We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Vail
mchellmh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expected more”
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We found the hotel beautiful. Check in and out was easy. Rooms nice and clean. But, the beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows flat and lumpy. My husband and I had to deal with sore backs with kinks in our neck for the 2 days we stayed. And the staff, including front desk, valet and restaurant waiters really need to be friendlier. They could at least pretend they are there to serve you. We did have a great time at the indoor pool which was nice and clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchellmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    386
    178
    61
    44
See reviews for
347
314
44
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Stayed one night in mid-July for a work event. Lobby and common areas were great. Well furnished, cozy, and open. Hotel offers free wi-fi in the lobby. Check in and out was simple and quick. Comp upgrade to a King Suite featuring fireplace, sitting area, and kitchenette (fridge, micro, sink, etc). Bathroom was huge and offered separate tub and shower. Balcony was large, had a couple chairs, but was shared with room next door. Didn't feel secure leaving door open, so missed out on fresh mountain air while sleeping or out of the room. Great view of neighboring hillside just a couple hundred yards away. Hotel is easy walk or free bus ride to all that Vail has to offer.

  • Liked — Spacious room, balcony, view, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Visit was too short
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank airplanegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

I searched several hotels through Hotels.com, Orbitz.com, etc. I found the Marriot and was highly satisified. The room was great. They had a great special which included breakfast everyday. The food was wonderful. But the special could've been because we went during the summer. Don't worry that this hotel isn't in the middle of Vail Village. No worries. Vail has a free bus service that picks up right in front of the Marriott and will have you in Vail Villiage in minutes. Or, you can walk along the bike trail/creek and be there in about 10 minutes. Great service. Really hooked me up for our anniv. I highly recoommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Service. They helped us with our activities, restaurant reservations, directions. Everything was great.
  • Disliked — They need to upgrade the pool furniture.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank loomer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale, florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We had a very disappointing experience at the Vail Marriott Resort. Two days prior to leaving for our 6 days in Colorado, I informed the hotel directly that we would be arriving after 6pm and they should hold our room. I was reassured by the front desk that our room was confirmed and we had nothing to worry about. Nevertheless, when we arrived at 7:30 pm we were informed by a very rude front desk manager that the hotel was sold out. The hotel arranged to transfer us to another hotel for 1 night and then return us to the Marriott after 4pm the next day. We were extremely upset with this situation since we were traveling with another family and had planned to spend the time together. We were on vacation for a limited amount of time and the hotel was reducing our vacation time and inconviencing us. The nighttime front desk staff was unprofessional and rude. I am surprised that a worldwide outfit like the Marriott would allow this situation to happen and that they would permit such poor customer service. They did try to make amends the next day; however, after such a bad initial experience it was hard to overlook their inadequacies.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bballadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconut creek florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

I war visiting vail for 2 nights while in Colorado and stayed at the Marriott Vail Mountain Resort which was a great experience.When i arrived i was greeted by the valet and my bags were put in storage as my room was not yet ready becuase I had arrived very early in the morning around 9 am. after leavin and goin around town i came back at around 5 pm and was givin a wonderful room on the 5th floor overlooking the slopes and the creek behind the hotel. The room was great and had tall ceilings as well as a nice large bathroom and had a great balcony with flowers ... the bed was amazing(slept like a baby) and one thing i will point out that did not bother me was there is alot of construction noise in the morning and and the afternoon but you wont hear any of it with the doors shut. the pools at the hotel were average nothing special but great after a day of hikeing ( which i reccomend) ..there are two , one indoor and one outdoor. i did order room service one night which was the only dinning at the hotel i did and it was rather good but still average..i reccomend goin out into vail village or in west vail to look for a place to eat. The service at the hotel was great very helpful front desk staff as well as knowledgeble of the area.i recommend also a ride up to the top of the mountain on the vail gondola ..also others mentioned about the ski acess from the hotel , well its great for skiing i believe(even though there in the summer) becuase it was a very short walk to the gondola no more than 2 mins max.Overall this hotel was fantastic and will stay at it again ( already planin to go in the winter) ..with its great location near the vail village and great serivce.oo and a visit to the rocky mountain national park highly recommend it!!!!

  • Liked — The location , the views , the hotel!!!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gam1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

This is a beautiful hotel nestled right up against the mountains. After checking in at the front desk, the staff turned down our room. They pulled back the bed, left chocolates and filled the ice bucket. Nice touch! The rooms were very nice with spacious bathrooms. The tub and shower were separate. The room had a fire place which was certainly nice - although it was only about 45 -50 degrees for the low. The bed was awsome. It had a down comforter and really soft pillows and sheets. Overall, the room was excellent. Great views of the mountains and slopes. The outdoor pool area was nice; however, the pool itself was nothing special. They had an indoor pool as well; however, it was pretty small. The staff was very courteous and I will certainly stay here again when I go to Vail.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — No Morning Newspaper
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BillDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

I was visiting relatives in Denver and there was a late spring storm so we decided to go to Vail as we hadn't skied the new lodge area. We've skied all over the country and wanted something more upscale that had a ski-in ski-out access but still reasonable.We got a good deal on a late season rate.The Marriott is at the far end of West Vail. The lobby is very nice and the room overlooked the mountain.It was considered ski-in/out however we were winded after lugging the equipment the two blocks.You really have to take the shuttle to the areas to eat and shop....it's too far to walk.The spa was nice and I liked that they had an inside and outside whirlpool and it added to the ambiance that it was snowing.One thing the partner liked the cookies every afternoon.I hope they are still doing that.There is one big minus to this place and that's the restaurant ....It may have changed by now but the restaurant did not have a good menu nor decent prices.I would have eaten there had they offered excellent European food.but it seemed average.....I think they had sort of folded as it was the last week of the season..

  • Liked — in vail
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed March 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tickettoride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.7 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Property: Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Address: 715 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Spa Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our Vail ski resort is just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers relaxed lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our Vail resort is the destination of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking Vail luxury resort is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and a luxurious spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing