose for some great pizza!
Large beautiful rooms. We've stayed several times and always receive impeccable service. A definite must stay if you're in the Vail area!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you get, there all fantastic
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Director of Room Operations at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Steve B,
Thanks for the great review! We appreciate the "must stay" rating, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Address: 715 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $201 - $900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our relaxed luxury ski resort in Vail sits just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers comfortable lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our we are the destination resort of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking accommodation is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and an elegant spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Marriott Mountain Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing