We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading Room Description: King Studio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I traveled to Vail for Thanksgiving with my children and husband. The description of the room says that it sleeps 4. I expected a Marriott layout like at the Heavenly resort: pull out sofa in living room and separate bedroom. Not the case. It's a small room and not suitable for 4. Perfect for couples. Not so much for families unless you get a true one bedroom in the $700/night range.

The service throughout the hotel was excellent. Anything requested like dishes, extra blankets, etc were immediately tended to. I needed help to scan and fax a business document and the front desk assisted me eagerly.

The breakfast buffet is average. Basic, no variety. I did enjoy my omelet.

Vail Village has great shopping, restaurants, and so many ski trails that it would take a while to grow bored of this place.

By all means stay here. Great hotel. Just leave the little ones at Grandma's.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

I will start from the begging the valet service was nice and very fast. The lobby was also very nice and the check in was very easy. When we got to our room it had a nice clean feeling to it and well decorated. The bed was a little hard for my liking, but everything else was above expectations. I would stay here again for anything (Business, Family, Etc..).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxedYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Marriott is a value choice. Not much mountain style vs other options in Vail, and not right in the heart of the après ski action. The room wasn't very interesting. For the low 100s rate I paid, it was great. In ski season, it would be somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We wanted to try this hotel during the off-season to see if we'd like to shell out the big bucks during high season. We got a good rate of $135 per night, and we were upgraded to a Timberline Suite (TA reports say that upgrades are the norm during the off season). We have a great view of the mountain and the room is spacious and very comfortable. We have a living room with a fireplace, a kitchenette (No utensils, however...had to buy plastic bowls, forks, spoons, etc.), a shower and bathtub, a spacious bedroom with another fantastic view of the mountains. The suite also comes with two humidifiers which we greatly appreciated. We get the USA and the local Vail newspaper delivered to our door every morning. Instead of paying the steep cost of parking here, we parked at the nearby Lionshead parking (covered parking), a short five minute walk away. Another great benefit of the hotel is the shuttle bus which stops right at the entrance to the hotel. It will whisk you anywhere in the Vail/Lionshead area. This is very convenient as there are numerous stops throughout the villages. While we were here, Vail had it's first major snowstorm. It was awsome sitting in front of our fire watching the snow fall. The next day the roads were clear. The hotel includes an outdoors hot tub and heated pool. It also has a large fitness center and an onsite laundry facility. The downside was there was construction downstairs (the quaint looking pub was closed), but I suppose they need to do this before the high season begins. All in all, this hotel has been convenient and a pleasant surprise for us; we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. Also request a high floor mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed here for a week long conference that involved some learning and a lot of skiing. My room wasn't ready at check-in, but they made every arrangement to make it available ASAP. I had a first floor, corner suite that was a very nice room, but the view was horrible--I basically was a basement window and the side window looked onto a service drive--needless to say I pretty much only slept there. The room was huge, king bed, fireplace, kitchenette, large bathroom with shower and hot tub. The room was worth the price, but the view kind of stunk, luckily I was getting reimbursed for the conference.

The only food I had at the hotel was through the conference, and it was all very good, I'm sure similar things are provided in the restaurants.

The ski shop was great, and very helpful, especially for my friend who was a novice skier. The prices were good for rental equipment, though the demo skis were in pretty bad shape compared to demo skis at other resorts I've stayed at. The hotel isn't right on the mountain, it's about a 2-3 minute walk to the gondola, which isn't a big deal.

I'm sure there are nicer/fancier hotels to stay in Vail, right on the mountain, but this place is legit, and very nice as well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I attended a conference at this hotel. Found the front desk person to be a bit snotty when she argued about putting my rewards number in for both rooms reserved and paid for on my credit card. She finally relented but seemed put off. The room was nice. Needed some slight repair but nothing major (burnt out light and broken shower edging). The room was clean. The restaurant was good and the conference facilities were nice. Used the town shuttle a lot to get around. It was very convenient. The wireless internet was really fast. The store was a bit expensive but the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed for a wedding, didn't get the room type we requested, so my 6'5" husband and I had to sleep in separate beds...front desk manager gave us bfast both mornings to make up for it, which was very nice of her. Breakfast buffet was really average, definitely not worth the $15 they were charging...go elsewhere for bfast. We were in a standard room, nothing to note, just average, hallways were a bit shabby, although they say they renovated. No free wi-fi except in the lobby...really? Welcome to the 21st century people. Valet or onsite parking unbelievably overpriced...you have to park in the public parking facility and walk back or take a shuttle that comes every 20 mins. VERY inconvenient, but that's why we don't go to Vail...no parking anywhere, they've built on every square inch of open space, so there's no room for parking lots even if you wanted one. Concierge recommended Billy's as one of the few places open for dinner (off-season) and they were doing 50% off on entrees, so we decided to give it a whirl, after being told it was 'like a Chart House'. Not even close, and you get what you pay for. They were out of most of the beers they normally offered, my steak was cooked poorly, and the 'steamed vegetables' that came with all entrees were raw (can you think of a more flavorless way to cook veggies?) They want $15 for their salad bar, which was very plain and average, don't bother. Disappointing...skip it if it's recommended.

Room Tip: Apparently, you have to pay extra to 'guarantee' the room type you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfgatorgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Address: 715 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $253 - $1,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our relaxed luxury ski resort in Vail sits just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers comfortable lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our we are the destination resort of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking accommodation is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and an elegant spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Marriott Mountain Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing