We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to like it but couldn't”
Review of Lift House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lift House Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I wanted to just run up to the Vail area with my daughter for a quick getaway and in the end The Lifthouse just isn't worth saving $50. There are much better places everywhere in Vail or Lionshead. Spend the extra money and enjoy a nice place if you are going all the way to the Vail area. Pull out bed was absolutely horrible, the pullout sofa bed is the only bed near a TV, water pressure is really low in the shower, entire place was dark - The Lifthouse needs a lot more lighting, staff didn't communicate a late checkout so I get a stupid checkout was at 11!!!!!!! letter on my door, I forgot to put the envelope that was written out to be a parking pass on my windshield for a couple hours (getting my epileptic daughter settled in) and even though the clerk looked right at my car and said that I would have to move it when I was checking in and writing down my license number on the parking info page wasn't necessary I got a "NEVER PARK HERE AGAIN" banner letter on my window. Letter says something about $250 and taking my car to Minturn, CO next time and now they have recorded my license plate number. Oh yeah and the idiot at the desk in the morning charged me $5 cash to checkout late and for parking. Wouldn't take a credit card because "It costs more to run $5 on a card" I didn't ask questions because me being angry isn't worth $5. I wouldn't even consider this place again with all the deals in the summer in Vail. Go to the Mountain Haus in the middle of Vail Village on the river and spend $50 more

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Best time. Everyone was so nice, Kevin and Ronaldo really are the best. We are going back for Labor Day.

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RNtravelerspouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

clean but ran down. Its really cool because of the location. I paid 159.00 a night to stay here. I found it through the information center. It was the most memorable experience in my life! The room was okay but the location was Awesome! The room had a balcony that sits in a little village. The village has shopping skiing snowboading ice skating and places to eat. It was my husbands birthday when i visited and i will never forget how beautiful it was. It was snowing and everything looked so gorgeous. I felt like i was in a dream. Very spectacular and breath taking. This was a happy time in my life and nothing went wrong. Everything was perfect. I recommend this place to everyone

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrskerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

2 minutes walk from the lifts, this nice and small hotel is right on the spot where you need to be. The hotel offer very convenient studios with kitchenettes. balcony, queen bed and sofa bed. It's great for couples and small families. Also this hotel is pet friendly. They have free internet via WiFi. I love to ski in Vail and I love staying here.

Room Tip: If you ask for Mountain Level you will have a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maximiliano V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Lifthouse has been in the same location since the 70s, which means its a 150-yard walk straight to the Lionshead gondola. If you've stayed someplace further away at Vail in the past, then you understand how valuable that is. If not, I'll tell you that having to drive over from a remote condo, or wait and take the bus, is not the way to maximize your time at Vail.

So, while it's a pretty basic lodging experience, the price is usually pretty reasonable, it's usually nice and quiet, the indoor jacuzzi is good, and the location can't be beat.

We've been regulars there for 3 years, so here are the key parameters.

Parking is easy, their driveway is right across from the Lionshead parking garage. They're a little short on spaces versus rooms, but we've never had a problem.

The staff has always been very nice, from front desk to housekeeping. It's a very low-key atmosphere. Rooms are pretty basic - a queen bed when you walk in the door, separated from a small livingroom area by a large bookcase. The livingroom area in each unit has a pull out loveseat that two medium or smaller sized kids could sleep on. there's a small gas fireplace and a television mounted on the wall above.

Each unit also has a basic kitchenette, which is great for cooking up breakfast in the mornings before you head up. They have a two-burner range top, microwave and small fridge. Units include basic dishware and cooking utensils, but aren't equipped for big group meals or anything too fancy. Units have small 4-person dining tables, although you'll probably hang your jackets there as we always do!

The bathrooms are pretty basic - about Motel 6 or Holiday Inn level, depending on your experiences. However, the towels are better than either of those two chains. Water pressure is fair, but many of the units have water-saver shower heads that are so-so.

If you want to visit other parts of the Vail Village, the Lionshead bus stop is all of 50 yards, so getting around is easy. It takes less than 10 minutes to get to the old Crossroads section, 15 to the Covered Bridge.

When you're ready to ski in the morning, just take the elevator down to the 1st floor, which will put you out onto the pedestrian walkway next to Bart & Yeti's. The gondola is 150 yards straight ahead past the Arabelle (whose size stole the Lifthouse's mountain views).

The Lifthouse isn't your place for a honeymoon, but it's location and price make it a great stay if you're at Vail for the skiing and would rather spend your money on a few of the great restaurants in the village. See my Campo di Fiore review!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same on either side of the L-shaped hotel. You end up either faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SammySki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I purchased a room for one night in order to be in Lionshead the next morning for ski school. The best thing about this place is its proximity to the ski lift, gondola, and ski school. It is literally a 30 second walk to the lifts and ski school.

The downside is the rooms are small, old, and uncomfortable. There are bars and restaurants below that play music late into the night. You will feel like you are in a time machine back to the 1970s in this room and I am pretty sure most of the items in the room are at least that old.

I will not stay here again - even though the price at around $300 is pretty low for Vail. There are better options.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the west wing - there are fewer bars underneath those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobb303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at the Lifhouse for 3 nights in the Winter of 2012. The room was exceptionally clean, and the housekeeping service was excellent. The service from the frontdesk was very friendly, welcoming, and efficient. The location of this facility is in the middle of Lionshead village, and is truly just a few minutes walk from the Gondola and BornFree lift. Very convenient. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Vail.

Check out the BlueMoose for excellent Pizza.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhm119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 31 in Vail
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#17 of 31 in Vail
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#10 of 31 in Vail
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 31 in Vail
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lift House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lift House Lodge

Address: 555 E Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range: $157 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lift House Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lionshead section of Vail village, the Lift House Lodge overlooks Vail's ski runs and is located next door to the Eagle Bahn gondola and Chair Lift 8 on Vail Mountain. The Lift House is an all suite hotel featuring studio residences with a kitchen, fireplace, living room and private balcony. Indoor hot tub. Two restaurants. Free daily maid service, WiFi internet and local calls. The Lift House is a pet friendly hotel in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Lift House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifthouse Condominiums Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing