We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD SCHOOL”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OLD SCHOOL”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

NO A/C and no fans in the bathroom. Other than that, we really didn't have any complaints. Everything was pretty standard hotel. Small TV, but it is a relatively less expensive place to stay compared to the surrounding hotels. Stay here if you plan on stayin less in your hotel and more enjoying the wilderness. The beds were good and we woke up refreshed every morning.

Room Tip: something far from the elevators probably
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brow1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    118
    89
    26
    30
See reviews for
96
78
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this property because of the price and reviews. The desk manager greeted us with upgraded rooms and recommended the hotel restaurant for our evening meal. The rooms were huge, clean, and comfortable.....better than expected. The bar-restaurant area was packed, so we anticipated slow service....but that wasn't the case. The bartender had his "quicksilver shoes" on an covered the area quickly. The food was great and the service was too. I would stay at the Evergreen again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGKY1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Evergreen Lodge for one night on to meet up with some family. I was somewhat dubious because of mixed reviews here, but we weren't planning to spend much time in the room and needed something affordable near the Village. While the lobby did feel somewhat drab and outdated, our room was updated and spotless. Check-in/out staff were efficient and courteous. The pool, hot tub and game room looked great although we didn't have time to use them. It was a lovely, short 5-10 minute walk into the Village. We were on the highway side of the building and slept with the window open. I noticed the sound at first but it really turned into "white noise" and was not bothersome.

All in all, a satisfying stay. Would do it again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel (opposite I-70) may be a bit quieter but we weren't bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

One great thing about ski towns is that the hospitality industry is filled with either enthusiastic and interesting folks or just consummate hospitality industry professionals trying to make their mark. This place has neither type of person working for them. Our trip was not elevated from our experience at Evergreen Lodge. The front desk staff was simply less than hospitable. We did notice that the housekeeping staff worked extremely hard to keep this dated property looking its best. Management seems to be asleep at the wheel here. The big problem is this place is really in need of a makeover. The location is quite good but next time we'll be sure to choose a newer property with friendlier people in Avon or Edwards.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the mountain not the I70
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fultonriverandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vail hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Evergreen Lodge is outdated, but clean and convenient. It is located in a great area that is a few minute walkable to the slops and shops. To my surprise, the onsite bar was in fact a real bar. It has a casual atmosphere and was pretty good. When we were there, it had a good number of people, but it wasn’t ridiculously packed. I recommend to anyone looking for a solid room that is reasonably priced and doesn’t mind that it is outdated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourguide337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Evening check-in person was extremely slow and seemed "out of it". Got upstairs to see room and the entire floor smelled like skunk. Didn't know how naive I was until we got back from fireworks at 11pm. Didn't smell like skunk for a while and then the party started in the room right next to ours-- pot smoking idiots from hell. At 1 am called front desk to complain but it didn't quiet down until 3am and pot smoke came right into our room. Very annoying, unpleasant experience. Next am, went down to check out and complain. Young lady at the desk was very nice, professional and kindly comp.-ed our room. Thankfully!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15MKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Evergreen Lodge. The location is great, and surroundings are very scenic. This is an older property, satisfactorily maintained, and for the price is an excellent value. Because of the price, this property seems to attract quite a few younger adults and singles.

The front desk was uniformly attentive and helpful. Our only negative relates to the housekeeping staff: they appear to be either under-staffed or under-supervised. One day, our room apparently had been "forgotten" or deferred and we needed to call for the room to be made up; and the level of cleaning and attention to detail was pretty careless and indifferent. We plan to come back, but we hope that management will be more attuned for the need to improve house-keeping services.

Evergreen Lodge does not have air-conditioning -- and for our summer stay we needed to put up with some traffic noise from an opened window and use a (provided) fan in order to keep our room cool enough for comfortable sleeping.

That said, the price was great and we feel we received excellent value.

Room Tip: The mountain-view rooms are quite nice. Summer guests should be aware that the rooms are NOT air-co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.5 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#8 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 250 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-5039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE EVERGREEN LODGE The Evergreen Lodge at Vail offers the ideal combination of walk everywhere location, warm & friendly service and unbeatable value. Our prime location in Vail Town Center between Vail and Lionshead Villages- is just a short walk and even shorter ride on the complimentary Town of Vail bus, to world class shopping, dining, summer and winter activities. We take pride in offering warm hospitality, making every guest experience comfortable, carefree and memorable. Spacious accommodations allow guests to unwind in the perfect blend of comfort and traditional ski lodge charm. Pet friendly rooms make it possible to bring your best friend along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Vail
Evergreen Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing