We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Disgrace to the Marriott Brand” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A Disgrace to the Marriott Brand”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

The Vail Marriott is truly a disgrace to the Marriott brand as a whole. Traditionally speaking, Marriott (although sometimes basic) delivers a product that is consistent and service focused. We found our experience to be quite the opposite in every way.
The property is located in the heart of Vail, just minutes from the main skiing areas, boutiques, and restaurants. Do not have expectations for a true "resort" experience however, similar to the neighboring areas of Beaver Creek or Bachelor Gulch. The Marriott is less than one minute from the main interstate, leaving you with the impression that you're staying at a roadside hotel, rather than a secluded ski resort.
Upon arrival, we were genuinely unimpressed with the lobby area, as it was quite dark and uninspiring. The lobby bar resembled that of an airport hotel.
Guest rooms were the epitome of standard, and perhaps the smallest of any resort I had seen in quite some time. Our particular rooms looked over the courtyard, which was no more than a rooftop generator and several skylight windows from the restaurant below. Our rooms were outfitted with small bathrooms with shower/tub combos and standard Marriott amenities. The beds were comfortable, and appeared to be newer as compared to other amenities throughout the hotel.
The front desk management was absolutely horrid. We originally booked two nights, and prepaid these nights accordingly. Just one week prior to our arrival at the hotel, we decided to add one additional night. After our first evening however, we decided that we were only going to stay two nights based on our initial impression of the hotel and a long list of issues on our first night. We politely explained our discontent with the hotel, and expressed our frustration with room service, size of our room etc. Despite all of our issues, we were told that we would be charged for all three nights even if we departed early. Never have I encountered such incredibly rude service, and a lack of apology. Clearly this hotel has issues with their cancellation policy, evident by the numerous complaints on this site.
After further inquiry, we discovered that this hotel is in fact a franchise, which may explain the reason behind such awful management.
All in all, I would suggest exploring other Vail hotels, or consider one of the many resorts in Beaver Creek. The Park Hyatt Beaver Creek (although slightly more expensive) offers a far superior experience, and service to match.

  • Liked — Checking Out
  • Disliked — Small Room Size, Bad Service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ocGlobetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    370
    163
    54
    43
See reviews for
331
296
42
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

We stayed here on a whim on a weekend in October. They have a $99 AAA rate during the offseason, and free parking and gas card. THe hotel common areas are nice, reminiscent of what a great ski lodge should be. Bar is lively and the pool and hottub were a lot of fun. The room we had was tiny (barely enough room to walk around, let alone sit comfortably). Bathroom had some nice touches like nice tile and a granite slab sink, but the wallpaper was coming off the walls. The restaurant downstairs has a great brunch. Concierge made some questionable recommendations for dinner, I thought, but otherwise was capable and friendly enough.

  • Liked — Bar and restaurant, location in Lionshead
  • Disliked — Room was tiny.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

We stayed here one night in late October. We arrived early (about 1pm) and they weren't able to get us into a room until exactly 4pm. It is clearly stated on their website that check in time is 4 pm, so obviously I'm not upset that we couldn't be accommodated earlier, but I was a little surprised. There is a lot of construction right now in Vail, and they were willing to move me when my first room had a ton of construction noise. I ended up in a king room on the 7th floor with a nice view of the mountains, a gas fireplace, and a comfortable soaking tub with separate shower. The room was perfectly clean, and the bed and pillows were quite comfy. The closet was roomy, and they provide robes. We walked by the pool and hottub but did not use either. We did get room service for breakfast (continental breakfast) which arrived exactly on time and was perfect.

Service was a little hit or miss. I got such a good price on the hotel that quite frankly I didn't expect much and wasn't disappointed, but no one from the desk clerk to valet really provided 4-diamond service. Each time we drove up, there 3 or 4 valets in a group talking, and it was pretty hard to get them to tear themselves away to help us, they never got the car door or offered to help with the bags--the niceties that I would expect at an upper end hotel. Again, it didn't really bother me because I only spent 100 dollars a month, but if I had been paying full price for the hotel I would have been pretty disappointed.

All in all we were happy enough, and would certainly be willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nmsoonergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchellmh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

We found the hotel beautiful. Check in and out was easy. Rooms nice and clean. But, the beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows flat and lumpy. My husband and I had to deal with sore backs with kinks in our neck for the 2 days we stayed. And the staff, including front desk, valet and restaurant waiters really need to be friendlier. They could at least pretend they are there to serve you. We did have a great time at the indoor pool which was nice and clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchellmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2007

Stayed one night in mid-July for a work event. Lobby and common areas were great. Well furnished, cozy, and open. Hotel offers free wi-fi in the lobby. Check in and out was simple and quick. Comp upgrade to a King Suite featuring fireplace, sitting area, and kitchenette (fridge, micro, sink, etc). Bathroom was huge and offered separate tub and shower. Balcony was large, had a couple chairs, but was shared with room next door. Didn't feel secure leaving door open, so missed out on fresh mountain air while sleeping or out of the room. Great view of neighboring hillside just a couple hundred yards away. Hotel is easy walk or free bus ride to all that Vail has to offer.

  • Liked — Spacious room, balcony, view, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Visit was too short
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank airplanegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

I searched several hotels through Hotels.com, Orbitz.com, etc. I found the Marriot and was highly satisified. The room was great. They had a great special which included breakfast everyday. The food was wonderful. But the special could've been because we went during the summer. Don't worry that this hotel isn't in the middle of Vail Village. No worries. Vail has a free bus service that picks up right in front of the Marriott and will have you in Vail Villiage in minutes. Or, you can walk along the bike trail/creek and be there in about 10 minutes. Great service. Really hooked me up for our anniv. I highly recoommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Service. They helped us with our activities, restaurant reservations, directions. Everything was great.
  • Disliked — They need to upgrade the pool furniture.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank loomer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale, florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

We had a very disappointing experience at the Vail Marriott Resort. Two days prior to leaving for our 6 days in Colorado, I informed the hotel directly that we would be arriving after 6pm and they should hold our room. I was reassured by the front desk that our room was confirmed and we had nothing to worry about. Nevertheless, when we arrived at 7:30 pm we were informed by a very rude front desk manager that the hotel was sold out. The hotel arranged to transfer us to another hotel for 1 night and then return us to the Marriott after 4pm the next day. We were extremely upset with this situation since we were traveling with another family and had planned to spend the time together. We were on vacation for a limited amount of time and the hotel was reducing our vacation time and inconviencing us. The nighttime front desk staff was unprofessional and rude. I am surprised that a worldwide outfit like the Marriott would allow this situation to happen and that they would permit such poor customer service. They did try to make amends the next day; however, after such a bad initial experience it was hard to overlook their inadequacies.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bballadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Property: Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Address: 715 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our Vail ski resort is just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers relaxed lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our Vail resort is the destination of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking Vail luxury resort is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and a luxurious spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing