We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing and pleasant stay at Vail's Marriott!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing and pleasant stay at Vail's Marriott!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am a snowboarding freak and went to Vail this February. The powder, sights and food was exceptional and so was my stay. The Marriott was more than friendly to my family but as well to me. Every evening they would as "how was it today" on the fact that the return was "amazing." You aslo have a fun option of cookies, hot coco or apple cider after a cold winter day. The staff were very relaxed and not to focused on a particular customer. The concierge was more than helpful with my food loving father who made her seek over 20 restaurants for us, (they were all great). When it came to actually boarding, I showed up to see my board already out and fixed to my needs and likings. It literally took 2 minutes to get my Board and Boots! They then offer to take them over to the gondola for you but I was an early riser every morning and preferred to carry my own board. The Marriott was just a small key to my out most favorite vacation I have ever partaken in!

Room Tip: If you are looking for something right on the gondola or right next to it I would not recommend this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Luzuriaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    374
    165
    55
    44
See reviews for
338
297
43
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door, all the staff at the Vail Marriott were friendly, went out of their way to help us, and made our stay excellent. The room was also very comfortable, and their ski valet service was fantastic. They store your skis and boots on the ground floor of the hotel, and will take your skis over on a cart to the gondola at Lionshead for you; and bring them back to the hotel at the end of the day.
I was there for a meeting; their meeting facilities were also very good, and they provided extensive breakfasts and apres-ski 'snacks' (really almost dinner) as part of the conference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
363 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband & I recently returned to the Marriott at Lionshead, Vail. Again, the hotel was top-notch. Excellent service. Our room was very nice, with a king size bed. The best part about staying here is the proximity to the Lionshead gondola. They have a ski valet who will wheel your skis on a cart over the gondola, & back at the end of the day. Free boot storage (with boot dryer/ warmer) daily in the ski shop. There are several economical restaurants nearby.
Breakfast buffet is huge, & a bit pricey. Massage at the spa was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I went to the Vail Marriott resort & spa on the highest peak season over christmas and new year! Of course I pay a lot of money to stay here. However I can tell I was fully satisfied with everything they offered.

Location is great, really close to everywhere in walking distance. You can also walk to the lionshead lift. No need to wait for the bus and carry your ski around. Even though it's very close, It's still SO FANTASTIC that they carry your ski to the slope. How nice is that!!!! Of course they will also carry back your ski from the bottom of the slope to the hotel!
So that you can go apres-ski drink without worrying about carrying back your ski! That was the best thing seriously!!

My room with mountain view was a decent size with mountain lodge touch. Bathroom was really spacious with both bath tub & shower. I liked the interior of bathroom with french wooden door.

I love the fire place at the lobby to hang out and sip hot chocolate. Some kids and families were playing games in front of the fire place. It's like a happy kodak moment.

Don't miss 2 outdoor and 1 indoor Jacuzzis. Plus there is a indoor swimming pool if you still have energy left after skiing. Going to the out door hot tub after skiing in the cold air is another reason I go ski! So relaxing ;)

Breakfast buffet was good. It was just really crowded since everybody needed a good breakfast to ski all day! Maybe it's smarter to go little earlier or later.

If you want to go ski, Vail is one of the best destination in the US. Also Vail Marriott won't disappoint you!

Hope this is helpful for you to plan a trip to Vail!
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnybeetheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

"My family and I have visted this property every year for the last 10 years and the last four years twice a year (early season/November/December and end of March)

The mgmt is fantistic and really makes you feel welcome. It is nice to see the same familiar faces each time we visit. The food is great and the Suites overlooking the mountain are extremly nice/very comfortable,(very chalet like) and the views are breathtaking! On-site Charter Sports is very convenient too and the new Marriott Ski Valet walks your skis to the slopes each morning and back to the Marriott in the afternoon! Great service and they only started offering this the last few years!!!!

We have skied all over the country and specifically all over Utah and Colorado. Vail truly is "like nothing on earth" and the Vail Marriott in our opinion represents the best value/luxury/service of any place we have visited which equals a great family trip!!. Just really great memories each year!

Room Tip: Typically when I travel I always select rooms far from the elevator but here we request rooms close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
287 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I struggle a bit as to whether to give the hotel 3 or 4 stars. Overall, the hotel is very good, but the hotel feels run down which really takes away from the experience.
The Pros:
1. The on site ski rental/ ski concierges are fantastic. They really make it so easy (especially with kids). The ski concierge and rentals are the primary reason I would consider staying there again in the future.
2. The rooms are very large. We had a 3 bedroom suite, which was actually a two room aparment plus an additional hotel room (sharing one outer door).
3. Service- everyone from the concierge to the door men were great and very accomodating.
The Cons:
1. The hotel feels very old and dated. Everything from the small motel 6 style bathrooms, to the old alarm clocks, power strips around the room, etc. make the hotel seem like a 3 star hotel. Also, the rooms (and the rest of the hotel) were always warm and stuffy.
2. Although the pool and hot tub are functional, they also lack any charm and are right next to the ski storgae areas. This made the hot tub and pool very uninviting (which is probably why they were very underutilized (other than by kids).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

One night stay, which was too short to enjoy some of the offerings (didn't get to the pool/hot tub, my bad). I was given a top floor, mountain view room, and I did very much enjoy the view.
Bed was comfortable, WiFi worked, amenity bag was nice, and the bath is expansive and very, very nice. One disappointment was how overheated the place was. My room never really cooled to my comfort level. The 6th floor rooms all shared one huge balcony, so I felt a bit weird having my balcony door open all night. Maybe the hotel is going for cosy, but I found all the spaces stuffy, especially when dressed to snowboard.
Staff was generally friendly, sometimes a tad harried - there was a conference going on and weekend ski hubub. I didn't want to pay about 25 bucks for breakfast so it was a trek to find food that wasn't posh or jampacked. I gather the Little Diner nearby rocks but was sooo crowded on a Saturday morning.
Bus service to Covered Bridge or Golden Peak (and Larkspur) was good. The walk to the lifts was a bit farther than I expected, but much of Vail is like that.
Overall, this place is fine. I think I prefer the Lodge at Vail, but would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Property: Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Address: 715 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our Vail ski resort is just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers relaxed lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our Vail resort is the destination of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking Vail luxury resort is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and a luxurious spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing