We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Lodge Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lodge Tower
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We love Vail because it looks like an Austrian village resort. The air is so crisp, atmosphere so relaxed, many miles of trails and good food. The Tower Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. It is a bit outdated but the friendliness of staff compensates for negatives. Other issues for someone more picky are the small size of rooms (but common in Vail and they also have apartments), lack of air conditioning (usually it cools off naturally by night time), little space for breakfast in the lounge (but the chocolate croissants are very delicious).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radulr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay in Vail and at the Lodge Tower! We do have a wide variety of accommodations, with lodge rooms being the smallest and the least expensive option. It is our condominiums, however, that give our guests a full Lodge Tower experience: each condominium has a wood-burning fireplace, a walk-out balcony, a kitchen and dining area. These spacious and well-equipped accommodations allow our guests to feel like home on their vacation, and oftentimes they cook dinners and enjoy breakfast in the privacy of their own condominium. The Vail dining experience, off course, is not to be missed, and we can always suggest the best restaurants in Vail Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    36
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
41
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Lodge Tower a few weeks ago for our anniversary! We were so excited, because we love vail. We had previously stayed at the Arre Belle and absolutely love the service and quality of this hotel. When we got to the Lodge Tower, the room was adequate. The Air Conditioning didn't work. Luckily we were out and about throughout the day, and at night we just had to open the windows to keep cool. We went to the hot tub one night and got in for only 10 minutes.... We had to get out because my skin and eyes were burning from too many chemicals. My new $70 Macys Swimsuit was completely bleached. It stared out as a beautiful deep indigo and came out as a gray purple. My Hair was completely damaged from the chemicals. I have done multiple deep conditions on it, however i think i may just have to cut it off to fix the damage. The Breakfast was really tasty, and the Service was great! There were just a few glitches that made the stay not to great! Next Year we will end up going back to the Arra Bella!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Olivia,
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay in our hotel. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our service and our breakfast, but we are sorry to hear that your stay was not exactly a great one.
It is true that the majority of the rooms in Lodge Tower are not air-conditioned. Typical summer temperatures in Vail are from mid-sixties to low-seventies during the day and from upper-forties to low fifties at night, so no air conditioning is normally required. We do, however, have a few accommodations with air conditioning, and we encourage our guests to inquire on rates and availability of AC-equipped units when they make reservations.
As for the hot tub incident, you have notified the front desk in the morning, and by then the hot tub was already drained and re-filled. However, we were not aware of the fact that your swimming suit and your hair were damaged, and I apologize for it.
I realize that you would prefer to stay in the Arabelle hotel on your next trip to Vail, but if you would consider staying in Lodge Tower, please contact me directly and I will make sure to take care of your reservation. In addition, we would like to reimburse you for the damaged bathing suit. Please contact me directly by calling or emailing Lodge Tower reservations.
Alesia Soreil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loved this hotel! All of the staff we came in contact with was very friendly and courteous. The decor was a mix of Tuscany and the Rocky Mountains -- warm colors and a cozy feel. Our room and the bathroom was very clean and it looked like new carpet in the bedroom. Comfy beds with plush, white bedding. Free continental breakfast and free covered parking in the summer. We loved the location; you can walk to the village for shopping and dinner without moving your car. The shower head could have been better, but an overall great experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Mary,
Thank you for the great review of your Lodge Tower stay. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed cleanliness of our accommodations and comfort of our beds, as well as our breakfast and the courtesy of our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location. Very clean. Was welcomed by Chris. Very friendly. Great pool area.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yorkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your comment! The summer is in full swing in Vail, and our pool by Vail Mountain is surely a great place to be on a warm sunny day. We are glad you have enjoyed your time here and hope to see you and your family back in Lodge Tower before the summer is over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was our 2nd Spring Break in a row in Vail. We stayed at the luxurious Arrabelle in Lionshead last year. For this year's room, at the recommendation of a friend, I contacted Rock Resorts, which has properties all over Vail and other resorts as well. Rock Resorts assured me that a Platinum Level room at the Lodge Tower would be similar in quality to the Arrabelle. The cost was certainly the same, but the level of luxury was simply not there. I booked a room with a fold-out couch in the living area for our 7-year old and a separate bedroom (with king-sized bed) for me and my spouse. Especially at the price we were paying, I fully trusted Rock Resorts to take care of us. That was my big mistake.

When we arrived it seemed like a nice enough hotel. The desk clerk was helpful and someone took our luggage to our room. We were assigned a room on the 1st floor (one floor up from the lobby). The room was clean with a very spacious living area that included a full kitchen. But the bedroom had two queen-sized beds. I contacted the clerk and told her that we had booked a room with a king-sized bed. I was told that all of those rooms had been taken. Also, because this room was on the 1st floor, we had absolutely no view. The view out of our window was a landscaped incline that abutted a driveway at about ceiling level (we were essentially below ground level). So much for staying in a place called the Lodge "TOWER". The clerk said we could move to a Gold Level Room on the 6th floor, so we got the keys from her and checked it out. The room was worn looking and not near as nice as the 1st floor room, plus it also had two queen beds and overlooked the parking lot in front. I called Rock Resorts and the phone rang through to a representative in Breckenridge. Though he tried to be helpful, he had absolutely no way of figuring out what needed to be done. He said he would leave a message for the rep in Vail who helped book the room. I also inquired about our lift tickets that we purchased through Rock Resorts, which were supposed to be waiting for us when we checked in.
About an hour later I received a call from Rock Resorts in Vail and they said our lift tickets were on their way, but there was nothing they could do about our room because the hotel was fully booked.
I didn't have the appetite for pressing my case because vacations are for relaxing, and besides, we had to go rent our skis and boots before closing time. So we just stayed put and made the best of the cards we were dealt.
Because there was a complimentary European-style breakfast in the lobby, we really didn't have a need for the kitchen. We only used the fridge for keeping drinks cold.
The bathroom appointments were on par with a Holiday Inn or Ramada, though I must commend them for the complimentary Aveda soaps and toiletries. One of the biggest nuisances was the water temperature of the shower. Every couple of minutes the temperature would fluctuate from scalding to chilly (especially frustrating when our child was in the shower because an adult had to stand by and constantly reach in to keep the temperature from getting too extreme).
During the day, regardless of the thermostat setting, the room would heat up to about 75 degrees. At bedtime the room was too hot, and we quickly discovered there was no air conditioning. So every night we had to adjust the thermostat temp to 68 and open a window. Then I would have to wake up in the middle of the night to close the window because the room got too cold. Then I would have to wake up a half hour early to set the thermostat to 72 to make the room warm enough for a comfortable wake-up temperature. I'm supposed to get more sleep than this on a vacation!
On a positive note, the daily maid service was exceptional.
We used the pool, which was fine. And my spouse booked a massage at the spa, which was okay too.

Pros:
Good location to ski lifts
Friendly staff
Clean, Spacious Platinum Level Room

Cons:
Absolutely DO NOT book your room through Rock Resorts because they will not take care of you
For Arrabelle pricing, this is not anywhere near Arrabelle quality
Make sure to specify a high floor with a view of the mountain or you might find yourself in the Tower's "English basement"
Too hot to sleep / No air conditioning
Constantly fluctuating shower water temperature
Breakast was free, but definitely nothing you would want to pay for anyway

Room Tip: Specify a higher floor or you'll be disappointed. Have a quick reaction time to keep from being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time and submitting such an elaborate review of our property. Due to the nature of our accommodations (privately owned condominiums that are individually decorated and have varying bedding combinations) it is always best to book your lodging directly with our own reservations agents. I would also like to clarify that Lodge Tower is not a part of Rock Resorts- it is an independent properly located in Vail Village.
We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the quality of our accommodations, even though you did not enjoyed the bathroom in your condominium.
Your concern about the fluctuating water temperature was addressed immediately after your departure- thank you for writing it on your comment card. We have not had similar issues before or after your visit, and I apologize for not being aware of it during your stay. As for the air conditioning, while most of our units still don’t’ have it, we do have several condominiums equipped with AC. Please ask about them when you are booking your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great location, about 100 yard walk to Vista Bahn chair. Great friendly accomodating staff. Well appointed rooms. Free breakfast. had great mountain view. Slighly more reasonable than other similar accomodations at Vail. Only issue was our room had very small bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skilarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to submit your review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back in Lodge Tower next winter. We are also pleased to announce that we will now be located within 100 yards from the New Vail Gondola- the Vista Bahn chairlift has been removed, and the new gondola will take its place by November 16- Vail's ski season opening day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Just returned from a week long stay. We had tried to stay at the Lodge at Vail next door, but they were booked. Our room had a great view of the slopes and you couldn't ask for a better location. The Lodge Tower shares the same driveway as the the Lodge at Vail, so the location is perfect - steps away from the ski lift and ski valet service, and just a short walk to Vail Village with all its restaurants and shops. Room size is on par with the rooms at the Lodge at Vail, but could use a bit of a face lift - particularly the bathrooms. Service at the Towers is very good, the staff friendly and attentive. Housekeeping does a great job. I returned to my room one morning and found the housekeeper down on her knees cleaning the bathroom! The included breakfast is plentiful and a nice perk, the afternoon treats and always full fruit basket much appreciated. A little extra treat was the welcome box of toffee covered mixed nuts and the bag of chocolate covered almonds at the end of our stay. So yummy. The pool and spa area a lovely area to relax. This hotel is pricey, but the location and service make it worthwhile.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the slopes - what a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear JinFO,
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review of our property. We are happy to hear that our location, amenities and services contributed to your great vacation. We hope to have an honor to host you again during your future visits to Vail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Tower

Property: Lodge Tower
Address: 200 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Tower is snug against the base of Vail Mountain, just 75 yards away from Gondola One. From single hotel rooms to spacious three-bedroom condominiums, the Lodge Tower offers a generous range of luxurious, mountainside accommodations for families, couples, groups or individuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Tower Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing